2017 Boston Marathon Training, Week 12: 2/27-3/5

Seriously though. It was a rough week last week. It’s getting close to the end of the 3rd marking period at school, and that sums up my thoughts lately!

Had some really weird stomach issues last week, combined with a Saturday race. Hanson’s schedules long runs every other weekend with the option of doing one every weekend if you really want, so I opted to not do an official long run this week because of the race. I’ve been doing long runs every single weekend regardless of whether they are on the schedule, with the exception of last week because of my work trip and this week due to the race. Last year, the race and the work trip fell during the same week so it wasn’t as big of a deal. Actually, it wasn’t really a big deal this year either – I didn’t do a long run. Such is life.

Monday: AM pole competition practice + abs + MYRTLs, 10 miles easy, PM pole class
Tuesday: AM pole competition practice + abs + MYRTLs, 13 miles w/4 x 1.5 miles @ marathon pace – 10 seconds per mile (goal marathon pace is 6:45-50 someday, so I shot for 6:35. All were on pace and my last one was the fastest, averaging somewhere in the 6:20s) Highlight of the workout? I did it in shorts and a sports bra. On February 28th.


Wednesday: AM 6 miles easy, Pole Flow class, Pole Competition Practice class
Thursday: AM pole competition practice + abs + MYRTLs, 4 miles easy – was planning to do 8 but had some weird stomach issue that started Wednesday night and felt crappy after one mile so called it a day at 4 miles).
Friday: AM 6 miles easy, Abs/MYRTLS, Pole Competition Practice class – was planning on taking a rest day from running but I felt better when I woke up, so I went to the gym to do the remaining 4 miles of my Thursday run. I had a pretty good playlist going on Spotify and I was actually early for once in my life so I did 6 instead. My outfit for my pole competition shipped!!! I will at least give you a glimpse of it:

It should officially be here soon!!
Saturday: Quakertown 10 Miler (14 miles total with w/u and c/d), Abs/MYRTLs, Pole Competition practice
Didn’t run a PR but this happened:

I’ll get a race report out soon! I celebrated by going to dinner with friends to a restaurant I’ve been meaning to try, Grain. I ate the best Chicken and Waffles I’ve ever had. Actually, I think it’s the only chicken and waffles I’ve ever had.

Sunday: 9 miles easy, Abs/MYRTLS, Pole Competition Practice
Had to do something, because it was my birthday and I knew I wanted to eat as much of this as possible:

My speedy friend, Cassie, is a pastry chef and she made me my cake. I loved it. She is so talented!

= 62 miles

Overall, it was a really good week. I really think I was fighting off a stomach bug or something because from Wednesday night through about Sunday, my stomach felt terrible! I’m hoping I kept it at bay and that I’m past it now.

Did you ever eat chicken and waffles? What was the best birthday cake you’ve ever had? 

♥♥♥

18 thoughts on “2017 Boston Marathon Training, Week 12: 2/27-3/5

  1. afastpacedlife March 8, 2017 / 9:08 am

    I’ve had chicken n’ waffles. A bizarre combination that oddly works.

    I have two absolute favorite birthday cakes – one is a strawberry shortcake made by an old school Chinese bakery in Los Angeles (every kid who grew up in LA in the ’80s had this cake for their birthday) and a chocolate mousse cake made by a bakery in Queens.

    • allisonfiorini March 8, 2017 / 9:28 am

      OMG Strawberry Shortcake…chocolate mousse…I am drooling. I gave up sweets for lent (totally cheated on my birthday though) and everything is just making me hungry!

  2. Hanna @ minimal marathoner March 8, 2017 / 9:39 am

    I don’t like chicken and waffles. It’s just too much for me.

    Your pole outfit is so pretty! Congrats again on your race, and those are some seriously speedy goal MP miles!!! Nice job!

    • allisonfiorini March 8, 2017 / 9:41 am

      Thank you! I felt good with that workout last week. I think the chicken and waffles was a bit too much for me too, but it was soooo good. I was a little tipsy so I ended up eating all of it. I was disgustingly full afterward!!!

  3. suzysuzyheather March 8, 2017 / 11:34 am

    I think chicken and waffles are an American thing?!? Ha ha! Happy Birthday!!! That cake is fantastic! And ummm… your abs are SICK. You’re amazing. Congrats on that first place win, you crazy fast girl! Holy smokes!

  4. wanderwolf March 8, 2017 / 2:50 pm

    WoAh! First overall and birthday?! Happy belated birthday and congratulations!

  5. Amy Lauren March 8, 2017 / 4:39 pm

    I’ve never had chicken and waffles because I don’t eat chicken, but it’s really popular here! Clay gets it often when we go out to eat. That cake is so amazing.

    Congratulations on your win at the race, even if you didn’t PR! You can’t complain with a win, right? I hope you had a good recovery and can get back to the workouts this week- you’re really killing it with Hansons and that plan seems to work so well for you!

  6. Nicole March 8, 2017 / 7:23 pm

    First…those abs tho!!! Second, I LOVE chicken and waffles. My friend and I definitely ate chicken and waffles post run on Saturday morning. The. Best.

  7. Fallon @ Slacker Runner March 9, 2017 / 2:10 am

    I’ve never had chicken and waffles and that pic is the first time I thpugh it might look good. Nice running even though you were feeling poorly! Congrats on the 1st place win! There’s an Inn here that makes a Pink Champagne cake that is pretty amazing- total sugar high but pretty amazing.

  8. Lisa @ TechChick Adventures March 9, 2017 / 9:49 am

    Oh yum. Please post more pictures of cake 🙂 Hope you had a great birthday! I’ve never had chicken and waffles! Love the outfit for your competition. It looks sparkly, pretty, and the most important thing – functional!

  9. Hollie March 9, 2017 / 4:57 pm

    We actually have been looking for a good chicken and waffles place since coming back to NJ. I had a good one at a diner in Birmingham last month. It looks like a good week of training even with all of the issues. Nice win.

  10. Ali @ Hit the Ground Running March 9, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    I’m all about giving up people for ANY old reason hahaha!

    I like that that meme is a Rabbi (I’m pretty sure) but is about Lent. It tickles me for some reason!

    I once made chicken and waffles for dinner…it was the first time I’d ever had it, and I LOVED the combo!

  11. Ariana March 10, 2017 / 8:31 am

    Love that competition outfit! So glad you’re back to blogging!

  12. sarahdudek80 March 10, 2017 / 9:04 pm

    That cake looks amazing and so does your outfit for the competition. So exciting! I’ve never had chicken and waffles before. You might have convinced me to try it sometime.

  13. metric runner April 3, 2017 / 12:04 pm

    You went missing again 😦
    Hopefully all is well and you just don’t have time or don’t want to write anymore. I finally, saw the results from the West End St. Patty’s 5K. Wow! Congrats on the win! Looks like training is going well again for you. You broke 19 minutes again, and coincidentally got the exact same time as me (just week later, check out my “blog” for a recap 😉 ). I’m amazed how close in times we are for distances between 5k and half marathon (in marathon I have no chance with you though 😉 ). It would be fun to actually race you at one of the local races, but it seems we just start in different races. Maybe someday.
    Good luck with Boston and see you at St. Luke’s.

  14. metric runner April 16, 2017 / 8:20 am

    Looks like you really gave up people for Lent, at least the ones from your blog 😛
    Regardless, Happy Easter and good luck on Monday hopefully won’t be too warm and you rock the race. If your race performances this winter are any indication, you are as ready as last year. Just remember do not go out too fast 🙂
    All the best!

Leave a Reply

