2017 Boston Marathon Training, Week 11: 2/20-2/26

(I swear weeks 1-10 happened.)

These weekly workout posts used to get a little lengthy, so I’m going to give you the abridged version this time around since basically, I’m doing what I did last year. Except instead of a color coded spreadsheet where I have everything carefully planned and then logged post workout, I just carry my Hansons Bible around and whip it out when I can’t remember what I’m supposed to be doing. Instead of worrying about, “am I running more miles than I ran last week?” I focus on running the minimum mileage on my easy days and only tack on miles if I want to, not because I feel like I have to.

This week was GREAT because of the six times I ran, five of those times WERE IN SHORTS. OUTSIDE. I live in Northeastern PA. Is this real life? It was also good because I had Monday off of work for Presidents’ Day, but challenging because I chaperoned a three day trip to Hershey. I do this every year and I’m able to get a decent number of miles in but can’t count on getting pace specific workouts in. There’s a great trail right by the hotel that I can log some long miles on if the kiddos aren’t too needy:

snapseed

Monday – 10 miles, easy + pole competition training/core/MYRTLS
Tuesday – 14 miles, Track/Strength – 6×1 mile at marathon pace -10 seconds/mile + pole competition training/core/MYRTLS: Although I don’t think sub-3 is in the cards this season, I’ve been using about a 6:45-6:50 pace as my “marathon pace”, so the goal here was to hit 6:35-6:40 for these. I can’t remember what each mile was, but I remember that I kept them all under 6:35 (because I am a head case). I did a 3 mile warm up, 6×1 mile with 400 recoveries, and 3.5 mile cool down on the Saucon Trail. I felt pretty great until the last mile, when I really wanted the steak I had waiting for me in my fridge at home.
Wednesday – 6 miles am + core/MYRTLs & 5 miles pm, easy pace: I don’t usually do two-a-days but I ran before we left for the conference and when we got there and got settled, I had about two hours to kill so one of my co-workers and I hit up the trail for an easy run.
Thursday – 10 miles, easy
Friday – Rest day! I always schedule the final day of this conference as a rest day. Lack of sleep from chaperoning 172 kids for three days + travel day = no bueno. I did eat an entire bag of BIRTHDAY CAKE HERSHEY KISSES though! Did you guys know that was a thing? They taste like Funfetti icing and I’m pretty sure I’ve never been happier.
Saturday – 6 miles, easy + pole competition training/core/MYRTLS
Sunday – 14 miles w/8 @ marathon pace + pole competition training/core/MYRTLS: 
No long run this week so I saved my tempo run for Sunday. It was a good call. Felt great, shot for the 6:45-6:50 range. No idea what every single mile split was but I know that my slowest one was 6:51 and my fastest one was 6:27. This was the first week that my tempo run felt like it should feel. Thank GOD because I was really starting to think my legs forgot about tempo runs.

= 65 Miles 

I got some new kicks on Monday – first running shoes I’ve purchased since JULY. My shoes all but had holes worn through the soles. Partially because I was on vacation from running for so long, partially because I forgot to buy new ones, and partially because I was lost since Brooks discontinued my beloved Pure Connects. HATED the Pure Flow 5, was trudging along in the Launch for most of my runs and the Hyperion for track/tempo runs. Launch just feels like too much shoe for all of the time, and the Hyperion is a glorified racing flat so not very comfortable. BUT THEN THE PURE FLOW 6 HAPPENED.

img_0049

It was love at first run. If you were in the same predicament as me…get these on your feet yesterday. LOVE THEM.

In the world of farmhouse renovations, we are currently finishing up an addition off our kitchen that includes a laundry room, and my husband laid the tile while I was away. We went with cement tiles through a company called Lili Tile – their Instagram is ridiculous and a gorgeous addition to your feed if you like to drool over home renovations like I do. It’s not grouted yet, and literally took this after he laid the final tile so it isn’t even clean, but I can’t even handle how much I love it:

img_9982

Everything in my house is very monochromatic and plain – lots of gray and white everywhere – so choosing a pattern was huge for me. The patina of cement tile is to die for. I will take some more pictures after it is cleaned, sealed and grouted but OMG YOU GUYS.

How was your week? What shoes are you currently running in? What’s the longest you ever went without buying new running shoes?

♥ ♥ ♥

18 Replies to “2017 Boston Marathon Training, Week 11: 2/20-2/26”

  1. I love how soft and muted the colors in the tile are; it keeps an interesting pattern from being too in your face crazy/bold.

    I just picked up a copy of Hansons for consideration for my next marathon. Are you keeping the long runs at 16 miles this time or, since you are a higher mileage runner, extending them within the 25-30% rule? I tend to be much better at shorter/faster races, so I worry that w/o the 20 milers my endurance won’t be enough. But I really like how consistent the plan is (Tuesday is always speed, Thursday is always tempo, etc) because I think that will be the easiest for me to manage with work/school (just get into a routine and stick with it!). But I’m hesitant.

    1. Thank you! I am obsessed with the tile!

      I love love love Hansons and the structure of the plan – it is so great. Once you get in a routine, it’s like auto pilot! I did move things around last week to accommodate life, but usually try to follow it to a T. I am thinking I’ll go to 18 or 20 miles, but I am not stressing about it yet. I’m running a race this Saturday as my tempo run, so I am thinking long run on Thursday – but I won’t go higher than 16 this week. Maybe I’ll do 18 the following week, then a recovery week, and then 20 the week after? I’m really going off of how I feel this time around, and I really like it! If I topped out at 16, I think I would still feel confident that I could run a good race. We’ll see how it goes!

  2. I love that tile!!!! I’m also so glad to hear that the Pureflow 6 is an improvement over the 5. I’ve been dealing with them because I was too lazy to venture out to other models but now I’m excited to try the 6!!

  3. Wow – I didn’t realize you were back! I’m so glad to hear that training is going so well and you’ve got the fire back with running. Sounds like all that rest really helped you and you are right back to your old fitness levels. I’ve missed you!

    Womp womp…I just bought a pair of PureFlow 5s. Hoping i have better luck than you, I guess!

    1. Hi my friend!! How are you! I posted once last week, and I’m going to try to get back into a routine because I miss everyone!!! I don’t know if I would say I am right back to my old fitness levels – but I feel rested and like I am certainly making progress! Most of all, I am enjoying it again which is really what it’s all about, right?? I hope the Pure Flow 5s work for you!!!! Let me know. I wasn’t a fan but it doesn’t mean they won’t work for you! I had some issues with blisters but still ran in them all last season because I didn’t know what else to do.

  4. I haven’t seen those hershey kisses, but I do love Cadbury Mini Eggs. I know it’s Girl Scout cookie time but I’d rather have a big ole bag of mini eggs. Easter candy is the BEST.

    You did a great job with training this week and getting the miles in with the field trip. Glad to see you are back to training consistently and I bet you will do very well in Boston. I run in the Launch as well but I like the PureFlow 5’s and have two pair. I never wore the connect’s to compare, though, and I don’t have the Hyperion because I don’t do racing flats (I race in the PureFlow or my New Balance Zante’s, which is another shoe you may like).

    That tile is cute and adds a nice pop of color!

  5. I did Boston is shoes with close to 1000 miles on them – back when I was a lighter weight and a more efficient runner, I suppose! I can barely make 500 miles now!

    1. That is crazy!! I’d like to say I accrued 1000 miles from my July shoe purchase through mid February, but I know that isn’t the case – haha! They were worn, but definitely not 1000 miles worn!

  6. I hated the 5’s so badly I returned them. Since them it’s been ugly for shoes. I’m in a pair of Mizuno Sayonara’s and they don’t suck but I am not happy. I ran in Hoka’s after the 5’s and they wrecked my feet. Maybe it’s time to go shoe shopping. 🙂 Love the tile!

Leave a Reply

