What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

Blink-182
“Bored to Death”

This song has been floating around for awhile but I saved it for today because on July 1, Blink released their new album! It’s titled California. I had mixed feelings and wasn’t sure I could get behind it since this is the first album sans Tom Delong. Instead of Tom, it features guitarist/vocalist Matt Skiba of Alkaline Trio. I’ve been a huge Blink fan since they released Dude Ranch in 1997, though they do have two earlier albums (Budda, 1994 and Cheshire Cat, 1995). I love all of their albums, with my personal favorite being Take Off Your Pants and Jacket. I even hang a Blink-182 flag in my classroom. I was saddened when the band “broke up” and disappointed when I heard that Tom was replaced. I’ll admit, the first few times I heard this song it hurt my heart a little because it wasn’t “really” Blink.

But of course, I heard it “over and over and over” (now you have to listen to the song so you don’t think I’m crazy), and of course I love it. I still miss Tom and feel like there is a small hole in my heart, but…NEW BLINK!

New Blink! Can you get behind it? Were/are you a Blink-182 fan?

6 Replies to “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday”

  1. i haven’t heard this but was def a Blink fan growing up and saw them at my fave concert venue upstate in Saratoga during college. such a fun show.

    1. Hey, was that Saratoga venue SPAC? That’s where I do most of my running!

      I really like Blink-182 (although Green Day has my pop-punk number 1 spot). I hadn’t heard this song, so thanks for sharing. It’s now on my iPhone. 🙂

  2. When I heard this song at first, I said to my husband, “Is this new Blink?!” I had no idea they were coming back. I could tell it wasn’t quite Boxcar Racer; Blink definitely has a unique sound. It’s too bad that Tom and the others couldn’t set aside their differences and ALL come back. I used to be obsessed with “TOYPAJ”; I also love their older stuff. “Dammit” and “Adam’s Song” are both on my running playlist, which is…weird, now that I think of it.

    Anyway, yes, I love this song, and I’m glad Blink is back at least in SOME way!

Leave a Reply

