Kentucky Derby Marathon Training, Week 2: Race Week

I REALLY REALLY REALLY want to post a race review today. Problem: I didn’t get my race photos yet and I REALLY REALLY REALLY want those first. The struggle is REAL. But here are some pretty pictures of my dogwood tree and my barn to hold you over. Because I can never take enough pictures of that damn tree or old barn:

image image

I know I made very little mention of the Kentucky Derby Marathon during Boston training. If you read my overly wordy weekly updates and posts VERY carefully, you might have caught one or two mentions of it throughout the whole thing. I didn’t do that on purpose – I was never focused on that race and it was strictly about going on a trip with two of my oldest friends (we’ve known each other since fourth grade!) and having FUN. Anyway, if you follow me on Instagram or Facebook, you’ll know that race that was supposed to be “low key fun” had a very different outcome. I promise, I am chomping at the bit to tell you about it but…pictures. I want them! So instead, today you get to read all about how my final week of Tapecovery went (taper for KY while still recovering from Boston…sorry, lame but I’ve had a lot of coffee already today).

Monday, 4/25: Easy Run, 6 Miles + Core/MYRTLs + Pole Fitness

Did an easy paced loop around Lehigh Parkway after work and it was absolutely gorgeous out. For abs, I did my usual exercises and my MYRTLs followed by NTC’s Alpha Abs. I went to pole class at night and we learned a bunch of new stuff, but I felt fatigued and wasn’t too good at any of it.

Tuesday, 4/26: Easy run,  5 Miles + Core/MYRTLs + Pole Fitness

Got in my core/MYRTL exercises plus NTC’s Core Stability workout early in the day, then headed to Penn Pump Trail (which, I am starting to like better but only for five miles or less) for an easy run. I went to pole class and ran through my routine a few times, which went pretty well.

Wednesday, 4/27: Easy Run, 6 Miles + Core/MYRTLs + Pole Fitness 

Once again got my core work and MYRTLs in early, plus NTC’s Perfect Alignment workout. I headed to the Plainfield Trail after work and did an easy run, which felt really good. As good as I felt, I remember thinking I had no idea how I was going to run a whole marathon. I think I was averaging something in the 8:20s and couldn’t imagine racing further and faster anytime soon. I headed to pole class and worked on my routine, but still felt heavy and fatigued.

Thursday, 4/28: Easy Run, 3 Miles + Pole 

I ran three easy miles on the Saucon Trail and went to pole class to run through my routine. I went a little harder than I planned to at pole and was really sore after and thought I was really setting myself up for a disaster of a race. I planned on doing core work that night after dinner but I actually FORGOT. I got wrapped up in cooking and packing and knew I needed to be up by 3 am so I headed to bed early. As I headed up, I saw my yoga mat and realized I never did it. Oops.

I did, however, shop for road trip foods. Mainly for foods to eat after the race, of course:

image image

I also made another batch of my sweet potato waffles. Lately I’ve been using cashew butter instead of almond butter and I think I like them even more:

image

Friday, 4/29: Rest

10 hour car drive to Kentucky meant no shakeout run. I wasn’t trying to run when I got there – we just did a bunch of walking to loosen up our legs.

Saturday, 4/30: Kentucky Derby Marathon

🙂 🙂 🙂

Sunday, 4/24: REST!!!

We drove home so I had no choice, but I felt REALLY good. After the marathon on Saturday, we showered and headed out and did a lot of walking and I think that really helped. I wasn’t too sore – I felt less sore after this than I did after Boston. I came home immediately after the race in Boston and was cooped up in a car after running, versus being able to stretch my legs and walk this time. I think that made a HUGE difference! Oh yeah – I ate a lot and boycotted water. Lots of coffee, junk food and soda all day long.

And that’s all you get – for now!!!! 🙂

♥ Total Miles ♥ 46.2 ♥

How was your week?

36 thoughts on “Kentucky Derby Marathon Training, Week 2: Race Week

  1. suzysuzyheather May 2, 2016 / 10:56 am

    Soooooooooooo EXCITING!!!!!!! WAHOOOOO! I didn’t realize you drove for TEN HOURS. Glad you got to walk around first before getting back into the car. Looking forward to the deets! Youuuuu are my heeeero!

    • allisonfiorini May 4, 2016 / 8:09 am

      It was a really nice drive! Driving from PA down south is pretty pleasant because there are a few options to pick from and you can really avoid traffic 🙂 You are MY hero 🙂

  2. Kerry May 2, 2016 / 11:04 am

    WOOHOO!! I saw what happened on Insta. I can’t wait to read your recap. Great week! Get some serious rest! 🙂

    • allisonfiorini May 4, 2016 / 8:09 am

      Thank you! I am definitely enjoying the rest this week!

  3. Hollie May 2, 2016 / 11:24 am

    I’m so proud of you and so excited to read your recap.

  4. Heather [is probably running] May 2, 2016 / 11:31 am

    You’re such a tease! But I would definitely be waiting for the race pictures too. A ten hour car ride after a marathon sounds rough, but at least you had plenty of snacks!

  5. Anna @ Piper's Run May 2, 2016 / 12:07 pm

    So many treats! Looking forward to your race recap – glad I’m on insta!

  6. TigerRun May 2, 2016 / 12:12 pm

    i couldn’t wait & looked it up – !!! nice job!

  7. Lisa @ TechChick Adventures May 2, 2016 / 12:28 pm

    Those post race treats look delicious. I like those kind of rewards for a job well done! Looking forward to your race recap!

    • allisonfiorini May 4, 2016 / 8:11 am

      We definitely had a pretty good selection of car snacks 🙂

  8. Amy Lauren May 2, 2016 / 1:01 pm

    I can’t wait to read the recap of Kentucky Derby and see the pics! I showed some friends the picture you posted on Facebook on Saturday too… I was like yeah I read this girl’s blog (I have a friend who does pole too but doesn’t run). It’s so amazing how you went into this race without the big expectations and just let everything come to you… and you did a good job of the easy runs the week before the race as well!

    • allisonfiorini May 4, 2016 / 8:11 am

      Awww thank you Amy!! Thank you so much for your support ❤

  9. Brittany May 2, 2016 / 3:26 pm

    Cannot wait for the recap. Walking helps so much. I’m hardly sore after all the hills of Pittsburgh and I attribute that to all my walking. In fact walking feels better than laying around doing nothing!

  10. Laura May 2, 2016 / 3:42 pm

    So excited for your recap!! You are amazing!! I finally made it to
    Plainfield on Thursday. Holy bumpy running with the stroller…good thing it has good shock absorption 😊 I do like it there so much though. Although, it was still easier than running with the stroller at the Parkway. Now that was a workout!!!

    • allisonfiorini May 4, 2016 / 8:13 am

      Thank you Laura! OMG YOU PUSHED A STROLLER IN THE PARKWAY?! You are freaking awesome. I would cry on those hills!

  11. Nora @ 2 Generations Running May 2, 2016 / 7:45 pm

    I saw your results on Instagram earlier and I AM SO EXCITED FOR YOU!!!! ❤ Cannot wait for the recap! They better get those damn pictures posted soon!

  12. sarahdudek80 May 2, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    Can’t wait for that recap. That tree and that barn have me itching again for a farm house!

  13. Fallon @ Slacker Runner May 3, 2016 / 12:02 am

    Woo hoo!!!! I can’t wait to read your recap, I was so happy for you when I saw your IG post!!

  14. hellyontherun May 3, 2016 / 11:51 am

    You little tease!! 😉 ❤ Can't waaaaaiiiiitttt!!!!!

  15. Katrina May 3, 2016 / 1:09 pm

    Can’t wait to read the whole recap!!! Amazing!

  16. Nora May 4, 2016 / 7:35 pm

    The area where you live looks so peaceful!

    • allisonfiorini May 5, 2016 / 10:04 am

      It is really pretty in the Lehigh Valley! You’d never know it from those pictures, but I actually live on a pretty busy road!

Leave a Reply

