Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 18

Ohhhh I know I owe you guys a race recap, and I have lots to catch up on in your lives! Recap will be coming your way soon – promise! I’m crazy busy today and I wanted to publish my last training post from my taper! I didn’t write this as the week was going on so it will be short and sweet (for once!).

I will tell you this – my toe stopped really being a big deal last week. It still hurts but it did not affect my race and feels almost totally fine today. I will also tell you that based on the conditions, I am so happy with how Marathon Monday went down. But, that’s all you get for now!

Monday, 4/11:  6 Mile Easy Run + Core/MYRTLs

I went to the Saucon Trail for this. The weather was ugly and I felt horrible – dead legs, run down and exhausted. My throat hurt and I was afraid I was getting sick. So instead of going to pole, I skipped it. Went home, did core, cooked dinner. In bed before 9pm in hopes that I would wake up feeling better.

Tuesday, 4/12: 5 Mile Run + Pole + Core/Strength/MYRTLs

My throat still hurt and I was starting to think I really might be getting sick. I pretended it wasn’t happening and kept taking crazy amounts of vitamin C. I walked around school carrying a Clorox wipe and refused to touch anything without it. True story.

I didn’t know what to do without a track workout on the schedule! Crazy! I headed back to the Plainfield trail, did my easy 5 (which felt crazy hard anyway) and went to pole. Ran through my competition piece a few times and called it a day. Added in some core work at home, and was in bed before 9pm again.

Wednesday, 4/13: Pole+Core/Strength 

No running, but went to pole and did some core. I woke up feeling a LOT better, no more sore throat. My toe was also starting to feel better. 

Thursday, 4/14: Easy Run, 6 miles + Abs/MYRTLs

I felt so much better running. Sooooo much better. I headed to Lehigh Parkway and did a loop there, then home to do some abs and go to bed early.

Friday, 4/15: 6 Miles Easy + Core/MYRTLs

Took a sick day from work since I was sick of hearing the kids at school coughing and sneezing all over the place. Running felt better again. Went to my massage therapist and got everything ready for our trip the next day.

Saturday, 4/16: REST + Plank

Drove to Boston, did a plank and went to BED!

Sunday: 4/17:  Easy Run, 3 Miles + Plank

What is a 3 mile run? It was over before I realized it even started. It was along the Charles River and was glorious.

image image

Who raced this past weekend!?

♥ Total ♥ 26 miles ♥

37 Replies to “Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 18”

  1. Why why why is this all I get? The pre race week looks good though, sans the impending cold. A fellow running friend told me to take zinc in times like those. It helps!

  2. behind on mine too and i ran 2 days earlier…maybe by the end of the week – looking forward to reading all about your Boston experience though!!

  3. YAYAYAY! Can’t wait for the full story. I’m so glad it went well for you. What a beautiful river run too!

  4. The Charles! That would feel so weird to only run 3 miles. Ha ha! Hilarious about the Clorox wipe. That’s not a bad idea. I’m one of those people that don’t touch doorknobs and I use my elbow to push elevator buttons. Meanwhile I’ve got a cough right now. Awesome. Can’t wait to read every detail of the race! Woohoo! Lots of pics!

  5. I made it out for a run along the Charles river too, and was so glad that I did. I felt like quite the loner because there were huge groups of people together doing their shakeout runs. I think I saw Bart leading one group! I didn’t get over to meet him at the expo though. I can’t wait to hear about your race!

Leave a Reply

