April 15, 2013

“If you’re trying to defeat the human spirit, marathon runners are the wrong group to target.” 

image

I can’t let this day go by without saying anything. Today marks three years since the tragic bombing at the Boston Marathon. I ran the race that year, but thankfully was nowhere near the explosions. I was finished, on the train and almost safe and sound at my aunt and uncle’s house in Brookline. On April 15th, 2013, I was lucky. I’ll be wearing my 2013 jacket today in remembrance of this event and those who were not as fortunate. If you want to read about my experience, you can find it on my blog here, or on Elephant Journal.

Every year, I do some sort of post about running the race. This is my sixth consecutive time toeing the line in Hopkinton, and I feel like words still can’t express the excitement and gratitude I feel to be participating. Each year, I am just as excited to head up north and begin the weekend festivities. I am grateful that I am able to run and take part in this event. I am humbled that my body has carried me through the past 18 weeks. I hope I can go up there and run the race I have in mind. I know I will enjoy the experience from start to finish, regardless of the outcome. My bib number is #7204 this year, and I will carry the memory of the 2013 race in my heart as I run.

Today is a bittersweet day for since it is the anniversary (that seems like a happy term) of a tragic event. On one hand, I woke up today with a bit of sadness in my heart. But I’m also excited for the upcoming weekend. Please take a moment – if possible, at 2:49 pm –  today to think of those who are not excited for this day – for those who are still hurting, and for those whose lives will be forever affected by the tragedy that struck.

20140415-083444.jpg

28 Replies to “April 15, 2013”

  1. I’m very glad you are safe and sound, Allison. I have sad memories of the day too for some of the same reasons (as everyone does) and for some different reasons, but I always take a moment to remember. And I love your beginning quote – definitely can’t break our spirit 🙂 ❤ ya and good luck on Monday. I'll be thinking of you and tracking you of course!

  2. This was a very heartfelt, well-written post about such a national tragedy that affected so many people and the running community at large. Thanks for sharing your sentiments and I’ll be thinking of you as you toe that line yet again this year. You’re amazing and glad you’re safe.

  3. Did I ever mention my dad and brother-in-law ran Boston in 2013? My brother-in-law finished way ahead of the bombing, but my dad was running hurt and only finished a couple minutes ahead of it. He was totally fine, and fortunately, he was able to connect with us via phone before the cell towers got overloaded and stopped being reliable, so we didn’t have to sit around and worry. But still… it’s scary to think how close he was!

    This is such a good reminder… it’s easy to let the memories of tragedies fade over the years when those memories will never fade for the people who suffered losses during those tragedies.

  4. I remember that day so well. Andrew and I were pulling up to White Spot (Canadian restaurant chain) for breakfast and my phone lit up with people texting and phoning me, wondering if I was in Boston that year (I went in 2010 and 2011). Andrew and I just sat at a table in shock, not eating.

    I needed to read this post today. You put it all perfectly into words and I will wear my jacket today too and remember. ❤

  5. I can’t even imagine being there at that time. I’m excited to see how you do this weekend. You will do well and never forget the tragedy. You put it into words perfectly.

  6. I am glad that you made it safely through the run in 2013. It still breaks my heart to know that this kind of hate is still something that is real in our world, in our country, in our neighborhoods. But by standing together and not letting these acts of terrorism affect us, we prosper and remain strong.

    Prayers for a safe race for you and others running today! ❤️

  7. Thanks for the heartfelt reminder. I remember watching it on TV right after the explosion without the media knowing exactly what happened yet- such a terrifying moment. On another note, I’ll keep an eye out for you on the tracker – sending you positive vibes – I know you’ll do Awesome!!!

  8. I can’t imagine what it must have been like to be in Boston in 2013. I can’t believe it’s been 3 days. I remember I was driving home from work when I got a text from Matt about the bomb, and I just felt like I’d been gut-punched. I love how every has risen up and Boston has now become about more than the marathon.

    And of course, the strength and love of the running community. Adversity does bring out the best in people.

  9. What a beautiful remembrance of that day. I can still remember hearing about the bombing so clearly from that day. After having the best time spectating on such a beautiful day, I was driving home and my phone started ringing like crazy. I thought for sure it was a mistake or that a generator had blown, I just couldn’t believe it. My heart goes out to everyone who was impacted that day. Wishing you a safe and fun Marathon Monday.

Leave a Reply

