Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 17

I started the week a little cranky because my toe was still bugging me. As the week went on, it finally started to feel better. It’s still sore and slightly swollen, but I guess my voodoo magic is helping. Or maybe it’s just healing. Either way, I’m feeling a lot better about it. Maybe the toe injury came at the right time. I was on a pretty huge high from my training this whole cycle, and I was pretty heavy on the mileage. It might have caused a bunch of anxiety and made my past few weeks of running a bit less enjoyable. It is also likely that without it, I might not have taken my taper quite as seriously. Just looking for the silver lining and trying to keep a positive attitude.

At the end of the week, I paced a half marathon. I do this pacing gig every single year and it will get a post of it’s own. This year, I had a lot of anxiety over it for a few reasons – and my toe was one of them. Maybe it started to feel better after the race because it was like a weight was lifted. Who knows! Either way, I’m heading into my final taper week before Boston and I’m getting excited.

Here’s the pace guide I’m using:

Marathon Goal –  3:05
Marathon Pace/Tempo Runs –  7:03/mile
Recovery Runs – 9:11/mile
Aerobic A/Easy – 8:36
Aerobic B/Easy – 8:01
Long Run: 7:42

Monday, 4/4:  6 Mile Easy Run + Pole Fitness  + Core/MYRTLs

SIX! SIX MILES! SINGLE DIGITS! OHMIGOSH.

But really, I was still cranky. I was coming off the high of my race but still having issues with my dumb toe. The weather was less than ideal – drizzly, windy, chilly. I put off running as long as I possibly could. I ended up on the Penn Pump trail, which I really want to like but can’t seem to enjoy. That was my third try running there. No mas.

Headed to pole, which was one week post toe injury. The first thing we were learning was something where you do a backflip off the pole from a brass monkey. Love brass monkeys, love the idea of flipping, but after last week’s ordeal I said, “I’ll save that one for April 19th”. I learned a few really pretty new moves that I thought looked like something I could control. That was the problem with last Monday’s move – I’d never done anything like it so I didn’t know how to safely bail out of it. The moves we learned stemmed from moves I’m comfortable with, like this pretty Janeiro split variation (I love me a good Janeiro):

image

After going home and preparing dinner, I still needed to do some core work so I did the bare minimum but got it done. I did my regular bridges, hip drops, planks, and leg raises followed by MYRTLs and NTC’s Core Strength workout. That one is only seven minutes long.

Tuesday, 4/5: Track Workout: 2 mile warm up, 6×1 miles (@ MP -10 seconds/mile) w/400 meter recoveries, 2.5 mile cooldown (12 miles) + Core/Strength/MYRTLs

THE LAST TRACK WORKOUT! 17 weeks of Hanson’s track workouts: Boom.

My toe was feeling marginally better so I decided to attempt the workout. I went in with full understanding that I might have to back off or stop. Hansons gives you the option of doing anywhere from 1.5-3 miles for warmup and cool down. I’d been good about doing the full three miles on both ends for most of my training. In light of my taper and my toe, I decided to cut it down. It was my last track workout and I wanted to make sure my muscles were warm, so I still felt like I needed two miles to get moving. I can’t end on a .5 so I did 2.5 for the cooldown to make it an even 12 miles.

The goal was to run 6×1 at marathon pace minus 10 seconds per mile. The first time I did this workout in week 11, I did it on the treadmill and set it for 8.8 mph (6:48 pace). This time, I went outside and my splits were 6:42, 6:36, 6:37, 6:44, 6:46, 6:45. I want to tell you I felt great doing the workout, but I was ready to be done. I was tired and it was windy. I didn’t wear gloves and my hands were numb! But I got it done, and that’s all that matters.

I went home and did core, MYRTLs, and NTC’s Runner Strength and Balance workout. I had an easier time with the lunges this week. If I wore my sneakers, it didn’t bug my toe at all.

Wednesday, 4/6: Core/Strength

One word for this day: GLORIOUS.

I already knew there was no pole class for me. I had adulting to do. I know I mentioned before that we are in the process of remodeling our farmhouse and are doing the kitchen, but haven’t posted much since. We had to go appliance shopping, so no pole. I got on my yoga mat for some abs and NTC’s Alpha Abs workout.

These are some of the “before” shot as we demo’ed the kitchen:

image image image image

…and where we are now! Don’t mind the missing light bulb 🙂

image image

image

image

For the door on the right, we had a glass artist make us a stained glass window, and my husband installed it and made the trim pieces. image We had the cabinets made, but my husband did the install. He’s done all of the work himself. I run, he builds!

Thursday, 4/7: Tempo Run, 13 miles w/10 miles at marathon pace + Pole + Abs/MYRTLs 

I wrote a whole post about my last tempo run, but in a nutshell: I shortened the warm up/cool down to the minimum to accommodate the taper. 1.5 miles on both ends of the 10 miles gave me 13 for the day. I hit my paces and had a great run:

My splits were: 6:50, 6:42, 6:46, 6:49, 6:48, 6:39, 6:45, 6:48, 6:45, 6:55 for a 10 mile time of 1:07:47, average pace 6:46.

image

Headed to pole and ran through my competition piece a few times, and then home to do some core work – MYRTLs, bridges, hip drops, leg raises, and planks.

Friday, 4/8: 6 Miles Easy + Core/MYRTLs

No pole class since I was headed to Lancaster for the pasta party for the Garden Spot Half Marathon! No, I wasn’t racing it – I’m a pacer for that race. I headed to the D&L Trail in Northampton. Other than the super windy weather, it was pretty uneventful. I headed to Lancaster, and the race director sets up the pacers with the pasta dinner and a hotel room. I got to my room early, did some MYRTLs, core, and NTC’s Perfect Alignment before bed.

Saturday, 4/9: Garden Spot Half Marathon (13.1 miles) + Core/MYRTL

I pace this race every year and usually pace the 1:45 group, but this year I was asked to pace 1:40 (7:38 pace). It was an appropriate pace for my last long run given my training cycle, so I agreed. But then my toe happened, and I got a little nervous about the pace. I did it, and I’ll do a whole post on it soon. There’s so much to say about the crazy weather and pacing a new time! I will leave you with this, though:

image

Yep. April 9th. Real life.

I got home from Lancaster and after some rest, did my MYRTLs, core, and NTC’s Core Stability. I also got a Boston-ready gel manicure from my sister in law:

image

Sunday: 4/10:  Easy Run, 8 Miles + Core/MYRTLs

Met Megan for an 8 miler on the Plainfield trail. It was supposed to be an easy paced run, but we were chatting away. It was gorgeous out, and I looked down when we were ready to turn around and saw our pace. Oops, a little too fast – that seems to happen when I run with her. I really enjoy running with her and the pace comes easy. I wish she could run Boston with me! At the end of the run, our pace was 7:18. I need to take resting serious this week. I went home and cooked up a storm to prep for the week, and then did some MYRTLs and core.

Who else is in taper mode and loving it?

♥ Total ♥ 58.1 miles ♥

45 thoughts on “Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 17

  1. sarahdudek80 April 12, 2016 / 9:03 am

    I LOVE your kitchen. Love the floors and the sink. I was just wondering about your house the other day. We have been looking at houses since November and are getting more serious but haven’t found the right one yet. It is both scary and exciting!

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 9:16 am

      Thank you! I am in love with the space. It is soooo scary but REALLY exciting!! I hope you find something soon. I haven’t posted too many pictures because for awhile, progress was slow. But then we ordered the cabinets, and it was game on. Things have been happening much more quickly now. We got our dishwasher yesterday – I haven’t had a dishwasher in four years, since we bought the house. I kissed it, and shed a tear. I don’t care if we quit renovations now. We have all I need. Hahah!

  2. Amy Lauren April 12, 2016 / 9:20 am

    I love your new kitchen- it looks amazing :). Glad you had a good taper week even with that crazy snowy half marathon!

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 9:28 am

      Thank you so much!! I am really excited about the kitchen. I am so proud of my husband!

  3. TigerRun April 12, 2016 / 9:28 am

    We also have an old farmhouse! but we haven’t made that much progress yet…Love the remodel – & congrats on the training – you are going to do awesome!

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 11:21 am

      Thank you! We have been there for four years and still have a TON to do. We did the master bedroom and bath, now the kitchen. The outside of the house needs some major love too. I love it anyway. I want to see pictures of yours! I love old farmhouses so much!

  4. Brittany April 12, 2016 / 9:42 am

    OMG your kitchen!!! You need to be on HGTV for real though. Looks amazing!! Awesome job with the half, and I’m so jazzed your toe is feeling better JUST IN TIME!!!! Boston here you come!

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 11:23 am

      Thank you so much!!!! I am in love with what my husband has done so far. It has been an exciting remodel!!!

  5. suzysuzyheather April 12, 2016 / 9:45 am

    HOLY CRAP! I love love LOVE your kitchen! It’s beauuuuutiful!!!! I love your nails too. You’ve got a great sister in law! And I am so very impressed with your runs last week. Tapering is serious business and OMG I can’t even believe that snow, either.

    I’ve been eating healthier lately and I’m curious to know what you prepped on Sunday. You know how much I idolize you, and now I want to copy EVERYthing you do. Ha ha!

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 11:31 am

      Thank you SO MUCH!! Pretty sure we idolize each other at this point. Yep, I’m 100% sure of it!

      I am so excited for the kitchen to be done. We lived in the house for four years and had to save up and wait to start that project! My sister in law, Tracie, was laughing the whole time she did my nails. She is a hair stylist and never saw nail art in her future, let alone little runners! On Sunday, I prepped lots of goodies – I made a batch of my sweet potato waffles (I am seriously obsessed with those), more almond flour flat breads (I bring them for lunch) and pumpkin custard. I made some homemade mayo (I am going to post that recipe soon because I am obsessed), chicken salad for lunch (with the mayo) and a huge tray of baked ziti (I make that everytime I run a marathon! not healthy at all!)…and I started another batch of bone broth. Glamorous. HA! Honestly though, none of those things take a lot of time to do so it sounds like a lot, but it was done really fast! I wanted to get a lot of food prep done this weekend so I could get my house in shape this week, so post marathon I could just do nothing next week. Except eat. For post marathon, I bought two pints of Ben and Jerrys, cheap brownie mix and cheap icing (weird thing my husband and I love), and edible cookie dough for the day after the race. It is going to be game on once I cross that finish line!

      • suzysuzyheather April 13, 2016 / 10:51 am

        Bone broth sounds like something Andrew’s ex wife would make in a dark alley somewhere. Ha ha ha! I’m a jerk. I need to go buy a waffle maker. I’ve been meaning to do that since you kept talking about these sweet potato waffles. I’ll do that today.

      • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 10:53 am

        Hahahahahaha omg. It sounds sound really sketchy though. Looks sketchy too. Yes, get a waffle maker! I have a small Cuisinart one. I’ve had it for probably like 10 years but I can’t imagine I spent a lot of money on it because I was never a big waffle fan before. I probably used it more in the past month than I have the entire time I owned it!

  6. Heather [is probably running] April 12, 2016 / 10:42 am

    Your kitchen looks amazing! I love the colors that your chose! My house has a lot of beigey colored walls that I hate and I want to paint them just like your kitchen (grey with white trim).

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 11:39 am

      Thank you so much! I do love beigey colors though too – my old house was all beige and earthtones. For some reason, everything in my new house has been gray. My bedroom is the same color as my kitchen, and my master bathroom is from the same color palette but a shade darker! I just keep visualizing gray!!!

  7. Megan @ Meg Go Run April 12, 2016 / 11:15 am

    Great week! 🙂 And your kitchen looks awesome. I look forward to reading your pacing post because I love reading about that! I was so pissed it snowed. Where is the warm weather!?

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 11:40 am

      Thank you Meg! I have that one scheduled for later this week 🙂 I am hoping they send us some pictures before I actually post it. UGH the weather this weekend was BIZARRE! I am seeing sunshine from my classroom windows right now. Hope?!

  8. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor April 12, 2016 / 11:30 am

    Ooh! Me, me!! I’m in taper mode and loving it!!

    Your kitchen looks amazing! Holy wow!! It’s like one of those remodel TV shows! NICE! I bet it feels great to make so much progress.

    That tempo run is insane in the membrane. You are soooooooo ready for this! Honestly I am so pumped for Monday now, even though I won’t be there, because your excitement from this excellent training cycle is palpable. You tell your dumb toe to shush, but I bet it’s going to be just fine.

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 11:42 am

      YAY FOR TAPER MODE and loving it!!!!!!!!! And thanks – the kitchen has been going on for almost a year now and I am excited to be able to use it! Your tempo runs have been ON POINT my friend – I just read your post about your last tempo and DAMN. I am so excited for all of the spring races!!!

  9. Anna @ Piper's Run April 12, 2016 / 1:50 pm

    Wow, great week! Glad the toe is starting to feel better. And your kitchen – it’s beautiful! Enjoy the next few days before Boston!

  10. Shawna April 12, 2016 / 3:03 pm

    LOVE THAT KITCHEN!! and that the hubs did it himself! gah that’s so awesome. great week for you — i just am so impressed by you continually. you’re such a strong runner and i’m stoked for you with this marathon coming up!

    • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 9:17 am

      Thanks girlfriend!!! He is pretty amazing. I don’t think we could afford to do what we did if he didn’t do the work himself. I am so thankful for him!!! I’m getting pretty stoked myself 🙂

  11. DarlinRae April 12, 2016 / 3:04 pm

    OMG I’m in love with your new kitchen–especially your giant sink! Enjoy the taper, missy–you’ve earned it!

    • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 9:18 am

      Thank you Rae! Ahhhh I know – that room needed that sink!!! I can’t wait to use it!

  12. susanruns April 12, 2016 / 3:49 pm

    Your kitchen looks AMAZING! And incredible that your husband has done all the work. Do you have another area to use as a kitchen while you’re getting the new one? I can’t imagine being without a kitchen for awhile.

    Looking forward to your pacing recap! I’ve always thought it would be fun to pace race, but I’m not sure how you get into doing that.

    And, of course, so excited to cheer for you in Boston!!

    • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 9:22 am

      Thank you, Susan!! He is really talented, and I’m so thankful that he can do it and enjoys it. We actually have a sunroom off of our living room and he set up our entire kitchen in there. I have running water (even my garbage disposal works!) and everything because one of the walls backs up against a bathroom that we are about to rip down. He literally just busted a hole in the wall into the shower of the old bathroom and tapped into the plumbing from there. Other than the shower, that bathroom is still functional so I just close the shower curtain and hope no one looks in there, haha! We have a brand new bathroom upstairs that was part of the first renovation we did (master bed and bath), so when the downstairs one gets ripped apart it shouldn’t be a huge deal. It has been a fun process and I’m excited to cook in the new kitchen!

  13. Kerry April 12, 2016 / 4:21 pm

    Your kitchen looks so pretty!!! I am so excited about Boston. I can’t wait to hear how it goes. Enjoy the rest of your taper and good luck on race day! 🙂

  14. 50in50marathonquest April 12, 2016 / 4:22 pm

    You’ve had an awesome training cycle this time and it’s been great to follow your progress through the Hanson plan. Best of luck in crushing it at Boston and hopefully a new PR. I might try hansons sometime but I couldn’t likely run that kind of volume…maybe a Hansons light to get me closer to 3:50 one day! Btw, the house remodel and kitchen looks awesome, wow! And I wonder if I’ll have time to finally fix the small back deck this year 🙂 best of luck this weekend…marathon week for us too!!

    • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 9:29 am

      Thanks James! I’m excited for the race. Good luck this weekend in your marathon and knocking another state off your list!

  15. Ali @ Hit the Ground Running April 12, 2016 / 5:21 pm

    WOW your kitchen overhaul is SO much more impressive than mine!!! It’s fun to see what you decided on. I love the gray floor and the cabinet colors and everything. Very sleek, modern, but timeless.

    • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 9:31 am

      No way, I remember drooling over your kitchen pictures – yours is AMAZING. Are you loving cooking in it? I’m dreaming of the day I can do that. We had my family over for my dad’s birthday and we had cake in the new kitchen at a folding table and chairs but I was still stoked!

  16. Nora April 12, 2016 / 10:25 pm

    Your kitchen looks so cozy, especially during cold weather. And I love the star light!

    • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 9:35 am

      Thanks, Nora!! I love that light too but I almost sent it back. The finish is a little different than the hardware on the cabinets but I have a few other items with that finish to try to tie in the mixed metal thing. I just had to have that damn star light and it’s hard to find one in a chrome/antique pewter finish!

  17. Fallon @ Slacker Runner April 13, 2016 / 3:10 am

    Your kitchen looks awesome! Way to downplay it- that wasn’t a demo that was a total gut job!! I love the light over the sink! Your training was freaking awesome per usual! Enjoy taper!

    • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 9:38 am

      Thanks, Fallon! It was definitely a gut job. I can’t wait to use it!!!

  18. Hollie April 13, 2016 / 6:35 am

    Your kitchen looks awesome, I love it.

    I’m also glad your toe is getting better. The better it gets as Boston gets closer, the happier I am for you!

  19. everythingswaiting April 13, 2016 / 12:55 pm

    I’m a sucker for white cabinets, so obviously I love your kitchen. I’m so over the cold, nasty weather. Bring on spring!!!!!!

    • allisonfiorini April 13, 2016 / 12:57 pm

      Seriously, we had such a mild winter. WHERE is our spring weather?!

  20. She's Going the Distance April 14, 2016 / 7:36 am

    those kitchen floors are incredible! i’m so excited for you, i’m sure i’ll say it a dozen times before sunday but good luck!! (also–i used the “last one, fast one” mantra during my repeats tuesday, it’s a good one!)

    • allisonfiorini April 14, 2016 / 11:26 am

      Thank you soooo much!! I am so happy to hear you used that mantra! I hear it in my head all of the time. It works!

  21. candies & crunches April 14, 2016 / 12:44 pm

    Your kitchen looks BEAUTIFUL! Love the color scheme and actually everything really! Good luck on your marathon!!!! xoxo

    • allisonfiorini April 14, 2016 / 12:54 pm

      Thank you so much! I am getting super excited. I can’t believe it’s here!

  22. irishrunnerchick April 16, 2016 / 3:32 pm

    That kitchen! We bought a house summer with a kitchen that is pretty awful. We are saving right now so that we can get our dream kitchen in a couple of years. I just need to stop looking at Houzz for now. Can’t wait to see how you do on Monday.

    • allisonfiorini April 21, 2016 / 1:09 pm

      OMG I am addicted to Houzz. It is so bad for our bank account. We had to save up for a few years until we could start this project and my husband is doing all of the work to cut costs! I am excited for it to be done!

Leave a Reply

