Goodbye March, Hello Boston!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

  1. Total run miles for March: 306
  2. Miles run, year to date: 792.5
  3. Number of races in March: 2
  4. Longest run in March: 20.7 miles
  5. Highest volume week in March: 82 miles

I was excited to be in the 270s for mileage in February, but shocked to see that I crested the 300 mark in March! Well, not totally shocked because I did run some serious high volume weeks, but March goes down as my highest mileage month ever. I’m excited and proud! Once again, I can truly say that each and every mile brought me a lot of joy. Even the ones that came post big toe debacle.

I told you last month that February was my favorite month running in a long time. I didn’t think it could get much better, but it did. March, though it was windy and sometimes dreary, was like a dream. I kicked off March with a 10 mile race at the end of the first week. I was really excited to run that race, exceeded my expectations and finished in 1:05:31, which was something like a four minute PR and earned me 2nd overall female. It made me feel much more confident in my goal for Boston.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

A few weeks later, I also ran a big 5K PR – it was big for many reasons. I hadn’t touched my 5K PR since 2014, and it was a PR by 38 seconds. It was a large local race, and I won first overall female there. But most exciting of all, I finally broke 19 minutes in the distance and ran an 18:48.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

March was devoted to speed, high miles, and my peak week. I had some really great workouts and races in there. Some of the workouts were the scariest workouts I’d ever attempted, and then finally the workouts began to back off as I headed into my taper. I saw my first 80+ mile week (my peak week), and I felt great the whole time. I got to do some really amazing runs with friends, but also spent some good time on the trails/roads by myself.

image

I did a serious overhaul on my diet back in January and I feel really good about how I’m eating. I lost 13 lbs since January 4th, and I’ve done a ton of cooking. I’ve been diligent about eating healthy and clean throughout the week, but allow myself to indulge in goodies on the weekends. I still mow down pizza on Friday, and make non-Paleo “comfort” food on Sundays for dinner (this past weekend was Chicken and Dumplings, yum!). I did a “What I Ate” style post a few weeks back to talk a little more about my eating habits.

In the pole fitness world, I’m finished choreographing a routine to a song for a competition I signed up for. Though what I have is rough, I finally posted a video of it:

At this point, it’s all a matter of just practicing the routine and cleaning it up. So hard, but so enjoyable. It’s the hardest strength training I’ve ever done, and it often means I have days where I do double workouts to fit in Boston and pole training. The competition is on 5/21.

The bad news of the month was my toe injury, caused by a fall in pole class. I’m hopeful that it will continue to heal as the days go on and that Boston will be unaffected, but it is a bit of a concern and I’m trying to stay positive.

I continued my ❤️ StrongBody Streak through March, and I legitimately did at least 15 minutes of strength training every SINGLE day – this has been going on since the beginning of February. I told myself I’m allowed to break the streak the day before Boston, so I want to make it until then 🙂

Moving forward to April, I have a few goals – some old, some new!

  • Injuries: Heal my TOE! Be diligent about icing, taking natural anti inflammatories like turmeric, and being mindful of it during all workouts.
  • Strength training – stick with my 15 minutes each day. I will break my streak for Boston, but after some recovery I plan to pick it back up.
  • Diet: Continue with a clean diet until after Boston, and allow myself to indulge in some TREATS!
  • Pole Fitness: Perfect my pole fitness routine for the competition.
  • Recovery: I haven’t talked about it, but I am running the Kentucky Derby Marathon on 4/30 (oops!) for fun and to knock a state off my list. However, I want to focus on recovery post Boston with foam rolling, massages, ice baths, Epsom salts, and easy miles. I had a poor experience after Hartford with my calf and want no repeats of this. May is going to be completely devoted to recovery and will feature some zero mile weeks. Honest!
  • Instagram some more fun pictures as the weather gets nicer!

image

How was your month? Any goals for March?

39 thoughts on “Goodbye March, Hello Boston!

  1. Megan @ Meg Go Run April 5, 2016 / 10:16 am

    Go girl! You had an awesome month. 13lbs is a lot! Do you have an ideal racing weight you like to be at?

    • allisonfiorini April 5, 2016 / 1:12 pm

      Thanks Meg! Need to read your post about your race and what you were up to last week when I was in toe hell. I always said I wanted to race at 110. I’m 109 right now. Ideally, I wanted to go into next week weighing 105-7ish so I could carb load freely and gain a few lbs to race between 109-110. I usually race around 113, and my body seems to just like 115. So this is the first time in a long time I’ve been down to this weight. I don’t think I will be 105 next week because I stress ate a lot last week AND I was PMSing, wtf. But hopefully I will be able to be 110 for Boston. I’ve been hovering in that area since March and it seems to be working well. I did have to increase my calories a lot during the last few weeks of training because I was STARVING and had some really high mileage weeks so I didn’t lose as much as quickly I had initially! Mostly I’ve been trying to stay under what Fitness Pal says and drink a lot of water but if I’m still hungry, I will eat regardless of what the app says!

      • Megan @ Meg Go Run April 5, 2016 / 2:39 pm

        Wow thanks for all that info! Okay one more question, how tall are you?? I don’t weigh myself because it gives me anxiety. It will ruin my day if it says something I don’t like- which is HORRIBLE, but at least I know that about myself so I just go by whether my clothes fit or not.

      • allisonfiorini April 6, 2016 / 8:49 am

        I am 5’2! I do not weigh myself daily. Only on Fridays. I’ve avoided the scale this week because of PMS and the amount of food I stress ate last week! I am going to check in this Friday though…own up to it, hehe. I am the same way – if I see a number I don’t like, it can destroy my day. Which is why I designate Friday as my day. I am pretty healthy all week long so by then, it’s usually in the ballpark of what I like to see. I started in January at 122! That was 7lbs higher than I like to be, and 12 lbs more than my ideal racing weight. So if I can hover int he 108-109 range for the next week, I will feel more relaxed about carb loading for Boston. I typically start increasing my carbohydrate consumption almost a week out (in moderation throughout the week instead of all at one time the day before works best for me)!

  2. TigerRun April 5, 2016 / 10:20 am

    so completely impressed by your strength & core routine & discipline! I shoot for every other day..and THAT is hard! keep it up – good luck this spring!

    • allisonfiorini April 5, 2016 / 1:07 pm

      Thank you! The last two weeks, the strength thing has been wearing on me. I am ready to break the streak. I’m going to see it through until the day before Boston and take a little break. But honestly, it has been a tremendous help during this cycle. I truly notice a huge difference!

  3. Amy Lauren April 5, 2016 / 10:45 am

    Congratulations on a great month… highest mileage ever, new 5K PR, winning a race on your birthday- those are all super exciting accomplishments! It sounds like you’re on track for a great Boston and that the toe issue isn’t SUPER bad and hopefully clears up in the next few days. Can’t wait to track you at beantown and see how you do 🙂

    • allisonfiorini April 5, 2016 / 1:06 pm

      Thanks, Amy! It feels bad when I walk on it, so I freak myself out all day long. But in my running shoes, it feels so different. It’s really weird! I hope it continues to improve. I am really getting excited about Boston!

  4. suzysuzyheather April 5, 2016 / 10:57 am

    I love how you just make goals and check them off like BOOM. All business. You are so inspiring!

    • allisonfiorini April 5, 2016 / 1:05 pm

      LOL! YOU are the inspirational one! I think I just had a few days of good luck. I hope the streak continues through Boston!! Eeeeek!

  5. charissarunning April 5, 2016 / 10:58 am

    Your March was fantastic!!! You hit beast mode and surpassed it I think 🙂 I know you work so hard that I’m glad this season you’re reaping the benefits of all your hard work. I’m sure your toe will hold up for Boston (it has to!!). Can’t wait to hear about it all 😉

    • allisonfiorini April 5, 2016 / 1:04 pm

      Thanks girl!! I was really happy with the way the month went (until the end, of course)! I am so excited for Boston!

  6. niki April 5, 2016 / 11:03 am

    Marathon for fun? 🙂 inspirational as ever 🙂 enjoy….

    • allisonfiorini April 5, 2016 / 1:03 pm

      LOL! Well, I’m trying to cross all the states off my list so some of them have to be for fun…:) 🙂 As in, no time goals! I will definitely be cursing myself that day for sure.

      • niki April 8, 2016 / 9:52 am

        sure you’ll attack it with gusto! 🙂 fabulous idea… and brilliant goal…

      • allisonfiorini April 8, 2016 / 9:55 am

        Thanks, Niki!!! 🙂 it’s a fun goal for sure!

  7. Katrina April 5, 2016 / 11:57 am

    What an epic month!! I’m so impressed with how you can fit it all in!

    • allisonfiorini April 5, 2016 / 1:01 pm

      Thank you!! It was definitely one of my toughest months, but it was really fun! Glad the taper is here.

  8. hellyontherun April 5, 2016 / 1:51 pm

    You are so freaking inspiring. Teach me your ways.

    That Kentucky race is the one I want to do for that state too! Can’t wait to hear how it goes. You have so much awesomeness coming up.

    • allisonfiorini April 5, 2016 / 2:03 pm

      I hope you are right Helly!! I am excited about that race. As long as my toe heals up, there is a lot of fun ahead for sure!!!!!!!

  9. Shawna April 5, 2016 / 3:15 pm

    YOU HAD SUCH A KICK ASS MONTH!! girl, you seriously inspire me to no end. you’re such a strong runner and look amazing on the pole (haha hey now). good for you for sticking to your food and cooking goals and really working hard — it totally is paying off. you rock.

    • allisonfiorini April 6, 2016 / 8:41 am

      Awwww thank you my friend!!!! It was a good month, I hope it all comes together in Boston!!

    • allisonfiorini April 6, 2016 / 8:41 am

      Thanks! It seems to be less cranky but still lingering. Hoping for the best!

  10. Kerry April 5, 2016 / 5:59 pm

    Wow! What a month! 306 miles is insane! I’m sure the strength work you did helped keep you healthy throughout the high mileage training. I really hope your toe feels better and good luck through the rest of the taper.

    • allisonfiorini April 6, 2016 / 8:39 am

      Thanks Kerry!!! I think the strength work helped me stay healthy and I honestly think it is helping me right now with the toe thing. I think that by sticking with the core and hip strength workouts, it is helping me not alter my stride too much through this debacle!

  11. Fallon @ Slacker Runner April 6, 2016 / 2:30 am

    Amazing month!! I have troubles even imagining running that many miles in a month. Enjoy taper and rest that toe!

    • allisonfiorini April 6, 2016 / 8:35 am

      Thank you!!! I am certainly excited for the taper, woohoo!

  12. Hollie April 6, 2016 / 6:34 am

    I’m seriously so excited to see how far you’ve come lately. Your training and everything has been on fire and you deserve that. I cannot wait to see how Boston goes for you. We should meet for dinner somewhere outside of Philly when you have some time!

  13. DarlinRae April 6, 2016 / 9:40 am

    Look out, Boston! Allison’s coming for you!

  14. sarahdudek80 April 6, 2016 / 9:42 am

    You look amazing and I love your tights. I’m glad I read this because, while I eat healthy, I feel like if I could lose a good 5lbs, I could run a heck of a lot faster. This might mean less or no wine at night (sigh) but I think it is time to get to work on cleaning the diet up. Seeing your progress motivates me.

    • allisonfiorini April 6, 2016 / 1:13 pm

      Thank you! I do feel a lot better running when I pay more attention to my diet. It really seems to help!!

  15. Anna @ Piper's Run April 6, 2016 / 1:16 pm

    So many great things for you in March! I’m sure happy it’s April however we are still waiting for warm weather. March was a pretty good month of just remaining active and getting outside with my family, not to mention kicking off half marathon training 🙂

    • allisonfiorini April 6, 2016 / 1:17 pm

      Sooooo excited for you. I think I saw on Instagram that you did your first long run?! Congrats!!!

  16. Laura @ try & TRI again April 10, 2016 / 7:15 pm

    What a fantastic March! I love how you talk about how your workouts scare you, but then you do them. The idea of moving out of my comfort zone is still new to me…so helpful to read about you getting it done. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini April 12, 2016 / 8:01 am

      Thanks Laura!! It was the scariest plan I’ve ever followed because more than half of it took me out of my comfort zone. I think I needed that! I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

