Foodie Fridays: Paleo Sweet Potato Waffles

Paleo Sweet Potato Waffles
Adapted from the Paleo Newbie

Recently, I was slacking on my pre-long run breakfast. I was eating a banana with almond butter (or lately, the Just Great Stuff powdered chocolate peanut butter I’m loving) and a plain, mini Thomas bagel. Mostly because the fiber content is really low in that particular brand. I really wanted to change the bagel part up, because I felt like there had to be something I could consume with more nutritional value that would help me on my long run.

I was in the mood for waffles. Especially after Hollie posted about her regular morning breakfast last week. I remembered a recipe for a paleo variety that I tried a while back that tasted great, but I had some trouble with them. I thought this weekend would be a great time to give them another shot and see how my stomach handled them on my long run. As the weekend approached, I found that I would likely be going at my long run alone anyway. If it jacked up my stomach, I wouldn’t be ruining someone else’s run in the process.

image

They don’t take the prettiest picture, but I can see these becoming a training staple for me. I made a batch last weekend and I’m keeping them in my freezer. I ate one with some “Just Great Stuff” chocolate powdered peanut butter and a banana on top before my 18 miler last weekend and it worked well.

Disclaimer: I made these once before but was I disappointed with the result. The key to being successful with these is to make sure the temperature on your waffle iron isn’t turned up too high, and to re-grease it in between each waffle – don’t skip that part! I don’t make a lot of waffles normally so I can’t say I’m an expert at using my waffle iron and had it cranked up to full heat for my first attempt a few months back. Every single one stuck to the waffle iron, and I only got two of them to work. Even with greasing it each time, they would fall apart. I read the comments on the recipe, and another reader had the same issue. The suggested solution was that waffle iron was too hot, so I turned mine down from 5 to 3. It worked like a charm.

This time around, I started with the temperature set lower and was able to get seven waffles out of this recipe.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of cooked and mashed sweet potato
  • 1/2 cup almond butter
  • 1 Tbsp coconut flour
  • 3 eggs, separated into yolks and whites
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp pumpkin spice
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup

Method

  1. Preheat your waffle maker. Not too hot!
  2. Separate the eggs’ yolks and whites. Place egg whites in a small bowl and set aside. Add just the egg yolks to a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add the remaining ingredients above (except the egg whites) to the large mixing bowl. Blend at low speed with an electric mixer for about 3 minutes, or mix well by hand. The batter will be thick – don’t thin it! I used my immersion blender for this step and it worked great. 
  4. In a separate mixing bowl, beat the egg whites with electric mixer until stiff peaks form. I used my KitchenAid mixer with the whisk attachment.
  5. Now gently fold the beaten egg whites into the batter with a spatula until just combined.
  6. Lightly brush your pre-heated waffle maker grates with coconut oil. Repeat every time you cook a new batch.
  7. Spoon batter into the molds and cook until golden. I used a scant half cup of batter each time and got good results.imageThe waffle iron got a beating and needed a serious cleaning after I was done, but the batter was pretty. The result was delicious! I’m going to try them over the next few weeks for my long runs and see how it goes.

I can think of a few ways to modify these: use pumpkin or banana in place of the sweet potato! Maybe try adding some chocolate chips? I don’t know how a waffle iron does with those, but I’d be willing to try it out 🙂

What’s your preferred breakfast before a long run?

29 thoughts on “Foodie Fridays: Paleo Sweet Potato Waffles

  1. sarahdudek80 March 18, 2016 / 9:08 am

    Yum. I need a waffle iron. These look so good. Many of Hollie’s posts make me hungry! I’m a boring bagel girl. It works, so I just stick with it.

    • allisonfiorini March 18, 2016 / 2:09 pm

      Yes you need one! Mine is definitely nothing special but it gets the job done!

  2. DarlinRae March 18, 2016 / 9:50 am

    Jealous of your waffle iron. These look tasty!

    • allisonfiorini March 18, 2016 / 2:11 pm

      It’s nothing special but it gets the job done! I love them!

  3. Hollie March 18, 2016 / 9:55 am

    I guess maybe I’ll try not turning my waffle maker up so high. That’s interesting, thanks for sharing. I’ll let you know when I make them. My waffle maker does chocolate chips pretty easily so I’m sure yours does too!

    • allisonfiorini March 18, 2016 / 2:13 pm

      Yeah, I had no idea about the temperature until I read comments on the original blog. I’m not much of a waffle maker. I was wondering if the chocolate would burn on the waffle maker – I am totally going to have to try adding some for a special treat!

  4. Shawna March 18, 2016 / 10:47 am

    i love the idea of waffles but haven’t had them in years! i’m not a huge fan of anything bready anymore — but these are a fun combo. i have a weird tummy that doesn’t run well on food, so i usually have a banana or a Larabar or something small before a run and that suffices for me.

    • allisonfiorini March 18, 2016 / 2:14 pm

      I have a weird tummy tooooo!! These don’t bother me. Since I’ve gone “paleo-ish” it seems like I can tolerate a bit more, as weird as that sounds!

  5. Elaine March 18, 2016 / 12:26 pm

    Yum sweet potato waffles! I need to invest in a waffle iron. My girls love to eat waffles during the week and I would like to make them instead of buying frozen ones. As for a pre-long run meal, I stick with steel cut oats, banana and cinnamon.

    • allisonfiorini March 18, 2016 / 2:15 pm

      Yes, these are so good and pretty easy!!! I still owe you pancake recipes. I’m going to *try* to dig them out this weekend and make a batch!

      • Elaine March 18, 2016 / 2:25 pm

        No hurry on the pancakes! Thanks though.

  6. Katie Pridgen March 18, 2016 / 2:08 pm

    You already know what my ridiculous pre-run breakfasts look like. Pie and ice cream give me energy. 🙂

    This recipe looks good, though! I wonder if the batter makes good pancakes too… I think waffles are a pain to make!

    • allisonfiorini March 18, 2016 / 2:16 pm

      Your pre run breakfasts are the stuff my dreams are made of. If I wouldn’t shit my pants, I would be mowing that stuff down too. You, my friend, are freaking LUCKY!!!!

  7. cupcakesandmiles March 18, 2016 / 6:00 pm

    Yum!!! I really should have eaten something before reading your post. Now my belly is grumbling… 😉

    • allisonfiorini March 21, 2016 / 11:55 am

      That’s what mine usually does when I read your posts!

  8. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style March 18, 2016 / 6:07 pm

    Sweet potato waffles!!! How have I not tried that before? I love sweet potatoes, and this sounds great. I don’t have a waffle iron but am going to check for pancake variations. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • allisonfiorini March 21, 2016 / 11:56 am

      You could totally make these as pancakes! Let me know if you try it!

    • allisonfiorini March 21, 2016 / 11:57 am

      Someone else said they might try a pancake variety! You could give that a try and see if they are any good that way 🙂 I feel like they would be!

  9. Fallon @ Slacker Runner March 19, 2016 / 12:08 am

    Food before a long run?! What is that? Other than something I really need to work on. The waffles look super yummy, almost makes want to try them. I am not the biggest sweet potato fan though.

    • allisonfiorini March 21, 2016 / 12:01 pm

      Ha! OMG I was always terrible about eating before a long run. I’d eat nothing, or something random and then wonder why my stomach hurt!!! You could definitely sub banana or pumpkin in place of the sweet potato!

  10. Lisa @ TechChick Adventures March 20, 2016 / 9:50 pm

    This looks like an interesting mix of ingredients, but sounds really good! For my long runs/races I always eat 2 bowls of Frosted Mini Wheats! It’s worked well for me so far, fingers crossed!! Oh, and if I remember I grab Nutragrain bar right before the start line if I’ve been waiting long for a race.

    • allisonfiorini March 21, 2016 / 12:03 pm

      If it’s not broke, don’t fix it!!! Sounds like you have a good idea of what your body needs before a race. My stomach is weird so I am always trying to find something that keeps it behaving but fills me up!

Leave a Reply

