A Case of the Mondays.

I usually just save my daily posts for one big weekly training recap. But by noon on Monday, there were already too many things to say and I hadn’t even done one plank or gone for a run yet.

First of all, it was March 14th. Happy Birthday, Taylor Hanson.

tay

No, not Hansons Marathon Method that I keep going on and on about. Like the MMMbop kid. Every year I remember his damn birthday because I had a huge slight obsession with him in middle school. I think I blogged once in a Wednesday music post about how I once baked him a cake to sing happy birthday with two of my friends, and after I iced it I put it back in the oven (which was turned off) so no one would eat it and the icing melted into the cake. The oven, though it was off, was still warm. I want to say that I invented the cake pop first. I’m soooo hipster. Unfortunately, I was in 8th grade and had no idea what I’d discovered.

Maybe if I run a PR at Boston, I’ll bake a cake for Keith and Kevin Hanson (and Luke Humphery too, of course) and worship the ground they walk on the way I used to worship Taylor.

Monday was also the day after Daylight Savings Time, so I should have been ready for it. I was tired. I was cranky. I didn’t want to leave my couch and my coffee. It was dark and raining as I left at normal time for work. While I leave for work on time, I tend to do my makeup on the way in (so bad. I know, I know). I have two eyeshadows in my little travel bag – both by Urban Decay. One is called “Easy Baked” and I can wear it whether I’m going to work or out for a night of heavy drinking/bar hopping (like I ever do that anymore, come on). The other is called “Midnight Cowboy Rides Again” and is laced with glitter that ends up EVERYWHERE when you apply it and should be worn out on a night of heavy drinking/bar hopping.

I’m sitting at a stoplight and its dark out, and I start caking on my eye shadow. I was extra tired, so I felt like I needed extra make up. It was so dark, and I think to myself, “WOW that would suck if this were actually Midnight Cowboy“. I flip it over. Yep, it was. My face was covered in glitter. All I needed were a few $2 bills and some fruit spray and I would really be a convincing stripper, seeing as I have the pole experience under my belt. As I drove to work, I looked a lot like this:

glitter

Luckily, many of the teenage girls at our school believe this sort of make up is acceptable for a regular school day, so no one looked twice at me as I sprinted to my classroom so I could figure out how to un-fuck the situation.

I would have snapped a picture, but I was already 10 minutes late to work at this point thanks to the many timid drivers. You know, the ones who thought that because it was dark and raining meant we could drive 15 mph the whole way to work. I rushed in the building through side door with my hood up (making it look more like I was doing a walk of shame) and went directly to my classroom, where I grabbed a piece of scotch tape and got as much glitter off of my face as possible. It was an awesome morning, and it wasn’t even 7:30 yet.

For the coup de grace, it was drizzling, damp and in the low 40s for my run after work. I just wasn’t into it. I got through it, but I really just wanted to snuggle on my couch and eat all the food. I woke up this morning with the same attitude. I was feeling tired and unmotivated, but I checked my email and found this:

image

Perfect way to change my attitude and get my Tuesday off to a better start. ♥

I also triple checked the eye shadow I was applying this morning before actually applying it.

45 thoughts on “A Case of the Mondays.

  1. sarahdudek80 March 15, 2016 / 8:34 am

    Do you know how many times I refer to a Hanson brother and Rock asks me to clarify? You’ve got running, music and for us the brother’s from the movie Slapshot. Tells you how often we are referencing one of them in our daily conversations. We almost named our dog Hanson. Almost.

    • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 8:43 am

      Hahahahah!!! YES. And great idea – I think I will name my next cat Hanson. It definitely seems to be a recurring and significant name in my life . 🙂 🙂

  2. Megan @ Meg Go Run March 15, 2016 / 8:55 am

    Well your week can only go up from here!!! Sometimes to save time I do my make up at work… but I do it as SOON as I enter the building, lest I be seen looking like I just got out of bed!

    • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 9:00 am

      I just can’t seem to get my act together to do it at home! My couch and my coffee take priority as I am trying to wake up!

  3. charissarunning March 15, 2016 / 9:18 am

    Haha your story has me cracking up here. Maybe you should put the glitter eye shadow in a different place just to be sure 😉 Rainy days can either make me feel really lazy or really refreshed – usually when it’s both cold and rainy (like yesterday), it’s the former. But yes, today is a new day to give it your all! Go attack your Tuesday 😀

    • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 9:21 am

      Dude it definitely made me feel lazy and lacking energy yesterday! Whew. Even just adulting yesterday took everything I had, let alone marathon training.

  4. DarlinRae March 15, 2016 / 9:23 am

    Oh dear. This is why I rarely wear makeup. Too much potential for error! Anyway, I hope your week gets turned around today 🙂

    • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 9:28 am

      Thanks! I really only wear make up to work for the most part. This might be a good reason to stop. LOL!

  5. Lisa @ TechChick Adventures March 15, 2016 / 9:51 am

    Too funny on the eyeshadow! I wouldn’t have thought of using tape. So resourceful! Mascara and eye liner are my only makeup items for my eyes. Quick but must be done before I leave the house or people would think I’m still asleep!
    It is too damn dark out in the morning now. 😦

    • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 10:15 am

      I actually asked Siri: “Siri, can you look up how to get glitter off of my face?” She found the solution for me! Haha!!!

      • Lisa @ TechChick Adventures March 15, 2016 / 10:16 am

        I changed mine to “man” Siri, but he usually doesn’t have such great ideas!

      • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 10:55 am

        Haha!! Why doesn’t that surprise me?

  6. suzysuzyheather March 15, 2016 / 10:24 am

    That is SO FUNNY. I’m laughing even harder at the comments. I love that you asked Siri and I love that Lisa changed her Siri to a man and that he doesn’t have great ideas. I needed this laugh this morning! You the best.

    • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 10:56 am

      LOL! It was noon yesterday and I was updating my newest training log and I’m like, this day needs a post of it’s own!!! 🙂

  7. Katie Pridgen March 15, 2016 / 11:09 am

    I’m glad I work at a software company because that means the only thing I have to do in the morning is put on jeans and a t-shirt and maaaaaaybe comb my hair. If I’m feeling up to it.

    • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 11:11 am

      How do I get that job?! I teach Web Design! We don’t have a dress code but it’s like an unwritten rule that we look semi presentable. Some people look like they are dressed to the nines every single day. I try to dress as close to being dressed down as possible.In my head, colored jeans are an acceptable form of dress pants 🙂

      • Katie Pridgen March 15, 2016 / 11:31 am

        Just apply to any ol’ software company! It was great when I realized I could get away with jeans, t-shirts, and no make-up. I think since the culture around coding tends to be geekier/more into gaming, the companies that develop software have adjusted to accommodate it.

  8. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style March 15, 2016 / 1:22 pm

    Hi! I saw your comment on Hanna’s blog (Milennnial Next Door) and had to come visit! Another Hansons’ fan! Yay! (The marathon method I’m talking about, though I love your MMM Bop reference too!) This is my second time using the half marathon method. While I’m currently cursing the Hansons after my toughest peak week, I’m a believer and don’t think I’ll ever do another plan. I’m planning to do my first marathon this fall and want to use the plan, though I want to work with a coach to find the best of their plans for me. I’m a slow runner, and it takes me so much time to devote to runs that I just don’t think I can do more mileage that the beginner full marathon plan calls for. Anyway, I’m happy to find your blog and will be following along!

    • allisonfiorini March 15, 2016 / 1:31 pm

      Hi Jennifer! Thank you so much for stopping by! I love Hanna’s blog! I got to meet her in June when we ran Grandma’s Marathon, she is awesome! I am soooo excited to hear of another Hansons fan (the authors, haha!!) and that you are going to run your first marathon! Do you know which one you are going to run? I am loving their plan for the marathon distance. I just bought their half marathon book and I plan to use it the next time I target a half marathon! I worked with a coach from fall 2014- spring 2015 and after Grandma’s Marathon, I discontinued working with him. I think the important thing with finding a coach is that you find someone who assesses your strengths and weaknesses as a runner to develop your plan. He was a great coach, but his methods didn’t work for me. I am finding Hansons to be a good fit because it addresses my weaknesses, which are race pace tempo runs and consistent speed work. I LOVE how it constantly forces you to do those workouts! So glad to find someone else who drinks the Hansons Kool Aid 🙂 Good luck with training, I look forward to following along!

  9. Nora March 15, 2016 / 7:55 pm

    This one hour time change has had me feeling tired all week. I don’t recall this being a problem in my 20s.

    • allisonfiorini March 16, 2016 / 8:36 am

      Seriously! I feel a bit less invincible in my 30s. W the actual F.

  10. Alanna March 15, 2016 / 7:56 pm

    Great quote! Your post had me laughing out loud. I hope the rest of your week goes better.

    • allisonfiorini March 16, 2016 / 8:36 am

      Haha! Thanks! It was funny the next day so I was able to post about it!!

  11. Amy Lauren March 15, 2016 / 8:40 pm

    I loved Hanson and *still* love them. Their newer songs are pretty good, too. When I was a teen I had their Christmas album and my family and I would listen to it in the car all season long (it was a cassette tape bc our car did not have a CD player). It was the soundtrack to all our car rides to look at lights and to and from Christmas parades. I would do anything to go back to those times with family and the simple life of being a kid. Even though so many feel like Hanson is uncool, their music was the soundtrack of my teen years (along with other bands, of course) and will always hold a special place in my heart.

    Hansons Half Marathon Method also holds a special place in my heart… for another reason: helping me achieve PRs. I sure hope that after Boston you can say the same thing!

    • allisonfiorini March 16, 2016 / 8:37 am

      I totally remember you telling me this when I posted one of their jams over the holidays!! They are so great. We are both Hanson lovers – the band and the authors. Love it!!!

  12. afastpacedlife March 15, 2016 / 8:52 pm

    Thanks for the laugh. I so needed it after a long day at work. I have a long week ahead of me. Exhausted.

    • allisonfiorini March 16, 2016 / 8:37 am

      I’m glad I could help! I hope this week goes by quickly for you! Hang in there!!

  13. irishrunnerchick March 15, 2016 / 9:49 pm

    LOL! Lucky for you that teenage girls think that you can never have too much makeup. And a giant “UUUGGGGHHHH” for the first week after daylight savings time – I am so tired!

    • allisonfiorini March 16, 2016 / 8:38 am

      It was SO ROUGH with the time change on Monday. But, I had a meeting after work yesterday and had to start a long workout an hour later than normal. Having extra light on my run last night was CLUTCHHH!!!!

  14. Judith / soveryslightlymad March 15, 2016 / 10:36 pm

    I have MmmBop on my favorite playlist. I horrify my husband by listening to it in public (with earbuds) and dancing along. It’s awesome.

    Thanks for the laugh about the eyeshadow. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini March 16, 2016 / 8:41 am

      Ha! Makes me so happy to hear that someone else appreciates good old MmmBop!!!

  15. Fallon @ Slacker Runner March 16, 2016 / 1:17 am

    I love that you know it was Taylor Hanson’s birthday. 🙂 Sorry about the glitter situation but it made me laugh. I’ve had problems with my eye liner before- I leave the house thinking it looks normal and then realize my mistake the first time I use the bathrooms at work. Oops! Hope your week gets better!

    • allisonfiorini March 16, 2016 / 8:43 am

      Another really good one is when I get mascara in my eye and it seems to want to water into next Tuesday. I bought this new stuff by the brand, IT, and it’s AWESOME but it burns the crap out of my eyes if I get even a tiny bit in them. That’s a dealbreaker for me. When it’s done, I won’t buy it again. Urban Decay makes one called Perversion that I love and will buy again next time! That’s what I get for switching it up!

  16. Shawna March 16, 2016 / 3:49 pm

    Urban Decay eyeshadow for the win! my fave also. your Taylor Hanson story is hilarious and i can entirely relate to loving them/him especially/singing MmmmBop a million times…although you totally win, with that cake-baking story. gosh i want to hang out with you. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini March 17, 2016 / 8:16 am

      Urban Decay is my favvvv omg! Love that you are also an Mmmbop fan. We must meet up! xo

  17. Ali @ Hit the Ground Running March 16, 2016 / 7:41 pm

    Oh man, makeup disasters at school. I think for me, because I love bright lipstick, the worst is getting through half a day before I realize I’ve got like…a weird buildup in the corner of my lip or something. Ew.

    I used to LOVE Hanson. They were the first band I actually remember thinking, “I love this song, I wonder who sings it!” and then getting the CD. So embarrassing haha!

    • allisonfiorini March 17, 2016 / 8:21 am

      Haaaa the lipstick omg. I love red lipstick and I know your pain when I wear it! I have a pretty neutral gloss that I put on in the morning, but by the time I’m done with my coffee it’s usually gone. Hanson –> so embarrassing, yet so good!

  18. Brittany March 16, 2016 / 9:36 pm

    You’re killing me here. I’m dying.

    • allisonfiorini March 17, 2016 / 8:23 am

      Ha! It was funny once I wasn’t living it anymore 🙂 🙂

  19. Laura @ try & TRI again March 17, 2016 / 8:29 pm

    Midnight Cowboy Rides Again was one of my first Urban Decay eyeshadows! I was way too heavy handed with it. Now I curl the lashes and call it good…a blessing of working in a teeny tiny office.

    • allisonfiorini March 18, 2016 / 1:56 pm

      It’s such a great eyeshadow!!! I have to be careful when I use it, haha. Love. I love the color Easy Baked SO much for everything. Very versatile!

Leave a Reply

