Race Review: Quakertown 10 Miler

I’m just going to lead with this:

image

I ran this race in 2014 and wanted to come back ever since. Despite the hills, this is such an awesome run in a gorgeous setting. Last year, I was plagued with a bum Achilles and was certainly not going to test it out on this hilly course. I read my old review before running this race again and it reminded me that I was in for some serious climbs.

Hansons doesn’t really recommend racing during your training season. But those tempo runs get long and grueling, especially towards the last six weeks of training. I am fortunate that around the time I need of 9-10 miles at marathon pace, there are two ten mile road races in my area (this one and another one coming up on 4/2). I know I have a better shot at hitting my tempo paces if I do them as part of a race. I also know I run the risk of running harder than I need to.

Besides the fact that I simply enjoy racing, this also gave me a chance to simply “practice” racing before Boston. This race was a good fit: the start time was 9 am, only an hour earlier than I’ll start Boston. I carb loaded with some pizza the night before (pizza, pasta, or sushi are my staple pre-race foods), and got a good night’s sleep. I woke up and ate what I plan to eat for breakfast before Boston (a Thomas Mini Bagel, Chocolate PB2, a banana and Lemon Tea Nuun). The weather was great: sunny and a bit chilly, so I wore tights, a thin long sleeved top, a lightweight headband, and gloves.

The other reasons for me running this race were that I love the 10 mile distance, and it happened to fall on my birthday! I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate turning 33.

The Plan

I always go into races with a loose game plan and several goals to keep myself mentally engaged during the race, even if I’m not having a great day. My goals were as follows:

  • Goal A: 1:06 – 6:36 pace, and what Hansons lists on the race equivalency chart for a 3:05 marathon.
  • Goal B: 1:07 – about a 6:45 pace and what Hansons lists on the race equivalency chart for a 3:10 marathon.
  • Goal C: Sub 1:09:28, which was my 10 mile PR set in November 2014.
  • Goal D: Maintain marathon pace (7:03/mile), which was technically the purpose for this run.
  • Goal E: Finish.

Goal A was my “all the stars are aligned and I’m having the day of my life” goal. I knew a 6:36 was completely unreasonable to expect because I didn’t even hold that at the Superbowl Sunday 10K just a month ago. I considered that I was in better shape now and had a nice recovery week going into this race, so I thought I had a good shot at Goal B or C.

I knew the overall pace I needed to maintain but I didn’t want to stress out and get caught up with the numbers because that’s how I usually blow my races. I took the “average pace” field off of my main screen for my Garmin and simply had lap pace so I could really just focus on taking it one mile at a time. I wanted to run this race on effort. Regardless of what happened in mile 1 (I know I always go out fast), I wanted to keep my pace in check until around mile 5.

Back to how it all went down. I arrived early, around 7:45 am. My husband tagged along since it was my birthday! The race started and ended at an elementary school in Quakertown, only about 20 minutes from my house. There were indoor bathrooms and we had use of the school’s gym and cafeteria, meaning we could stay warm before and after the race. I got my bib and headed out for an easy two mile warm up. After all, this was ultimately a tempo run, as much as I wanted to stay warm and cozy in my car. I noticed that my legs felt good and running felt effortless, but I didn’t want to get too excited.

After my warm up, I headed back inside the school and found my friends just in time to head back out to line up at the starting line. I saw a local speedy female, Kristen K., at the front of the pack. We are generally close in pace, but I knew she was a bit faster than me. I thought she might be a good person to pace off of if I could keep her in my sights, so I lined up next to her.

Before I knew it, we were off. As usual, I went out too fast but I told myself not to look at my watch and to run on effort. I found myself positioned as the first female from the first mile of the race, which I knew wouldn’t last. My legs felt light, my breathing was controlled and I had a ton of energy. My Garmin beeped at mile 1 and showed a 6:27. I told myself to reign it in and slow down or I would have a long day ahead of me. 6:27 was faster than I needed for Goal A, so I needed to back off or I’d be screwed later.

Miles 2-5

The hills are spread throughout the entire course, but the majority of the climbing happens in the first half of the race. I was still the first female as I headed into mile 2, and I refused to look at my watch. I just kept telling myself to run comfortably. Calm down. Enjoy the race and the weather and just run.

As my watched beeped at mile 2, I saw two guys cheering on the side of the road. It was my husband, and Ashley’s boyfriend! I saw them several times during the race, which was amazing and unexpected. From miles 2-4, I was amused by a young guy that I was “running” with. He looked to be high school aged. I wasn’t “racing” him, but as I approached him and began to pass him, he would pick up his pace. I would pass him on the inclines, and then on the declines he would come mowing past me – heavy footsteps, heavy breathing and working way to hard for mile 2 of a 10 mile race. By mile 4, I passed him and never saw him again.

I still saw no other females until the climb at mile 4.5. Kristen started to pass me on a climb and I realized I wasn’t alone. I told her, “nice job!” as we both huffed up the hill. As we crested the hill, I took my GU and passed her without increasing my effort too much. She stayed on my heels, and when my watch beeped at mile 5, I knew the race for first place was on. Miles 2-4: 6:46, 6:41, 6:47, 6:39.

Miles 6-9

I kept about a 10-15 second lead on Kristen over the next 4.25 miles. Around mile 6, we were basically running together and hauling ass up one of the many huge hills. I looked at her and said, “this course is definitely as hard as I remember it!” and she grunted back, “oh yes!”. I think I had a bit more energy than her at that point because we crested the hill and I felt good. For some reason, I kept repeating a quote over and over in my head as I ran: “If it’s hurting me, it’s killing them”. I have no idea where heard that or why it was stuck in my head, but it seemed fitting. I knew I was working hard and running a bit faster than I should, but I’ve been training hard too. I picked up the pace significantly during this mile in hopes that I could wear her out. At one point, we came around a turn and I thought I lost her altogether.  I still didn’t feel confident that I would win the race and knew she was an extremely strong competitor, but I was still in the lead at mile 9. Miles 6-9: 6:25, 6:12, 6:31, 6:20

Mile 10

I wasn’t hurting, but I couldn’t go any faster. At mile 9.25, Kristen passed me and in that moment that I knew she had me. I knew the last mile was mostly uphill. I knew for sure that the last quarter mile was completely uphill. I also knew that I was running a huge PR in that moment, and I was content. I smiled and watched her pass me, told her she looked great and kept moving. Maybe I gave up, but my legs couldn’t move any faster. I ran my slowest mile of the race. I don’t know if it was because I stopped fighting for it, or because I was really tired. I think it was a bit of both. Mile 10: 6:50.  Even though it was slower than the rest, this was the first time I’ve ever run a 10 miler with every single mile being sub-7!

I crossed the finish line 16 seconds behind Kristen…in 1:05:31, 6:33/mile, 2nd overall female. I knew in my last mile that I was going to break 1:06 and I was over the moon ecstatic. During the later miles of the race, I remember thinking about my 1:06 goal and thinking that was the stuff that dreams were made of…but I was 29 seconds faster than my dream goal. I never, ever thought I could run that fast in my life.

When I ran this course in 2014, it was short by .05. There was this whole ordeal about some chick that was supposed to show up this year and break the American record for the 10 miler (you can read the whole debate here – it’s rather comical). In anticipation of this, the main sponsor paid the $500 to have the course certified and moved the finish line .05 to make it exactly 10 miles.

My husband knows that any runner that crosses the finish line with a PR wants the clock in the picture:

imageIn other news, my new Garmin told me that I ran two other (unofficial) PRs that day during the race: a 19:21 5K (current official PR is 19:25 from 2014) and a 40:15 10K (just a month ago, I ran a 41:30 as my current 10K PR).

The Good

This race was a huge confidence booster. Even factoring in the last mile, I ran a negative split that day. The first half of my race was slower than the second, which I am super excited about. I reigned it in after that first mile, which I knew I would take out too fast but I didn’t let it set the tone for the rest of the race.

It was good to have someone chasing me to push me. I wouldn’t have had the confidence to run that fast had I been running alone. I’m 100% honest when I say that I am not disappointed that I didn’t win – sure, it would have been icing on the cake, but I would MUCH rather having a strong competitor to chase because it helped me knock four whole minutes off of my previous 10 mile PR. I don’t know if I would have pushed myself like that if I didn’t have anyone to chase. I’ve hung consistently in that 1:09 range for the past three years. Breaking that barrier was a really big deal for me.

The Bad

I ran this race too hard for the middle of a training cycle and harder than I needed to run my tempo run. I knew that I wanted to race this race when I signed up for it, and I need to be cautious in the following days to pay attention to how my legs feel and adjust my workouts accordingly (read: not be too hard on myself when I feel tired on Track Tuesday and Tempo Thursday).

The Ugly

I am my own worst enemy. I knew Kristen was fast when we lined up at the starting line. Even when I was in first place at mile 9, I doubted that I could win. Could I have won? Did I just give up, knowing I already did what I came there to do? Why did I just let her go when I stayed ahead of her for the whole race? Whether I could have won or not, I need to work on my confidence moving forward. I am always hesitant to be more confident.

Part of the problem is that there is such a fine line between confident and cocky. I do NOT want to be cocky. Running, at any pace, is a privilege. Not everyone knows the joy of being able to go out and log miles and see the world that way. I am thankful that I had the opportunity to run this race and run as well as I did. I am grateful that I have made it this far with the Hansons program. I consider each and every mile, every race, and each day of training to be a blessing. Running is not something I am entitled to because I ran x number of miles at x:xx pace. I want to continue my momentum, and build my confidence – NOT my ego. But most of all, I just want to keep feeling good while running.

Back to the race. I crossed the finish line and went right up to Kristen and gave her a huge hug, congratulated her and thanked her. I told her I ran a four minute PR and I owed it to her. I watched Ashley cross the finish line as the 4th female and also run a big PR, and waited for the rest of our crew to finish. Ashley, Mark A. and I headed out for a super easy two mile cool down, giving me 14 miles for the day. I’m telling you – reducing post race soreness is allllll about the cool down! It’s a magical thing that I used to hate and skip every single time. Another valuable lesson learned through Hansons.

The awards were held inside, so we changed our clothes, got some food and received our awards.

Getting my award:

imageAshley, me and Mark (the Indianapolis crew – don’t ask – there’s a weird music video to explain this):

imageAshley got 1st in her age group, Mark got 3rd in his age group!!!

imageRunning friends!
imageI am still loving how this has my birthday on it!
image
I couldn’t have asked for a better day way to spend my birthday. Of course we went out for drinks post race (my stomach wasn’t having any of it, but I didn’t care) and a nice dinner later that night, but the PR and fun day at the race with my husband and my friends was more than enough for me.

Would you rather win a race overall, or have a strong competitor to push you to a PR you thought you were incapable of? 

61 thoughts on “Race Review: Quakertown 10 Miler

  1. afastpacedlife March 8, 2016 / 8:04 am

    Aw yeah! I love the thought, “if it’s hurting me, it must be killing them.” It’s an awesome mantra!

    I think I’d rather have an incredible PR pushed by a competitor. I’m not an elite so winning a race doesn’t make a difference in my life.

    • allisonfiorini March 8, 2016 / 8:19 am

      I have no clue why that kept repeating in my head, but it did and it helped a lot! Except in the last mile, haha. Honestly, I feel the same way. This was a small local race and the push for the huge PR was much more enticing than the win!!

  2. DarlinRae March 8, 2016 / 8:36 am

    Woohoo! Sounds like an awesome experience overall. It’s amazing what we can do when we’ve got someone to compete against. Now if only we could harness that when there’s no one to race…

    • allisonfiorini March 8, 2016 / 9:09 am

      Thanks!!! I know, I need to really find a way to keep this race fresh in my mind come April 18th!!!

  3. Bonnie March 8, 2016 / 9:48 am

    You did an awesome job. Congrats on a great run!! At this point I am thinking I would rather get be pushed to get the PR but winning is always good. Or maybe the PR AND the win. You must open your mind to allow this as well. 😉

  4. Katie Pridgen March 8, 2016 / 10:02 am

    Congratulations! I’m glad you ran so well– it’ll be nice to have this race to look back on during the hard moments that you’ll almost certainly have over the next six weeks!

    BTW, “If it’s hurting me, it’s killing them” is Sebastian Kiele’s mantra on the bike leg in his Ironmans. He’s one of the strongest cyclists in recent Ironman history, so he will push the pace on the bike to wear out other competitors. That’s what he tells himself when he starts hurting. 🙂 (Unfortunately for him, he’s relatively weak on the run, so he usually gets caught there!)

    • allisonfiorini March 8, 2016 / 10:49 am

      Thank you!! And thank you so much for the info! I have no idea where I read that quote before, but based on where it came from it really was fitting! I was totally trying to wear her out when I was saying that to myself. I am a decent swimmer, a weak cyclist, and strongest on the run so that’s the leg that usually helps me in tris!

  5. suzysuzyheather March 8, 2016 / 10:18 am

    My favourite quote lately is Pre’s “The best pace is a suicide pace and today looks like a good day to die.” I use that mantra whenever I do those stupid mile repeats and tempo runs!

    Like I said to you before, YOU are my inspiration. I find it so hard for me to believe that I will get faster, but I’m sitting here week after week watching you kill your old PRs and now I’m starting to believe I can do it too. Congrats again on an incredible race. You are just amazing, in all the ways.

    • allisonfiorini March 8, 2016 / 10:50 am

      Girlfriend. Have you READ your Mileage Monday posts? I drool when I read them and wish I had the endurance and speed you have! You are already so fast and are DEFINITELY getting faster! I can’t waiiiit for you to run and crush your next race!!!!! You inspire me!

  6. Amy Lauren March 8, 2016 / 10:36 am

    Congratulations on a great race! I think you found a good balance with racing when marathon training. It’s not like you’re going out and killing a 5K every weekend but you are racing a longer distance and using it as a workout and practice for Boston which is so very important. Yes, you can do time trials on your own and you can practice in your gear, food, same terrain, etc on your own but there is nothing like a challenge of an actual race to take that workout to the next level.

    If the race prize was money, I would rather win overall… but let’s be honest, I am too slow to ever win cash, so probably have someone pace me to a fast PR. I find that races with a good crowd and fast field, I always race so much faster.

    I have done several races that were small local 5Ks where I won by over a minute, and while it was fun, I won only because no one else showed up. Also, I never gave 100% in those races bc I kinda knew I was winning and if you are winning, why go to the well?

    • allisonfiorini March 8, 2016 / 10:53 am

      Thank you! That was exactly what happened to me over the summer. I did a 15K called the Race St. Run and I won by a few minutes, but I realized on the way out how far ahead I was (simply because it was a small field) and I ran easy for a race. I didn’t push harder than I had to that day, so I never gave 100%. Like you said, I knew I was winning so why go harder??? I agree though – if there were money involved, I’d want the win!! 1st place at this one got a plaque too. Just a bigger one 🙂

  7. thisrunnersrecipes March 8, 2016 / 10:54 am

    Congrats on a huge PR and 2nd overall! Hansons training is definitely paying off well for you. I know they don’t advocate racing during marathon training but I think some racing definitely has advantage – plus you’re in such good shape that why not see what you can do along the way?
    I’d probably rather have a fast competitor to push me to a PR. I’m nowhere near fast enough to win and actually really like the competition.

    • allisonfiorini March 8, 2016 / 11:21 am

      Thank you so much!!! That’s my thinking. I am getting close to being in marathon shape so why not see what I can do? I feel like come race day, it will only make me more confident. We’ll see!!! Eeeee!

  8. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor March 8, 2016 / 11:44 am

    Congrats on such an amazing, strong race! What a great birthday present 🙂

    I don’t think it’s cocky to want to win if you think you are able. Who among us wouldn’t try for that if we thought we could? We all have different motivators.I enjoy reading race recaps of those who are truly “racing” for this reason – it’s interesting because it’s outside of my experience. I’ll probably never be at that level myself so it’s fun to hear what it’s like from others who are!

    I have a half coming up that’s hilly. I’d like to say that reading your recap of crushing a hilly race makes me more confident but I’m still terrified looking at the elevation chart for my race!

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 10:41 am

      Thank you so much, Hanna! You will crush your hilly half. Look at the elevation chart but not to psych yourself out – use it to know that you are going to have some climbs, and to really use the downhill to your advantage! When I run a hilly course, I tend to let myself relax on the uphill and not panic that my pace might not be what I want it to be. I try to keep my breathing controlled and not exert too much effort (like still try but not burn myself out) and then kill it on the downhill. That doesn’t work for everyone – some people can’t do that with knee issues, etc – but it’s okay for me. I knew the bulk of the bad climbs for this one were in miles 1-5 so it was motivation for me to focus on holding back in the first half of the race.

      • Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor March 9, 2016 / 11:22 am

        That’s a great strategy!! Unfortunately in this case, most of the downhill is at the BEGINNING of the race. Arg!!! I hate when they do that! Now I have to waste perfectly good “Free speed” on miles that are supposed to be slow! Luckily the opposite is true at PGH, the big downhill is at the end of the race and the last 4 miles are flat. I guess that’s more important 🙂

      • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:55 am

        Ohhhh yeah, WTF are they thinking?!!? We have a marathon like that here. Run for the Red. It’s really awesome, but the first half is a SERIOUS downhill, and then it’s all rollers after that. Like, why!! Although running that in reverse would really suck too. Haha!

  9. Ali @ Hit the Ground Running March 8, 2016 / 11:49 am

    Iholy crap, great job on that PR and amazing performance!!! You’ve been working hard and consistently, and it’s paying off!!

    I could never even dream of winning a race. I once placed 3rd in my AG and it was a PR…so I don’t know which I prefer because they’ve only ever happened in conjunction with each other! I think I prefer a huge PR at this point in my running because I can’t fathom winning a race.

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:19 am

      Thank you!!! It was such a great day. I’ve definitely been feeling a bit of the fatigue from it this week, but it was worth it!

  10. sarahdudek80 March 8, 2016 / 12:16 pm

    Loving your mantra. I think that is an excellent one and so true. I have to say, this is why I don’t race during marathon training. Even when I say I am going to take it easy, I just push myself too hard. My husband recently said that not everything has to be a competition. I asked him if he had even known me for the past 10+ years. This is reminding me of a year ago when I told him I would take it easy in a 10k down here, and I ended up 3rd over all while pregnant. Haha! Congrats on an awesome run. You seriously are amazing!

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:21 am

      Thank you so much!! Ha!! Love that story so much – winning and pregnant – AMAZING! I think I need to go back and read that post of yours because I feel like I didn’t follow you yet when that happened. I would DEFINITELY remember that! But, I absolutely feel the fatigue this week from the race. I never really followed anything like this training before, so I will be choosing my fall races more wisely if I decide to use this plan again (highly likely!) because this one did take a few days to recover from!

  11. Jess@Run Pink! March 8, 2016 / 1:09 pm

    Aw wow! You totally smashed your A goal girlfriend!!! Congrats on a PR and kickin 10 miler. You smoked it. I still haven’t quite gone sub-7 on that distance yet (7:05 so I’m clooooooose) I think sometimes I give up mentally. Then kick myself in the butt later. So id say I enjoy healthy competition from time to time. As long as I can place in my AG somewhere. Haha but the faster I get the more greedy I feel for wanting to win. One day…. 😉

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:34 am

      Thank you!! You are sooo close to that sub 7 barrier! You will totally get it soon! I love that distance. I am doing another one in a few weeks and I can’t wait! I completely understand getting greedy and wanting to win. I feel that sometimes too! It is addicting!

  12. Heather [is probably running] March 8, 2016 / 2:51 pm

    Amazing job, Allison! I knew when you ran that 10k in February and the time was way off from Hanson’s equivalencies for a 3:05 that you had nothing to worry about. Definitely take it easy this week while you are recovering from the race. Hanson’s seems to be really working for you, no point in blowing all that hard work on an avoidable injury.

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:37 am

      Thanks, Heather!!! I think the 10K in early February was a good way to break in the race season, but that was really it. I didn’t get my legs moving fast enough that it burned me out for the following weeks, but fast enough to boost my confidence. This 10 miler certainly took more out of me, but I feel more confident in my fitness that I can relax a bit. I have absolutely been taking it easy this week – like this morning, I normally go to the gym and get on the elliptical for my day off of running – I hit snooze and went back to bed! Glorious! I am totally in love with Hansons!!

  13. Elaine March 8, 2016 / 8:57 pm

    Allison, congrats!!! You’ve been working so hard and truly deserve it. It definitely helps to have someone push you to reach new limits. Excited for you and will continue to follow your training until Boston.

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:39 am

      Thanks, Elaine! It was an amazing day. I JUST realized why I have not seen any of your posts. I must have missed the one about the new domain name – how cool!!! I am so sorry that I’m just seeing that now. Getting your new one in my reader so I don’t miss anymore!

      • Elaine March 9, 2016 / 12:02 pm

        No worries. I actually just figured out how to transfer my followers from my old site to the new one.

      • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 12:04 pm

        I think you are right, because when I just copied the new URL (without the wordpress) into my reader it said I already follow you! Whew!

  14. slowpokeiv March 8, 2016 / 9:26 pm

    First: Congrats, and we’ll done. Answer: I’m too slow to even think of winning, so someone to push me to a PR is awesome. But my real response: I *love* your attitude of running is a privilege, at any speed. Fantastic to see someone so fast have such a great perspective, and encouraging to us back of the packers.

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:42 am

      Thank you!!! It was an awesome day. Above all, I just love to run. I don’t care what pace. As long as I feel good and can go out and enjoy the experience, THAT is what I love about running ❤ That, and the friendships I've formed with my running friends. Runners are truly incredible people.

  15. Alanna @ Madeleines & Marathons March 8, 2016 / 9:44 pm

    That’s some crazy elevation. Awesome job! Congrats on the PR! I love the “if it’s hurting me, it must be killing them” mantra.

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:45 am

      Thank you! I really have no idea where that came from. I must have read it somewhere. It was so fitting for that race!

  16. susanruns March 8, 2016 / 10:06 pm

    Congrats on the PR and second place! You’re really selling the Hanson’s plan with all your strong running lately. I love your attitude about getting second – you ran a monster PR and that’s something to be crazy proud of. There’s always someone out there who is faster than us, and that’s okay!

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:47 am

      Thank you so much, Susan! I can’t say enough about Hansons. It really was the right choice for me. I do modify it quite a bit to add volume, but I do so using their program modifications chapter to stay true to the plan and the philosophies they use to develop their strategy. It’s so weird – I feel like the plan is so structured and flexible all at the same time!

  17. irishrunnerchick March 8, 2016 / 10:07 pm

    This is amazing Allison! Congrats! And such a great confidence boost for Boston. I ran most of my last 5K with another lady (we were not in the lead though LOL) and it helped me keep my pace – and she thanked me at the end for pacing – she had a little extra kick than me at the end. In contrast, at my 10K this weekend I was running the last half of the race in no-mans land and I definitely gave up a little because there was no other woman to compete with. So I’m all about keeping up with the kompetitor.

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:50 am

      Thank you so much! I really think racing with someone around the same ability or slightly faster is an amazing way to run a race. I’ve had this happen before but not something that lasted for the entire race like it did this time, where we really pushed each other right until the end. I would run another race like that in a heartbeat even if it meant coming in last place but being pushed to run that kind of PR again!

  18. StollerGuy March 8, 2016 / 10:36 pm

    Only you know whether you could have pushed harder to win. In my experience I am always more confident that I can run faster only after the race is over. Congrats on a great race and effort!

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:50 am

      Thank you so much!!! It was such an awesome day 🙂

  19. Fallon @ Slacker Runner March 9, 2016 / 2:02 am

    Amazing race, congratulations!! Consistent sub 7’s- that’s awesome! I can only dream about seeing numbers like that. I don’t think I’ve ever actively raced/ paced someone like that before. I am not sure how I would react.

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:52 am

      Thank you so much, Fallon! It was a great day, and awesome to have someone to push me like that. I loved it!

  20. Laura March 9, 2016 / 11:28 am

    Congrats on the huge PR and demolishing all of your goals! 2nd place female to boot, on your birthday. Winning all around! You are looking super fit for Boston next month!

    I have had races where I won overall and it’s cool (duh) but I sometimes find I get more satisfaction over having tougher competition to push me and set faster times.

    • allisonfiorini March 9, 2016 / 11:58 am

      Thank you so much! It was so much fun. I agree, the tough competition is where it’s at. Not so tough that they drop you in the first mile and you can’t see them, but tough enough that it’s neck and neck. Super exciting and really gets your adrenaline going!

  21. Megan @ Meg Go Run March 9, 2016 / 5:07 pm

    YOU RAN 3 PRS THAT DAY!!!!!! That is so awesome, Allison. 🙂 I love how you said you want to keep improving your confidence, not your ego. The last time I raced the mile, there was probably a tenth of a mile to go and I was in second place, but 3rd place was like RIGHT behind me and she passed me and she looked so strong and fast. For a split second I thought to myself, alright 3rd place is good enough for me! Then after that SPLIT second of accepting 3rd, I thought to myself, and I will never forget this: “Why NOT me???” And I kicked it into gear and got second!!

    • allisonfiorini March 10, 2016 / 7:15 am

      Thanks Meg!!!! It was really awesome. I’m doing a 5k in two weeks and I know for sure my one fast friend will be there. Hopefully I can channel you and kick it into gear to have a good kick at the end!!!

  22. Brittany March 9, 2016 / 10:54 pm

    Loved reading this!! And you’re totally making me think about Hansons… Do they have plans for other distances or just marathons?

  23. metric runner March 11, 2016 / 7:05 pm

    Congrats on the PR’s. Impressive! I think training is going very well for you and you are in a better shape than in 2014 when you PR in a marathon. I believe you can break that 3:06 without a problem this year. Be confidant! You definitely can do it, your results this spring show it. I meant to write something about your 10k time in February, but this past weekend you proved again you are ready for Boston and a new record!
    As far your speed goes, I think you have more of it than you think. If you wanted to break your other PR’s it’s a matter of training for a particular distance and not just include them as part of your marathon training, perhaps this summer / fall?
    Love reading your posts and race recaps. It definitely motivates me to go out there and train.
    Good luck with training and future races!

    • allisonfiorini March 14, 2016 / 2:21 pm

      Thank you so much!! I think my 3:06 happened one day because all of the stars aligned, not because I was in shape for it. I agree that I am in better shape now than I was then, but lets see if I can be patient and execute a good race strategy in Boston, which is usually my biggest problem! I completely agree that right now, I am in marathon training mode and if I want to break some other PRs, I would need to focus on the other distances. I have a few ideas for fall 🙂 Thanks so much for your kind words and support, it is so motivating!!!

      • metric runner March 14, 2016 / 2:38 pm

        You’re right good marathon time is a result of so many factors, but the biggest one is proper training. You seem to have that worked out perfectly this season. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you, so that all the other things fall in place as well. Good luck!

      • allisonfiorini March 14, 2016 / 2:39 pm

        Thank you so much!😬😬😬

  24. hellyontherun March 11, 2016 / 10:50 pm

    How’d I miss this?? You were amazing!!! And yeah, maybe it was too fast in the midst of training but what a confidence booster for you!! I totally don’t think you’re cocky in any way or capable of letting ego intrude in your accomplishments. BE PROUD. I don’t think that’s being cocky. And fuck yeah, if you’re close to first, go for it!! Why not?? You’ll never know!

    I think I was a little bummed this last time I got 3rd overall and no award was because I know it’ll never happen again, lol. So I def let my ego get involved there. I wanted a damn certificate, jajaja!!!!

    • allisonfiorini March 14, 2016 / 2:22 pm

      Awwwww thanks Helly!!!!!!!! You are so sweet. I know, I let her go and I now I am all like, “WHYYY did I settle?!” LOL. Lesson learned…but I was still thrilled with the outcome. And that is BULLSHIT THAT THEY DID NOT ACKNOWLEDGE 3RD OVERALL. What the actual fuck is that?!

Leave a Reply

