Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 11

Highest volume week yet to wrap up the month of February! My body was tired by Sunday, but my legs still felt pretty good. I did my first round of strength workouts in place of my track workout, and it was a lot of fun. I can certainly see how these workouts are going to build speed and endurance over the next 6-7 weeks. I have a bit of a recovery week on the schedule for week 12, and it’s going to feel great after the week I just had.

Here’s the pace guide I’m using:

Marathon Goal –  3:05
Marathon Pace/Tempo Runs –  7:03/mile
Recovery Runs – 9:11/mile
Aerobic A/Easy – 8:36
Aerobic B/Easy – 8:01
Long Run: 7:42

Monday, 2/22: 10 Mile Easy Run+ Core/MYRTLs + Pole Fitness

This run is the reason why I’m a runner. It was after work, and I had 6+ miles on the schedule. I’ve been running a few extra miles on Mondays. Hanson’s plan states in the program modifications that easy runs are a good place to add miles. They suggest extending your easy days to 10+, so for awhile I hovered around eight miles on days where six was on the schedule, but starting last week I bumped it up to 10. I do this with the understanding that if I’m not feeling it, I’m fine with cutting the run at six and calling it a day.

There was no cutting it at six, and if I had more time I might have even considered running longer that day. It was absolutely gorgeous out – 50 degrees and sunny. I had shorts with me. Shorts in February! I went to the D&L trail in Northampton with a few of my friends from work. Missy was running eight miles, Leigh was aiming for six. Missy and I did two miles together to warm up since we got to the trail before Leigh, and then we all got started. We all fell into our own paces and didn’t stick together, but it was so gorgeous out that I just zoned and enjoyed the weather. I felt like I could run forever.

As I was heading down the trail to finish my run, I just kept thinking, “This. This is why I’m a runner.” That run was the reason why I try my best to run what’s on my training plan each week. This run is why I try to eat healthy, and get a lot of sleep. To be able to go out and just run comfortable and happy on a trail for however many miles I felt like running. That’s what it’s all about for me. And I think over the past few years, I lost sight of that as I’ve been chasing my marathon goals. I needed a run like this!

After the run, I did some core/MYRTLs and headed to pole class. We took a break from competition practice and learned a few new tricks using some different grips. We used a forearm bracket grip, which I actually really love and something called a football hold. It was fun to learn something new.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Tuesday, 2/23: Track Workout: 3 mile warm up, 6×1 mile w/400 meter recoveries, 2.5 mile cooldown (13 miles) + Strength/Core/MYRTLs

I was so excited for this workout for two reasons: first of all, it’s different from almost anything I’ve ever done. Second, it was so long but the pace was reasonable that I could do it outside and on the roads to avoid running around the track a gazillion times. Except it was about 35 degrees and we were being hammered with rain/sleet, so guess who ended up on the treadmill AGAIN. I’ve never spent so much time on a treadmill as I have this winter. Which is so weird, because the weather hasn’t been as horrendous as the past two years.. But I also have more focused workouts this winter, so hitting certain paces has been a big part of my training.

I headed to the gym and got it done. The focus was to do 6×1, but to do them at marathon pace minus 10 seconds per mile. I’m aiming for a 7:03 pace, so ideally I should run these at 6:53. I set the treadmill for 8.8 mph (6:48 pace) since it was the closest without going over and it actually felt good.

I’m not going to sit here and tell you this workout was easy. It wasn’t. It also wasn’t the most awful thing ever. Surprisingly, I warmed up and cranked up the treadmill and was able to knock them down pretty comfortably. It actually got me thinking of a workout I did once on the track when I was working with Kenrick, my former coach. A few weeks before my marathon, he had me to 8×1 mile at 6:45 pace. I remember getting that workout done on the track, and I remember it being really hard. Like 6:45 pace that day felt the way my 5K pace currently feels. I don’t necessarily think it was a bad workout or I was in worse shape then – I still cranked out some fast marathons that season. I think what might make this workout seem more effective and approachable now is the fact that I’ve built up to it.

After the workout, I did core, MYRTLs, and the Nike Training Club workout (Runner Strength and Balance) from the past two weeks.

Wednesday, 2/24:  Arc Trainer, 20 min + Barre Strength + Core + Pole Fitness

It was pouring so I knew that ski club was canceled, but I headed to the gym anyway because I like the short workout I do on Wednesday morning. I think it helps get my legs all flushed out from the track work the day before. I started with my Nike Training Club Barre Strength routine, which is really tough and effective. Instead of the elliptical, I tried the arc trainer to change things up. It seems like a similar workout to the elliptical.

I had a productive night at pole class making my way through my routine. I still have segment that needs some choreography, and I need to actually do it to the music, but it’s coming along.

Thursday, 2/25: 14 miles w/8 at Marathon Pace + Abs/MYRTLs

Tempo day! Is it sick and twisted that I was actually excited for it? Because I was. It was a rainy ugly morning, but I didn’t have to do it until the afternoon. Oh, and I saw a pretty rainbow on my way to work and figured it was a good sign.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The run didn’t start well, and while I hit my paces it didn’t feel quite as effortless this week. It was still fun and productive, though. First of all, as I was leaving work I realized I forgot socks. I can’t run without them. I know some people do, I just can’t imagine doing it. I grabbed a small coffee and luckily, there is a Sports Authority en route to my preferred trail.

I’m driving to the trail, and its doing some weird wintery mix thing. A little rain, snow and sleet. Not very hard, but it was dreary and super windy. Like whipping my car around windy. Pulled up at the trail and yes, I change in my car. Except not only did I forget socks, but I forgot a sports bra. I was thisclose to saying “fuck it, I’m going home”. I decided I would just wear my regular bra (ugh!) and suck it up. At this point, I felt defeated and like the task ahead was so daunting.

I tried to keep the warm up a little easier than last week, and the tempo miles were about the same. I know I need to stay closer to the 7:03 pace. But I have a really hard time finding that pace. I can go faster, I can go slower, but I can never just nail it. I know it seems good that I can bust out the pace faster, but I don’t need to be moving faster. As soon as I start to slow down, I slow down too much. I can’t seem to find that sweet spot. It’s a bit concerning. I want to hold 7:03 in Boston, and I need to get used to what that feels like.

Sure, I would love to hold 6:50s in Boston but I just don’t think I have the fitness to back that kind of pace up. I’m not saying I’m incapable, I just don’t think the timing is right and I haven’t done the work yet. I haven’t broken 3:10 in over a year, so I can’t expect to show up and break 3 hours. 10 whole minutes is a huge jump.

image

I didn’t finish the tempo out as fast as I did last week, but it was still solid. Overall pace, 7:24. I felt good once I got moving, and the cool down felt better this week. By the final mile, I was tired. I went home and did MYRTLs and abs, including a Nike Training Club workout called Fearless. I hadn’t done that one in awhile and it features a bunch of V-sits and the things that I usually shy away from. It didn’t get any easier!

Friday, 2/26: 8 Mile Recovery Run + Core+ Pole Fitness

UGH. AGAIN. THIS FREAKING RUN.

I dread this thing more than I dread anything else all week. I think because it’s dark and early. My legs actually weren’t sore, but my body was tired. It wasn’t as cold as last week but it was windy. FML. I almost called it at 3 miles (I pass my house at 3 miles) but I told myself, “Instead of 8, just do 6. It’s an easy out and back to make it 6.” Once I got to six, I felt okay so I told myself to go an extra half mile to make it seven. And once I got to seven, I convinced myself to go one more half mile because then all I had was a 2.5 mile run back and I would be at eight. I actually didn’t feel terrible towards the end, but it took some convincing to get me through it.

At pole class, I showed up with a new song for my competition piece. I’ll do a post on it soon. I thought the studio owner was going to lose it since I’ve been practicing the Bieber song since the beginning of January! I was completely done choreographing the Bieber song. I just wasn’t into it, and I felt like the movements had to be so rushed in order to fit all of the choreography in with the music. However, I made some progress with the new song and can use almost all of the choreography from the old one in some way.

Saturday, 2/27: Long Run, 18 Miles Run + Pole Fitness + Core/MYRTLs

This was just a long morning. Due to some plans in my schedule for next week, I had to do my long run on Saturday. I couldn’t do it on Sunday because I have to move my track workout to Monday, and I certainly didn’t want to do them back to back. So Saturday morning, at the ass crack of dawn, I met Mark and Kathy. We met around 6 am, which should be illegal on a Saturday morning. The run was pretty uneventful. I didn’t feel too awesome, but I got it done. I seemed to perk up around mile 12 and dropped a bunch of faster miles, so we negative split the run. Overall pace, 7:33 and much closer to my long run pace. Lately, those have been a bit too fast.

I just didn’t feel awesome running. My legs felt a little tired, and my body was a lot tired. My stomach was a bit upset, but nothing unbearable. I think part of the problem was that I’m more recovered from Thursday’s tempo by Sunday, and I don’t start at Dark O’Thirty anymore. For awhile, I really hated and dreaded the long run but lately I’ve enjoyed it…until this past Saturday. It’s definitely the timing of the Saturday run that makes it less enjoyable.

I made it to the 9 am pole class and stayed until noon working on my new song. By the end, I actually had the entire song choreographed AND I could run through the whole thing! The studio owner was pretty excited at this point, as she was worried I would be setting myself back. Now all I have to do is just keep practicing the routine. I’m really excited about all of the changes I made and will post some clips soon.

At home, I did my core and my MYRTLs before going to get one of my sister-in-laws famous gel manicures:

image

Sunday: 2/28:  10 miles + Core/MYRTLs

It was a gorgeous day and I met Emily mid-morning for a run. We did 10 easy miles, and it was perfect out! We kept the pace easy, 8:17, and I took her on one of my favorite new routes through Saucon Valley. At home, I followed it up with MYRTLs/core, including a Nike Training Club workout called Core Stability. I also spent some time stretching and foam rolling.

How was your week? How is your race training going? Do you ever have a run on your schedule that you just want no part of? 

♥ Total ♥ 73 miles ♥

42 thoughts on “Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 11

  1. DarlinRae February 29, 2016 / 12:25 pm

    Holy Moses, girl! ALL THE MILES! Way to get it done.

    • allisonfiorini February 29, 2016 / 1:37 pm

      Thanks Rae! I ate like I ran all of the miles yesterday to celebrate, hehe!

  2. Megan @ Meg Go Run February 29, 2016 / 2:15 pm

    Wow you did great this week! Battling the weather and the socks and the bras… hehe. I think I could do a “normal” run with no socks but I feel like tempo runs I just need all the stars aligned for and that most definitely means SOCKS. I would actually go bra-less before I would wear a normal bra. I know that sounds crazy but my boobs are SO SMALL that they don’t even really bounce.

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:37 am

      Thanks Meg! Ha! Mine are pretty small too so I probably would have been okay going without a bra. But I totally needed the socks. I bought some and now have them stored in my car because this isn’t the first time I’ve forgotten those (or the bra, I should get emergency car bras too…)

      • Megan @ Meg Go Run March 1, 2016 / 8:37 am

        So they should start making sports bras for runners that say “This is my emergency bra” really big across the chest.

      • allisonfiorini March 2, 2016 / 7:58 am

        OMG YASSSSS…I would buy that!

  3. Katie Pridgen February 29, 2016 / 2:33 pm

    Oh. My. Gosh. I have no idea how you do it! I’m not sure what would break first with all that running– my body or my spirit!

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:37 am

      Thank you Katie! I was really tired by Sunday afternoon. I needed a nap!

  4. Hollie February 29, 2016 / 5:35 pm

    It looks like you had a strong week. Nice job and I’m excited to see how your racing goes. I’m doing a 4 mile race up towards you next weekend. (Just north of Philly).

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:38 am

      Thank you, Hollie! I’m excited, too. Good luck this weekend! Eat some grilled cheese for me 🙂

  5. afastpacedlife February 29, 2016 / 7:24 pm

    Cool nails.

    I love all the updates you’ve been giving up on your pole dancing. You’re doing great!

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:39 am

      Thank you!! I’m really loving pole. It doesn’t feel like a “workout” even though it totally kicks my ass!

  6. Kelly February 29, 2016 / 7:38 pm

    I really enjoy reading your posts and updates on your pole dancing. You make itlook so easy!
    If you don’t mind, I have a question about the Nike training app you mention. Do you know if there is a way to search for the workouts you do, by name? I’d love to do some that are recommended by you and others, but can’t figure out how to find specific workouts (other than browsing through all the workouts to find them). Not sure if I’m missing something, which is totally possible.
    Thanks!

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:41 am

      Hi Kelly! Thank you!! I love that Nike App so much but that is one feature that kind of stinks about it. What I usually do is go through each category and “like” the ones that look interesting so it goes to my favorites. It’s not very user friendly, which is a shame because there are so many great circuits on there. Also, most of the ones I like come from the category that is called Get Focused, since I mainly use it for core work they all tend to be grouped there. I hope that helps. They’ve come a long way with adding workouts, but that app could totally use a redesign to make it easier to search!

      • Kelly March 1, 2016 / 6:39 am

        Thanks for your advice! It definitely does help. I’ll take some time to “like” some workouts. Good luck with your training – looking forward to reading about it.

      • allisonfiorini March 2, 2016 / 7:55 am

        Thanks Kelly! Let me know if you find any good ones that you like on there!

  7. Judith / soveryslightlymad February 29, 2016 / 9:10 pm

    I was annoyed with myself today for forgetting to bring a change of tank top and fresh socks to change into after a ran outside then went to the gym to meet my trainer. I made do with my long sleeve shirt and kind of muddy socks.

    You made me feel better that I at least had socks and a running bra. Hope that’s not rude of me 😉

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:42 am

      Not rude at all, hahah! I forgot it wasn’t a sports bra once I got started, but I felt so weird wearing my regular bra running!

      • allisonfiorini March 2, 2016 / 7:58 am

        There was definitely some chafing, but none that was too traumatic thankfully!

  8. Alanna February 29, 2016 / 9:11 pm

    Awesome job! I ran 15 miles at 4:30 this morning. It was a bit painful rolling out of bed that early, but worth it. The things we do to get the miles in. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:43 am

      That is freaking hardcore. I’m sitting here at 4:45 am procrastinating an 8 miler and just read that comment. I better get my ass moving, haha. You are so right though – the things we do to get the miles in!!

  9. cupcakesandmiles February 29, 2016 / 9:41 pm

    That’s some pretty awesome mileage! And, I’m sorry, did I read that right…you ran 14 miles with no socks?!

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:43 am

      Ha! I bought some socks, but I ran 14 with no sports bra, just a regular bra! It worked out okay, but I don’t recommend it 🙂

  10. Kerry February 29, 2016 / 10:10 pm

    Wow…. That is a wild week. And so many miles! This plan really has a you running a ton. I imagine that a marathon wont feel like much when you run that many miles every day. Haha! My long run this week started out kind of rough and I really wanted no part of it. But I pushed through and felt better for it.

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:45 am

      Thank you! I think if I were straight up following the advanced plan without adding on miles, I would have been more like 63 ish miles. They discuss how to adjust for more miles. I peaked at about 75 miles in the fall, so I wanted to be in the same neighborhood again this time around. I do really like this plan. You definitely crushed your long run, and you weren’t feeling well!!! You are awesome! I sit on the couch, mope, and don’t workout when I’m sick!!

  11. irishrunnerchick February 29, 2016 / 10:44 pm

    Wow – that is a lot of miles! Congrats on getting it done. I arrived at the gym a couple of weeks ago with a normal bra and I felt so awkward and I can’t even imagine running in one – eugh!

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:46 am

      Thank you!! I did feel super awkward. Kind of forgot about it once I got into the workout but it just felt really strange!

  12. suzysuzyheather February 29, 2016 / 11:10 pm

    I want to try those mile repeats this week! I’ll see if I can do it. I am noticing that I really need to start doing long runs soon. I used to do a 20 miler per month and I haven’t done one in a loooong time. Your mid-week tempo run is as long as my long runs are right now. Shoot! I gotta get my ass in gear.

    YOU ARE MY HERO. I’m obsessed with your Monday training logs. I want to be you. Oh, and I want to do the splits like you too.

    • allisonfiorini March 1, 2016 / 4:48 am

      Yeahhhh do the repeats! I think for you, since your goal is a sub 3, your marathon pace should be something like 6:50 – so you would do these at 6:40 pace because it’s supposed to me MP -10 seconds. You will love them! I am not doing a 20 miler this time around 🙂 I am scared about it. Hansons goes by % of weekly miles to determine the long run and doesn’t recommend more than 16 miles on their advanced plan. However, if you have a higher volume week it does merit a longer run, which is why I did the 18 miles. They don’t recommend 20 milers for anyone unless they are running 90-100 miles per week! Their theory is the long run is simulating the last 16 miles of the marathon since you’re doing it on tired legs. I’ll see how it goes in Boston, but the absence of the 20+ miler…scary stuff!

      • suzysuzyheather March 1, 2016 / 11:16 am

        Okay, I’ll try them today on the TM. I have diarrhea just thinking about it.

      • allisonfiorini March 2, 2016 / 8:07 am

        I can’t wait to read when you post about this workout! Hopefully you didn’t poop your pants.

    • allisonfiorini March 2, 2016 / 7:52 am

      I am so glad you tried the mile repeats! YOU are my hero! I don’t know, I haven’t run my marathon and I am starting to think the long run is overrated. Maybe I’ll kick myself for saying that but I am really drinking this Hansons Kool Aid. I love the training so much. You do a lot of 10+ milers each week and that’s really what it’s all about. You are MY hero, lady!

  13. Jess@Run Pink! March 1, 2016 / 5:28 am

    You really impress me woman!!! All those miles and some tough miles too. I enjoyed reading your thoughts because I have similar thoughts especially on those runs that take EVERYTHING to get you going. I recently had an awesome long run that reminded me why I love running…sunny, cool, and seamless. I’m still flabbergasted as to how you run all those miles, fit in core work, strength, AND pole?!?? I’m doing good to squeeze in my running workouts and all of mine won’t get done unless I’m up by 4:45 am every morning. Thank you pharmacy career and family life…I’m mom. Who else is going to cook dinner and clean house?!? Ha!!!

    • allisonfiorini March 2, 2016 / 7:48 am

      You have the hardest job of all – mom!! You are awesome yourself, lady – don’t forget it!! I love those runs. Where everything just feels right and seems to make sense ❤

  14. Elaine March 1, 2016 / 11:43 am

    The feeling of being able to run forever – it’s awesome to have one of those runs as a reminder of why we do it in the first place. Sounds like you had an up and down week but you got it done no matter what! I had one of those days last week when I felt so tired and didn’t think I could finish a run but just told myself I can cut down the mileage if I needed to. Running without a sports bra? Don’t think I could do it – not for 14miles!..

    • allisonfiorini March 2, 2016 / 8:09 am

      LOL! You know, it wasn’t the worst thing ever! I thought I would be chafed like crazy but it was actually minimal. However, after losing a few lbs I feel like I lost most of my boobs. It’s like I start eating healthy and my boobs are like, “I VOLUNTEER AS TRIBUTE!”

      • Elaine March 2, 2016 / 9:47 am

        Oh my gosh, same here! Haha, they did surrender themselves and to think of it, maybe I could get away without a sports bra.

  15. Amy Lauren March 1, 2016 / 12:38 pm

    You had a great week of training and I’m glad you had SOME good outdoor runs despite the weather. Plus you have pole which is great indoor cross training too. I read on Half Fanatics where someone put together an emergency kit for races and kept it in their car with things like spare throwaway gloves, spare socks, flip flops, etc. I guess if you’re running a lot and work, commute, and live out of your car, it’s really not a bad idea to have spares of some things. Love following your training and seeing how you’re modifying Hansons to fit you.

    • allisonfiorini March 2, 2016 / 8:09 am

      Thank you Amy! OMG I need an emergency kit in my car. That sounds like a fabulous idea! In the weeks where my mileage is really up there, I feel like I do live out of my car!! I must do this!

Leave a Reply

