Foodie Fridays: Almond Sweet Potato Flatbreads

imageLast year, I was hung up on a paleo wrap recipe that I would make and use for lunch – well, really for any meal but I’d bring them to work for lunch. Honestly, they tasted great no matter when I ate them but they worked best if I could quickly heat them up in a skillet (just for about a minute) before using them. Otherwise, they would fall apart a little. I didn’t mind and would just eat them with a fork.

This school year, I wanted a wrap but I wanted it to be a bit lower maintenance. The other ones didn’t take too long to make but they required some attention as each one needed to be cooked kind of like a pancake or a crepe, where you flip them halfway through and have to keep your eye on it. I found this flatbread recipe on Pinterest and it met a lot of my requirements: paleo, simple and fun ingredients, super easy, lots of flexibility to modify and change it up with whatever you have on hand.

As usual, I modified the original recipe and added some spices to fit my taste buds. You could switch up the spices, or even chop up some fresh herbs to go in the crust of these depending on what you use them for. I’d guess that you could also sub pumpkin, banana, butternut squash, or maybe even some cooked and mashed apples for the sweet potato. I haven’t tried (yet), but I can’t see why it wouldn’t work.

Here’s the base recipe that I like, and what I made almost every single week since coming across it to keep in my fridge. They taste great with pretty much anything – I topped it with a paleo chicken salad, I’ve spread almond butter, cut up banana and a drizzle of honey on them. I’ve filled them with an egg scramble for a breakfast wrap. I had some leftover marscarpone cheese the other day and warmed up a wrap and slapped that goodness on top. OH EM GEE.

Paleo Almond Sweet Potato Flatbreads
Makes 6 Wraps

Ingredients

  • 1.5 cups almond meal
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1/2 cup mashed, cooked sweet potato
  •  1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon spice of choice (I use turmeric, mainly because I like the color and the anti-inflammatory properties, but you could do anything. Cinnamon for a sweet flatbread, perhaps? Paprika, cayenne, garlic powder, cinnamon, curry powder? Possibilities are endless!)

Method

  1. In a large bowl combine the almond meal, spices and sweet potato. Mix with a fork until well combined.
  2. Add egg white and mix until dough forms. The dough will seem like it’s a little too wet, but don’t panic.
  3. Divide dough into 6 pieces.
  4. Place one section of dough between 2 pieces of parchment paper and flatten with hand (or rolling pin) into a 1/4 inch thick circle.
  5. Transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and repeat with remaining dough.
  6. Bake at 375 degrees for 10 minutes.
  7. Top as desired.

Enjoy!

image image image image

What do you eat for lunch? Do you do meal prep ahead of time, or just wing it?

13 thoughts on “Foodie Fridays: Almond Sweet Potato Flatbreads

  1. Shawna February 26, 2016 / 9:07 am

    i haven’t gotten into almond flour yet but i just started using coconut flour and i’m a fan! i’ve gone completely gluten free (i was like 90% before) in hopes it helps with my stomach issues and so far, so good…so i’ll have to try something like this sometime. love sweet potato anything. i do meal prep sometimes, ie, make hard-boiled eggs and some tupperware salad bases to bring to work…but that’s about it. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini February 26, 2016 / 9:51 am

      I switched to a “Paleo-ish” diet becuse of my stomach. It helps SO MUCH. I have such a sensitive stomach and gluten seems to bother it. However, since going Paleo it actually seems like I can tolerate it in small doses! Since I’ve been trying these meal delivery services, they often have wheat products included as a side dish. I can eat them in moderation! This is huge. As for the almond flour, you will love it. I also LOVE coconut flour! If you are not sold on trying almond flour yet, here is the wrap I used to make with coconut flour: http://www.paleonewbie.com/paleo-gluten-free-tortillas-recipe/ –> it’s SO good, but I like the new one because of the addition of sweet potatoes 🙂 Speaking of hard boiled eggs, my next food prep is going to include a Paleo egg salad with homeade Paleo mayo. I am going away for work next week, but I am going to make it the following week. If it comes out good, then I will totally post that recipe in a few weeks!

      • Shawna February 26, 2016 / 12:21 pm

        sounds like we eat very similarly (not surprised by this!). 🙂

  2. suzysuzyheather February 26, 2016 / 10:26 am

    The only way I eat salads are if they’re rolled up inside of a tortilla. Would these hold a salad? I don’t think I could handle it if it fell apart when I ate it. I’m a 2 year-old sometimes.

    • allisonfiorini February 26, 2016 / 10:30 am

      It might fall apart. I was able to get chicken salad in one and I wrapped it up, but it was a bit of a process. That’s the problem with this Paleo BS – wraps are not the same for sure. But I think the taste is far superior than eating a flour tortilla! Plus you can add your own flavors!

      • suzysuzyheather February 26, 2016 / 10:37 am

        Okay, well I should at least try it. I’ll see if I can find some almond flour somewhere today.

      • allisonfiorini February 26, 2016 / 10:38 am

        Let me know your thoughts! Plus I can eat that before running and not have to poop my pants. Winning.

  3. Hollie February 26, 2016 / 12:01 pm

    These look interesting and I was actually wondering if they would hold a salad too.

    • allisonfiorini February 26, 2016 / 12:03 pm

      Try it and let me know! Actually I have one for lunch today with my salad – i was going to tear it up and use it like croutons…Maybe I will try to make a salad wrap out of it 😉

  4. sarahdudek80 February 28, 2016 / 10:27 pm

    I love this! I don’t eat a lot of breads and grains and try to add some in for my longer runs during marathon training, only time you will see me eating bagels. I love the idea of making these to fuel my longer runs. Yum!

    • allisonfiorini February 29, 2016 / 1:36 pm

      Oooo let me know how it works out! You know, I should make a more bland version and try that too. Bland for me because my stomach hates on me. I’d probably omit the turmeric. Maybe I would try adding in some protein powder though! That might be interesting. Although I have yet to find a good protein powder I love.

Leave a Reply

