Foodie Fridays: Paleo Shepherd’s Pie

This has become a staple in my weeknight meal rotation, or I’ll even make this and serve it up for lunch during the week because it travels well and reheats nicely! In the winter and when I am really in my higher mileage weeks of training, I need something hearty for lunch. I also try to pick foods that are easy on my stomach. My husband also really enjoys this dish, even though it’s the “Paleo” version of this popular comfort food.

This recipe is adapted from the Paleo Newbie – I love her concepts, but usually I tweak the recipes a tiny bit to suit my taste buds. Feel free to do the same!

Paleo Shepherd’s Pie
Serves 4

Ingredients

Meat & Veggies Filling
    • 1 onion, diced
    • 2 large carrots, diced
    • 2 celery stalks, diced
    • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
    • 1 tsp chopped fresh thyme
    • 1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary
    • 1/2 tsp salt
    • 1 tsp pepper
    • 1 lb grass-fed ground turkey (or beef, but I really like this with turkey)
    • 3/4 cup of beef broth
    • 2 tbs tomato paste
    • 2 tbs of olive oil
Potato Topping
  • 2 large (or 3 medium) sweet potatoes or yams
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/8 to 1/4 tsp cayenne (adjust to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp fresh rosemary
  • 1/4 cup + 1 tablespoon full fat coconut milk

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Peel and cut potatoes into chunks and boil in salted water about 20 minutes until tender. Alternately, you could bake them in the oven until soft (I usually do this because I make a bunch of sweet potatoes to have on hand each week).
  3. Sauté chopped onion, celery and carrots in a skillet over medium-high heat about 10 minutes with 2 tbs of olive oil.
  4. Add the garlic, thyme, rosemary, salt and pepper and cook for about 30 seconds, or until fragrant.
  5. Add the ground turkey (or beef) to the sautéed veggies, along with the meat seasonings and garlic; pan fry until beef is cooked through.
  6. Add the tomato paste, and stir in the beef broth. Reduce heat to low.
  7. Simmer together about 10 minutes – keep mixture moist by adding a little more broth if necessary.
  8. While the meat is cooking, in a medium saucepan or mixing bowl, mash cooked potatoes and add the coconut milk – you want the potatoes creamy but still stiff so they hold their shape, so add slowly.
  9. Stir in garlic powder, cayenne, and rosemary,  plus some salt and pepper to taste.
  10. Spoon meat mixture into in an oven-safe glass pie dish or casserole dish.
  11. Gently spread mashed potatoes over the meat filling.
  12. Bake at 350-degrees F for about 30 minutes, or until bubbling.
  13. Optional: after baking, place dish under oven broiler for 2-3 minutes to add a little brown crust (watch closely to avoid burning).
  14. Enjoy!

 

6 comments

    1. OMG Chicken pot pie is my FAVORITE. I tried to make a paleo version last year. It went pretty well, but now I can’t remember what my final recipe was. Maybe I’ll start that process again and post the results 🙂

  1. This sounds yummy! My English hubby would want me to point out that it isn’t really shepherd’s pie unless it has lamb. If it has beef its a cottage pie.
    He’s calling any version with turkey, “an abomination,” but don’t take it personally. That’s what he says about the lentil mushroom one I make, too. He doesn’t know what he’s missing!

    1. LOL! I have made this with beef before and I prefer it, but to keep it a bit leaner for lunch I go with turkey. If I make this for dinner, I usually use beef!!! And I do love lamb, and I know that does go in the traditional version. Maybe I’ll make it with lamb next 🙂

Leave a Reply

