Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 8

There isn’t much to say about this week or any of my workouts. I almost feel like I’m on autopilot right now!  On Sunday, my husband had a fever and that has me freaked out. He seems fine today so I hope that he was just stressed out and overtired, which is highly likely. He woke up with no fever this morning, so fingers crossed it was just a weird fluke.

I switched my long run and my tempo run to accommodate the Super Bowl Sunday 10K. I spent a lot of time at the pole studio and a lot of time running and there was a race in there this week, so I should have a lot to say, but I don’t!

Here’s the pace guide I’m using:

Marathon Goal –  3:05
Marathon Pace/Tempo Runs –  7:03/mile
Recovery Runs – 9:11/mile
Aerobic A/Easy – 8:36
Aerobic B/Easy – 8:01
Long Run: 7:42

Monday, 2/1: AM Strength Session + 8 Mile Easy Run+ Pole Fitness 

It was Day 1 of our StrongBody Streak, so I started the day off with about 25 minutes of body weight exercises for my legs, hips and abs. I used a workout that I recently pinned plus my usual apps on my phone.

It was a damp and dreary day and I was under dressed for this run, but I got it done. Since we’d hammered out 14 speedy miles the day before, I went towards the easier side of my easy run range, with an overall pace of 8:33. I still don’t know when you are supposed to use recovery pace, but if I felt like running slower than my easy range, I certainly would have. I’m only supposed to run 6 miles on Mondays, but Hansons says that you can add to the easy runs to add distance and I like the eight mile distance. I was absolutely freezing after this run was over because it was so gross out.

I headed to pole class and instead of working on our competition pieces, we worked on some new combos. One of the spins we learned was called a Trapped Iguana, and it was so pretty:

image

Tuesday, 2/2: Track Workout: 3 mile warm up, 3×1 mile repeats w/400 meter recoveries (10 miles) + Strength Training + Pole Fitness

Once again, I did my track workout on the treadmill (since we are still looking at snow covered tracks, at least as far as I know). Let me start by saying that I hate mile repeats. That being said, the workout went really well. I just dread them. I’d rather do last week’s workout twice through than go and do three mile repeats. I love 800s…1000s…even 1200s! I think the mile just seems so daunting to have to do over and over and over.

According to Hansons, my 5K goal pace for these should be 6:12. I set the treadmill for 9.6 (which is a 6:15) and would speed up drastically in the last quarter of each repeat to reinforce a fast finish. I was spot on each time. On the last repeat, I forgot to hit lap on my watch so I have no clue what my time was. I’d guess sub 6:10 since I cranked up the treadmill a little earlier on that repeat since it was my last one.

For the streak, I did a workout from an old Runner’s World that focuses on legs using free weights. Afterward, I did some planks, bridges, leg raises and hip drops as a quick ab workout before heading to the pole studio to meet my sister in law. I worked on my routine for most of the class…I promise to post some little Instagram clips of it soon when I get things cleaned up!

Wednesday, 2/3:  Strength/30 minute Walk + Pole Fitness

Headed to the gym before work and did a 30 minute strength session (mostly legs, hips and abs) and then walked on the treadmill for about a half hour just to get my legs moving. After work, more competition practice at the pole studio. It was a ski club night, but it was raining pretty badly so we postponed.

Thursday, 2/4:  Strength Training + 12 Mile Run 

I woke up and did about 25 minutes of strength training at home, and used my Nike Training Club app for the workouts. I love that app. I did a workout called Core Stability, and then added my usual planks, bridges, leg raises, hip drops and MYRTLs afterward.

Since I had a 10K on the schedule for Sunday and my long run was only supposed to be 10 miles this week (you only run long every other week on the Hansons plan, which I’m loving), I moved the long run to Thursday and planned to use Sunday’s 10K as my tempo. I drove to Bethlehem on my way home from work, parked at Monocasy Park and ran one of my old loops around Bethlehem. I ran on roads that I hadn’t been on in a long time, and it was such a great run. I kept the pace comfortable, 8:28. I felt really good so I ended up extending the run to 12 miles instead of 10. I felt like I could have gone forever, and it was really nice out.

Friday, 2/5: 10 Mile Recovery Run + Strength/Core+ Pole Fitness

It was windy, but a beautiful day for a run. I ran a new-ish loop in Saucon Valley (parts of it I ran a few weeks ago with my friend Chris G.) and kept the pace easy, 8:22. At night, I worked on my routine at pole class. I changed up a few parts of the routine and got a little frustrated because we had to do a “show and tell” for the rest of the girls in the class. I didn’t have much to “show” since I decided to make a few changes to what I had, and needed to clean it up a lot. For my pole warm up, I did my own core workout and MYRTLs.

Saturday, 2/6: 7 Mile Run + Pole Fitness + Core/MYRTLs

Got up for a super early run with Kathy and tried to keep the pace on the easy side (7:59 overall) since we were both running the 10K the next day. It was an early morning and pretty chilly, but uneventful besides that. It was great to get to run with Kathy – I haven’t been running with her as much because I’ve been running a bit later on the weekends.

I headed to the pole studio and took back to back classes so I could practice my competition piece and get the issues worked out from the day before. I followed that up with a core workout and my MYRTLs at home.

Sunday: 2/7: Tempo Run: Super Bowl Sunday 10K (3 mile warm up and cool down for 12.2 miles total), Core/MYRTLs

Tempo run that included a 10K race!! Recap coming soon.

After the race and the cool down, I went home and did some core and my MYRTLs. Not too much to say about that. I did lots of food prep for the week – it really helps me stay on track with my diet during the week!

Hansons Training Plan Thoughts/Rambling

Weeks 2-10 in the Hansons advanced plan are devoted to building speed. I do feel myself getting stronger each week, and I did eeek out a teensy PR in the 10K. However, my 10K time did not indicate a 3:05 marathon finish was in my future. There are many factors to consider other than Sunday’s race, but it is just another measure of fitness as this process continues.

On the flip side of that statement, since I was using Sunday’s race as my tempo run, the only pace I was supposed to run was marathon pace, and I ran faster than that. I’m not going to readjust my goal at this time since I have been hitting my paces in my workouts, but I will keep my 10K finish in the back of my mind as Boston gets closer.

Weeks 11-17 are devoted to building strength. There are still two weekly “speed” workouts (track and tempo), but the focus of the track workout will be quite different. I only have two more weeks of hammering out 5K pace for my track workouts before the workouts turn into some seriously crazy shit (I’m talking 2×3 mile repeats. Apparently, this is a thing). The good thing is, I’ll be running these workouts at about 10 seconds per mile off of marathon pace rather than 5K pace. So in THEORY, this should certainly be challenging but not out of the question. Don’t get me wrong – these scare the shit out of me for sure.

Overall, I love this training plan. Is it going to help me get to that 3:05 marathon range? I still don’t know for sure. But as I’ve said before, I feel more confident running. MUCH happier. I had ZERO anxiety before the 10K this past weekend. I was more worried about actually doing the warm up and cool down to make it a legitimate tempo run. I suck at warming up before races and usually blow off my cool downs!

Strength training!!! Who’s been streaking with me? How is it going? What else is new? 

Swim:  0 meters ♥ Bike: 0 miles ♥  Run: 59.2 miles

50 Replies to “Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 8”

  1. You’re such a tease…all this talk of a great 10k race an you won’t even at least tell us your time?? 😛

    The thought of doing ANY speed work at 5k pace makes me throw up in my mouth a little bit. So kudos to you. And I thin this is a tough time to try and reevaluate goals. There is still so much work to do. Honestly, I’m not sure my workout paces right now indicate that I’m capable of my goal time either, but I’ve decided I’m not going to let that scare me. People have done more with less, and simply feeling good about your training goes a long way. Confident runners run better. It’s science 😉

    Hope hubby feels better!!

    1. Hehe! I am having such a hard time getting on here this week with work so I am still writing that post. Hoping I can spend this afternoon doing that and catching up with everyone!!!

      I am not letting the 10K time scare me out of my goal. It was just another measurement I can use leading up to the race so I can assess how to go out on race day! It will help reinforce the fact that I need to NOT go out too fast because obviously I will need to run a smart race to make the goal a reality. And you are so right – confident runners DO run better!!!!

  2. I can kinda see the point of the long track workouts when training for a marathon (2 x 3 mile) and I am guessing those 3 miles will be at goal marathon pace not goal 5K pace, but I could never run 3 miles nonstop like that on a track for a workout! Wowsers. That would be one I would take to the roads or even treadmill.

    Congrats on the 10K and I wouldn’t worry about what it predicted. You don’t have to run a 3:05 Boston tomorrow, you have to do it in a few weeks after training and taper. And besides I think you are a stronger long distance runner with marathons and halfs more than a 10K that you tempoed :). I tempoed a 5K race on Saturday and it was a crummy time, I know people are probably seeing the results and wondering why I did so badly, but I was running completely untapered and saving some guts for my long run the next day. It was a minute slower than a 5K the week before… just keep going with the plan and you will be fine, you will rock out Boston :).

    1. Yes, the long track workouts are not at 5K pace – they are at marathon pace -10 seconds, so just a bit faster than what I will need on race day. I plan to shoot for 6:50-6:53 for those, since race pace is a 7:03. I also plan on doing them on the roads to simulate race day conditions. I think I’m going to like those workouts if they don’t kill me!!!

      I have yet to read about your 5K. I’ve been so busy at work this week and things have been hectic!! Crummy time or not, I bet you ran a good race that day! Smart to save those legs for the long run. I think running a long run the day after any race is so hard. You are awesome!!!!!

  3. An awesome week! Congrats on the teensy PR. At your speed, they’re not bound to be as drastic as for a beginning runner, anyway. 🙂 It means you are getting faster! The 3:05 time can still come.

  4. Great week! 2×3 mile repeats don’t sound like fun at all. Hooray for strength training! I need to do more of it on a regular basis for sure. Hopefully that will make me less prone to injury. Can’t wait to hear about your 10k!

  5. I always blow off cool-downs from races. Before getting hurt, I never warmed up or cooled down (which uh, is probably a good reason I got hurt). Warming up is simple, but then when it comes to the cool down it’s like “fuck, I just want to be done and go drink beer/get coffee/get warm [at least at this time of year]” and to spend 10-15 minutes MORE running is… well, awful.

  6. This is great! It sounds like you just rocked your workouts (and that race) all week. I also tend to skimp on my warm ups and cool downs at races. I always worry that the extra mileage is going to suddenly make me unable to race well. I don’t know. I’m weird about stuff. Can’t wait to hear your race recap!

    1. That’s what I always think! Like those extra miles are going to be the difference between a great race and a terrible one. But I have to say…I went slow for the warm up and I think it actually helped me!

  7. As soon as I hit “post” I remembered that I forgot to include two arm workouts I did as part of your challenge 😦 I was able to squeeze in 4 out of 7 days and am working on making it 7/7 the week 🙂 (can we keep that group forever?)

    Great week and between you and Colby, Hanson’s Method sounds absolutely awful I wanna try it. ❤

  8. If I run another marathon I plan to do long track workouts and keep up with it. Right now I would say 6X1 mile is a long workout (in my personal terms) but it’s one of my favorites. I think it’s important to maintain speed, especially with not doing as long of long runs.

  9. You are a machine! I get tired just reading your recaps. 🙂 Does Hansons write plans for things other than the marathon distance? I will have to look into that… Your iguana pose is really pretty! My strength has been shitty this week. 😦 I lift 2xs per week (maybe 3 in the winter when weather is bad) but so far this week I have been running WAY too much… for various reasons. Mental reasons as well as my legs feel GOOD reasons. I have to make myself lift tomorrow. I just have to. Last night I dreamed I picked up at 30lb dumbbell and I dropped it right on the floor because it was too heavy.

    1. Thanks, Meg!!! Ugh, a machine that has been slacking on blogging though! I’ve been so busy at work lately. And yes, they do a half marathon plan too from what I understand! I want to try it!! Ugh I am with you with the lifting, the strength streak has helped but I don’t have a regular routine. It’s been forcing me to do SOMETHING each day, but I am inconsistent with what I am doing!

  10. It never ceases to amaze me how marathon pace is so difficult to hold these early weeks but then come race day, all the adrenalin and everything helps us hammer out 26 miles of them! You had a great week, and I’m looking forward to reading the race recap!

  11. Beast. Freaking. Mode. And you know how I feel about your pole pictures: STUNNING STRENGTH. If I didn’t totally dig you, I’d be way jelly. It’s a process and boy are you hitting it! I’m so proud of you!!! xoxoxo

  12. I suck at warming up and cooling down before races too! During my last 5k, my third mile was 15 seconds faster than my first, which is cool, but pretty much proves I don’t warm up as much as I should. It’s something I’m going to work on from now on!

    And good job getting a 10k PR. I wouldn’t worry about what time the 10k predicts in a marathon. Since Hanson’s works on the principle of accumulated fatigue, I don’t think you can expect to race your best times for shorter races because you’re worn down and tired– by design!

    1. You hit the nail on the head – the cumulative fatigue thing makes it hard to run a race and get an accurate measure of what you are capable of during this training process. The warming up and cooling down DEFINITELY helped as I was not sore the next day!

  13. Another solid week! 🙂 I wouldn’t be too scared of those strength runs, I’m sure you’re gonna nail those too. Can’t wait to read your 10k recap! I wouldn’t let it freak you out too much though if that time doesn’t predict a 3:05 marathon finish. I recently read a really awesome blog post about the accuracy of running time predictors that I think you should definitely read –> http://www.milestothetrials.com/2016/02/calculating-accuracy-of-running.html
    You know what your goal is, and only you know what your body is capable of. Screw the calculators. 😉

    1. Thank you so much for that article! What an awesome post. I never heard of that woman before and I really enjoyed reading about it and checking out her site! I am much like her – my short distances never really predict my long distance times! So cool to read about it from her perspective!

  14. A-M-A-Z-I-N-G training week! I’m curious as to what you do for recovery. With our streak + running, I’ve been feeling tired lately and don’t even run as much as you do. I think your 3:05 goal is within reach even if your 10K time didn’t indicate it plus you ran 3mi beforehand and like you said it was really just a tempo run for you. Looking forward to the recap.

    1. Finally getting 5 minutes to respond here! As for recovery…well, I try to stretch and foam roll once or twice per week. I should do more. On Wednesdays, I don’t run at all so I consider that some good down time! If it weren’t so cold out, I would take some ice baths post hard/long runs – right now, I wait a day and use Epsom salts when I start to feel sore and achy! The biggest things for me are getting enough sleep at night and staying on track with my diet and vitamins. I take a series of supplements for a calcium deficiency but also incorporate iron and vitamin B12. If I am eating well, I recover better!!

    1. Thank you!! I started doing pole at the beginning of July! I started doing inversions about two weeks after learning. I think my yoga background really helps when it comes to pole. A lot of the body awareness you need for yoga is needed for the pole stuff, so that really helps me!

Leave a Reply

