Foodie Friday: Spinach and Goat Cheese Stuffed Meatloaf

Maaaaaa! The meatloaf!!!

Bonus points if you can guess the movie. But seriously, meatloaf is the last thing I really ever thought I would be craving, let alone posting all over the Internet. I never ate it growing up, and something about the name always kind of grossed me out. It’s a loaf. Of meat. It just seems weird.

Apparently, my husband grew up eating meatloaf and has requested that I make it over our 10 years of marriage. I’ve tried many recipes, some which are great and others not so much. Even though this one is certainly NOT the most elaborate, this has quickly become a staple in our weekly meal rotations.

This is another recipe that I got inspiration for on Pinterest, but I’ve since made it my own. I was digging the concept but not crazy about the ingredients or the method used to execute the original recipe.

Once again, this isn’t quite Paleo, but more Paleo-ish due to the addition of the goat cheese. I love, love, LOVE goat cheese SO much. However, I realize not everyone feels the same love as I do, so feel free to experiment and try something else. Maybe some feta? Blue cheese? The possibilities are endless. Of course, if you have a meatloaf recipe that you love, you could always use that but adapt the idea of “stuffing” it.

Spinach and Goat Cheese Stuffed Meatloaf

Ingredients

  • 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, diced
  • 2lbs grass fed ground beef
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • handful of raw spinach
  • 4 oz of che’vre goat cheese
  • 1-2 teaspoons of fresh rosemary, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper
  • 2 T tomato paste
Method
  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Heat desired amount of oil in a skillet until shimmering. Add the chopped onion and cook until translucent, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic, salt, pepper, and rosemary and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Remove from heat and let cool slightly.
  3. Add add the meat and eggs to a large bowl. Add the onion and garlic mixture and combine well. The mixture will be slightly wet – this is fine!
  4. Throw down some plastic wrap on the counter and then roll out your meat on top of it. Try to flatten it out and create a rectangle (mine was a little long) and then add the spinach and goat cheese to the middle.
  5. Using one side of the plastic wrap flap one side into the middle, and then do the same to the other, so they create a roll.
  6. Dress up the top with your tomato paste.
  7. Cook about 45-50 minutes. I find that 50 minutes is a little too much, but it all depends on your oven.
  8. Cut into slices and ENJOY!

 

21 Replies to “Foodie Friday: Spinach and Goat Cheese Stuffed Meatloaf”

    1. I kept forgetting to take pictures but it is such a pretty meatloaf when you cut into it! I ate a leftover piece last night that I heated in the microwave and it just didn’t look as pretty as it did when it came out of the oven Tuesday night so I didn’t take a picture. It is such a good recipe. Make sure you really saute and soften those onions though, they don’t really cook too much once it goes in the oven!!!

  1. That sounds really good! I used to make meatloaf a lot (in the crock pot, actually!), but then I started dating a vegetarian, so I haven’t made it recently. I kind of miss it. The goat cheese is great idea to add a little flavor to a dish that can easily become too bland.

    1. LOL! I am finally getting to read these now, haha! Mmmmm Mozzarella would be great. Or feta? I like spinach and feta together! Honestly, I’ve never met a cheese that I don’t like so I would say sub whatever he likes!!!

      1. No, we rescued an old 1950s stove. We got the stove top to work, but haven’t figured out how to get the oven to work. The stove is so cool that despite its drawbacks, we love it and want to keep it.

Leave a Reply

