Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 7

This week I paid my dues to the good old mill of dread. I am sorry to say that three of my six runs were on that torture device. I don’t mind track workouts on the ‘mill, but I don’t like doing tempos and easy runs on it. I used Hollie’s trick of increasing my pace every five minutes to get through my Friday run. By Friday, I needed a distraction and was soooo over the treadmill so that helped pass the time.

In the pole dancing world, I mentioned that I signed up for a pole competition. I’m choreographing a routine to Bieber ft. Skrillex, Where Are Ü Now, and I have about two minutes of the routine done. I still can’t actually do everything that I’ve added, but I’ll get there.

And in other news, my car died 😦 I had a 2007 Toyota Corolla. We got it in 2008, and it’s definitely seen better days. I had plans to run it into the ground, and I finally did. It had 150,000 miles on it – which actually doesn’t seem like a lot for a Toyota, so I’m really disappointed. However, in those 150K, we never had any major repairs on it. There were definitely your “maintenance” repairs, like brakes, spark plugs, belts, etc. It was the car that I learned to drive stick on, so we put not just one but TWO new clutches in it (hey, it took me awhile to get the hang of it). Believe me, it was beat up and looked like it was time for a new car, but I just loved my car. Here’s the straw that broke the camel’s back:

image

Basically that thing goes into the motor and it destroyed one of the cylinder heads. Seeing as my car is really only worth about $2500 right now and a cylinder head is a major repair, it really isn’t worth fixing it.

So for the next few days, I get to cruise around in my husbands HUGE truck, which looks pretty funny. It’s time to car shop (ugh!) and I have no idea where to start. Maybe another Corolla, maybe a Subaru…my main requirement is that it is stick shift and something that isn’t enormous. Any suggestions?

Back to Hansons and training…I am in LOVE LOVE LOVE with my new Garmin, the Forerunner 235.

image

I know I shared that before. But seriously, this thing is badass. I am still learning about it but plan to have a review out soon. It is really an awesome piece of technology and I can already tell you that I HIGHLY recommend it.

Here’s the pace guide I’m using:

Marathon Goal –  3:05
Marathon Pace/Tempo Runs –  7:03/mile
Recovery Runs – 9:11/mile
Aerobic A/Easy – 8:36
Aerobic B/Easy – 8:01
Long Run: 7:42

Monday, 1/25: 7 Mile Easy Run+ Pole Fitness

We had a snow day from the blizzard, and the roads were actually kind of icy. I spent the day trying some recipes:

image

When it warmed up and thawed the roads I headed out for a few easy miles. I kept it on the slower end of my easy zone since I went a little harder on my long run the day before. Overall pace, 8:27.

I did my MYRTLs and core, and headed to pole class at night. We worked mostly on some new combos but we learned a really fun way to get on the pole from a handstand.

Tuesday, 1/26: Track Workout: 2.25 mile warm up, Ladder Intervals: 400, 800, 1200, 1600, 1200, 800, 400 (10 miles) + Pole Fitness

We had another snow day, which was a wonderful surprise! I headed to the gym for my track workout since all of our tracks are covered with three feet of snow. This was the first workout where I felt strong and comfortable in my intervals. I started at the slower end of my range, using 9.6-9.7 mph as the treadmill setting (6:15-6:10 pace) and worked myself up to 10 mph (6 minute pace). I really like my intervals to all be around 6 minute pace, but it’s been taking me some time to build my speed back up to that. This was the first week that I didn’t feel like I was really working hard for it. The other problem is I’m scared I’m going to go flying off of the treadmill.

I headed to pole immediately after and worked on my routine. I love the direction it’s going but I have a lot of work to do and really need to practice what I have choreographed. I have a little over two minutes prepared (the song is just over four minutes) and the moves I’ve already added are pretty ambitious.

My sister in law gave me one of her famous manicures that afternoon…

image

I’m obsessed!! She did that freehand!!

Wednesday, 1/27:  Core/MYRTLs/Yoga + Skiing

We had a two hour delay, and I had a “rest” day from running on the schedule. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to swim, set up my bike trainer, or just spend some time on my yoga mat. My body was feeling pretty tired and I knew I was going skiing that night so I opted for the yoga mat. I did about an hour of MYRTLs, core, yoga, and foam rolling. It felt great.

After work, I headed up to the mountain with some of my fellow teachers for ski club. I’m on the right in the plaid, bundled up to high heaven. It wasn’t even that cold but I had so many layers on – I get so cold out there!

image

image

We had such a pretty sunset that night, too:

image

Photo credit goes to Missy – my hands were too cold to take any pictures but she got some great ones! We skied for four hours that night without taking a break, and the mountain had a “Skier Appreciation Week” scavenger hunt. You had to visit certain ski patrol check points on the mountain and get a special ticket all checked off. If you did that, you got a free voucher for a lift ticket! Those things are like $70, and we were skiing anyway. Winning.

Another friend of ours, Sam, showed up later that night and we got to ski a few runs with him. Additionally, a former student of mine that used to come out on ski club nights but graduated in 2012 met us up at the mountain. I don’t stay in touch with many, but I hear from him every winter and we usually get out skiing at least once. He’s an awesome skier so we always have a good time shredding. It was so great to see him and get in a good night of skiing with the group! So much fun, and such a good workout.

Thursday, 1/28: Core/MYRTLs + 12 Mile Tempo Run w/7 Miles @ Goal Marathon Pace + Pole Fitness 

Well, they can’t all be awesome tempo runs, right? This run kind of sucked but not in the way that my legs felt poor – they felt great, and ready to rip. My stomach was a whole different story. I don’t know if I was dehydrated, or what the deal was. I did this run on the treadmill because I didn’t know where I could do a 12 mile run with mild terrain for a tempo run. I decided for next week, I don’t care if I’m running up Mt. Everest to do it – outside is better.

Anyway, I warmed up for 3 miles and set the treadmill to marathon pace. I cranked out 7 miles but had to run to the bathroom in the middle. I had the worst stomach cramping for the entire run. I was sweating pretty badly, so I almost wonder if I was dehydrated. I cooled down for two miles and felt really rough after. Last week’s tempo run was faster since I was outside and could run on effort, but I felt totally fine after it was done. I ate the exact same thing this week as I did last week. I don’t know what was up.

The good thing is, the last time I did a tempo on the treadmill was the beginning of the month, when I was coming back from my cold. I could barely hold a 7:24 pace that day (slower than marathon pace) and just did what I could. Yesterday, I set the treadmill for 8.5 (7:03 pace) and my legs and lungs felt good. If only my stomach would have gotten the memo that it was tempo run day.

I went to pole to work on my routine after the run, and while I got some things done, I was still feeling a little nauseous and crampy so it wasn’t most productive class. It was still fun to go and mess around.

Friday, 1/29: 7 Mile Recovery Run + Pole Fitness 

Another treadmill run, ugh! I run in the morning on Fridays so I can go to pole class right after work. My road is a main road and with the blizzard last weekend, there is virtually no shoulder to run on. It’s also got sections where the snow melted and froze overnight, and it was below freezing (26 degrees) so I headed to the gym and cranked out my run while watching old episodes of The Office. I think I took that 70 degree December weather for granted when we had it.

At pole class, I continued working on my routine, but I did learn a new move called a Pegasus! I’ve been trying to get that one for awhile but I’d been having a hard time balancing in it. Doesn’t really take the prettiest picture (don’t mind the look of sheer torture on my face), but I had to work for this one:

image

image
Saturday, 1/30: 6 Mile Run + Pole Fitness

I met up with a friend, Brooke, to run easy and didn’t check my training plan before – I was supposed to run 8, but instead ran 6. I did a few extra miles on my easy runs earlier in the week so I wasn’t too upset about it. I felt really good running, but that was the morning my car decided to quit on me so I was pretty distracted.

My sister in law drove me to pole class and we worked on our routines. I was still pretty distracted from the whole car ordeal, so not a whole lot got accomplished.

Sunday: 1/31: 14 Mile Long Run 

Met up with my fast friends, Megan and Cassie, for my long run. Megan has a marathon PR of 2:47, and Cassie can run circles around me (she is training for an Ironman right now) so I hanging on for dear life. We cranked out 14 at a 7:20 pace on the hills of Bethlehem! I know it’s faster than my designated long run pace, but I felt awesome. It was so much fun, and I was able to talk the whole time. I hope this progress continues, because I like the way my legs feel using this training plan.

image

As for the training plan, it’s very different and I am LOVING it. In terms of volume, I’m pretty close to what I was doing seven weeks into my plan over the summer. The main differences are that it’s very structured, there’s a lot more speed work, and the long run is every other weekend. Also, I’m only doing 14 miles while others training for Boston are in the 18 mile range. But oddly enough, I’m not concerned. I’m really pleased with how my legs are responding, and it’s a huge confidence booster. I feel good running. Like this past weekend, cranking out 14 fast miles was fun again- not just because of the company, but because it wasn’t a struggle.

TREADMILLS!!! Love ’em or hate ’em? Hater right here!!!

Swim:  0 meters ♥ Bike: 0 miles ♥  Run: 54 miles

65 Replies to “Boston Marathon Training: Hansons, Week 7”

  1. That’s such a bummer about your car! I previously had a mini cooper which I loved and had hoped to run into the ground, but then I had my daughter. Let me assure you that a mini cooper is NOT a family friendly car. So now I drive a ford focus which is pretty nice. I still miss the mini. Maybe I can get another one when I retire someday. Good luck with the car shopping!
    Great week of training! I give you a lot of credit for sticking out those runs on the mill. I’ve been slacking this week because there is no where to run with all of the snow and I didn’t feel up to mentally dealing with the “old mill of dread.” They actually cancelled school for the entire week here. I’m hoping the sidewalks clear up with these warmer temps. I’m glad that you are loving the training plan as well as the watch. I’m very interested in trying out both for myself. 🙂

    1. Thank you!! You should definitely try out both the watch and the training plan 🙂 Some of the schools were canceled for a whole week here – but not mine! It was the ones that were in areas where they had nowhere to put the snow. I liked having a few days off for sure!

  2. I’m surprised your Toyota only made it to 150K. What a bummer. We are in the market for a second car right now too and there are just to many options. It freaks me out a bit. Snow days are the best!

    1. I know, I am sooo bummed. I love my little “Yotarolla” as I so affectionately called it!! Maybe I’ll go for another one. But, I found a pre owned Subaru Impreza hatchback that’s stick shift that I’m eyeing up…

  3. So sorry about your car! 150k on a Toyota should be nothing. Major bummer. I too am a fan of small, stick shift cars. My next car is probably going to be a Subaru BRZ. It is a sporty 2-door coupe that is a co-build with Scion (so basically Toyota; the Scion version is the FR-S). But first my sweet little ’02 Pontiac Sunfire needs to hold it together for a couple more years!

    Great week of training, of course :). I’m glad to hear that you are liking Hansons. I don’t know that I’ll ever be able to handle their marathon plan, but I’d really like to pick up their half marathon book.

  4. Good luck with finding a new car. I recently got one after running my 01 Honda Accord into the ground (it needed a new transmission that would cost more than the car was worth to replace). I got a ’13 Mazda 3 Hatchback and love it. If you haven’t considered a hatchback, they are pretty fun when grocery shopping and I think it would be good for a race too, traveling and things like that.

    Your training looks great this week! You definitely made the most of the treadmill time and you got some good cross training in at pole fitness. I bet the Hansons plan will work great for you too.

    1. I remember when you bought your car! And, I am very interested in a hatchback as well. I would love that. I found a Subaru Impreza hatchback that is stick shift, so I want to go check that out!!!

  5. I’m super sorry about your car… I’m actually in the exact same boat! Some dickwad stole my car this weekend, so I’m carless too. It was old, but well taken care of, so seeing it go is a bummer. Especially since I had put some money into it over the last year. 😦

    I hope you’re able to find a car that works for you soon! I’m impressed at your treadmill runs. I think I would die of boredom!

      1. I know, right? UGH. I think if it happens to show up, I’ll write a post about the ordeal because it’s pretty crazy. If not, I don’t think I’ll be able to handle it emotionally to relive it, ha ha.

      2. I’ve talked to, like, four people in the last 24 hours who have had their car stolen! I guess it’s a big problem here! People just… steal cars. I don’t understand it!

      3. That is so insane. I am so terrible about leaving my keys laying around when I go for a run. Yesterday, I was so paranoid that I carried them with me! Now I need a better system!

  6. Oh no! I’m sorry about your car. Mine is getting up there in mileage and age too… I just don’t want to have to deal with another car salesman. I have a Kia Soul (one of those boxy cars) and it has never had any repairs besides just routine maintenance. Best car ever.

    I’m so glad you love the Hanson’s plan so much. One day I’ll give that one a try. The lack of long runs sounds scary, but all the speed work must make a huge difference. Also, you have some seriously speedy friends.

    1. OMG I am so dreading dealing with a car salesman. UGH. I remember when I bought my Corolla. Somehow they thought they could bargain with me based on how much I wanted my monthly payments to be. No, I want to bargain with you based on the OVERALL cost of the car. I actually told them if they say monthly payment one more time, I’m out. I can’t stand car salespeople!!

      1. When I bought my car, I had my mom with me… and she is crazy good at dealing with salesmen. She got the car down to a crazy low price. You should borrow her, she’s incredible at it. lol

  7. I don’t know anything about cars! (I haven’t owned one in 5+ years…) I bought a car about six-ish years ago and then sold it a year later when I moved to New York…the move here certainly wasn’t planned! Luckily my parents had bought the same car about a month earlier, so I didn’t have to deal with car salesmen very much. That would be my least favorite part about picking a new car. Except maybe paying for it, ha.

    I haaaaaaaaaate the treadmill. I belonged to a gym for a little bit and would run there after work or if the ground was too icy, but I usually ended up speeding the pace up just to get the run over with, which I guess isn’t the best if you’re following a training plan. It takes a lot to get me off the streets, so no treadmills for me! I see the perk for people who have kids, run super early, run when it might not be safe to run, snowstorms, etc.

  8. It’s impressive how many miles you logged despite the weather. I’m glad your training is still going well.

    Ugh that stinks about you car. I know when my previous car started going, the expenses just got to expensive that it was no longer worth it to fix it.

    1. That’s where we are. My husband is really good with cars. He probably could do this himself, it would just take a long time – but even with him doing it himself it will cost over $1000. The car is worth about $2500, so when is it considered an unreliable car? Probably now. LOL!

  9. Bummer about your car! We have a standard transmission 2008 Civic that we love, but we crossed the 100k mile mark this past year, which means its days are probably numbered. We’re also planning to run it into the ground, because we’re cheap. Looks like you still had a great week of training though. I don’t share your hate of the ‘mill… I actually kind of love it. I know, that makes me weird.

    1. Hey – whatever gets the job done! If you are a fan of the ‘mill, get it!!! Ugh, we are cheap with cars too. My Corolla is beat up, and is always the saddest looking car in any parking lot. But I just don’t care! I love it 😦 I better love it’s replacement because it will be around for many many years!

  10. I suppose I’m neutral…I’d prefer to run outside, but until I can run with the stroller, the treadmill is my only option most of the time. I love my Subaru. (I’m on my 3rd) I currently have 130k miles on it…and hope it lasts another couple years. My last had 175k miles, but like yours needed a costly repair that wasn’t worth it!

    1. Interesting – we are looking at a Subaru tomorrow. My husband isn’t a huge fan, but my parents, brother, and friends all have them and love them. I love the awd and the one I found has a hatchback AND it’s stick!! Fingers crossed…I dread this process!

  11. HOLYYYY. I cannot believe you can get up to the 10mph range on the treadmill. I could probably do 800m at 9.5, but that’s it. You’re definitely stronger and faster than I am. I need, really really need to work on my speed. STILL haven’t got the Hanson’s book yet but our mailboxes got broken into so I have to go to the post office to check. Oh and I really need new shoes. I usually run in Asics Nimbus, and I’m going to try Brooks Pure Flow.

    1. OMG DUDE STAHHP – You are underestimating yourself. You are WAY faster. You cranked out a bunch of sub-3 marathon pace miles on a SECOND run of the day, if I’m recalling correctly. Crank that biatch up the next time you are on that treadmill – I was hanging on to that 9.6 the past few weeks but was confident to crank it higher this past week. I only held the 10.0 for a 400. And WTF is Amazon waiting for!! You need your book!!!!!!!!! I’m getting angry at how long it’s taking them. For real, I think you would really like this training. I’m really into it.

      I need new shoes too!!! They discontinued my Brooks Pure Connect. I tried the Pure Cadence – didn’t love them. My next pair is also going to be the Flow!!! Twinnnnsssss!

  12. I was forced onto the treadmill last week as well. I do not like the treadmill. I don’t trust it. I blame the treadmill for all of my paces being VERY wonky this week! I don’t even know what certain paces feel like anymore due to one week on the treadmill! But I digress. Yes the only way the treadmill is “fun” is if you mess around with the speed, but since not every run is supposed to be speedwork, that makes things difficult. I am so thankful our streets are clear and I can run outside now!

    I am sorry your car died! I totally understand how cars can become not our HOMES, but very “homey” and sentimental to us. I too am going to run my Chevy Cobalt into the ground. It’s been paid for for years, so I am enjoying not having a car payment! I am nearing 100,000 miles! It is so exciting! I hope you get a car you like.

    I have a feeling you will end up loving your new car as much as your new Garmin!! 🙂

    Post a video of your routine when you have it done!

    1. LOL – I was cracking up when I read what you wrote about cars being homey. No joke, in the winter when I’m working and training (particularly during the weeks where we have ski club with the kiddos), it looks like I live out of my car. I need so much crap on a daily basis that anyone who looks in my backseat would think I’m homeless. At any given time, I have stuff with me to run, ski, go to pole, swim, or even bike (I could probably lose the biking stuff), plus work clothing and tons of coffee cups. So in a way, my car is my home. Hahahaha!!!

      I agree with you on the treadmill. Not accurate. But probably better than nothing. I’m not sure though – I often wonder if it would be better to do a quality cross training workout, like a really good swim set instead. I think the treadmill has been the cause of injury for me in the past. I really try to limit my time on it. If I’m lucky, it will just be for my track wo this week!

  13. I most DEF prefer outside. Always. But I’m forced to get on the treadmill when my husband’s away. You guys have crazy snow (in the winter) and we have crazy heat (in the summer) that I’d rather run in, lol!
    That’s awesome how you have FASTER friends than you to challenge you! I wish I was fast 🙂 I know it’s relative

  14. That sucks about your car, but awesome training week!!!! I’m also treadmill hater although we’ve been bonding during this snow and storm were having at the moment!!

  15. You are rocking it with your training even if some of them had to be on the treadmill. Can’t say I love running on one, but it’s a necessary evil when kids are in the picture. I see you were consistent with your core/myrtls too!

  16. I love my treadmill! Honestly, if I didn’t have one I wouldn’t hardly be running since my husband is away so much. I loving having one at my house so I can run while the girls sleep at night.
    Bummer about your car but a new one is always so much fun! Good luck shopping!

  17. I’m kinda liking the treadmill this year……We have a Subaru Outback that we really like (113K miles and counting). They are super popular here – almost every second car is a Subaru because they are the cheapest AWDs that you can get. We have an automatic but I know a couple of people who have had stick versions of the older Outbacks, although one friend wasn’t happy with the new Outback – not enough engine. The Imprezas are popular too but a little small and underpowered. The Crosstrek might be a good compromise?

    1. I am actually looking at an Impreza Hatchback today! I do like the Crosstrek, too. My little Corolla was so tiny that I don’t know how much bigger I want to go. My parents have an Outback that they LOVE! Subarus are awesome. The one I am looking at today is stick shift and it’s a 2014 but only has 6K miles on it. My husband isn’t too excited about a Subaru (he’s just bummed in general that we need a new car!) but I’m really into the idea. I feel like that car would fit me. If I don’t get that, I’m thinking another Corolla. I really did love that car!

  18. I hate the treadmill, hate it. I must run differently on it because I always feel overly sore after using it. Nice job getting in 3 runs in the same week on one! I would have lost my mind! Sorry about your car- that sucks. I wish I could say I’ve had a car last that long but I think I’m on number 9. I think. Good luck car shopping! I actually find it kind of fun. 🙂

  19. oh man there are so many great things in this post! love the Garmin — mint green is one of my fave colors (the boyf just bought me a coat in that color for Christmas and i loooove it). the sunset is gorgeous, and jealous of your mountain time — i STILL haven’t snowboarded this year! considering going in Lake Placid when we’re up there for V-day weekend but we will see how that pans out. amazing job on your runs and the pole dancing –> always impressive, lady!

  20. Treadmills are the worst. I don’t know how you do it. I’ll go running in the snow before I step on a treadmill. Try going to Rose Garden or Trexler Park in Allentown, their trails are usually plowed few days after a storm.
    As far as the car goes, check out Mazda 3 or if you want / need bigger Mazda CX 5. It’s a small suv but it’s available with a stick! When my civic finally dies I’ll probably get one of them. Good luck!

    1. Thank you so much! I hardly ever go to the Rose Garden or Trexler Park, but I DEFINITELY should! Great idea!!! I am actually very interested in the Mazda 3! I see they have a hatchback option which I like. It’s on my list. I test drove an Impreza hatchback – I didn’t love it though. The search continues!!

  21. I’m sad & surprised your Toyota didn’t last longer! My mom just got rid of her 1999 Camry last year and it had over 200K miles on it (she now has a Toyota Rav4). My 2004 Corolla is still going strong and I definitely plan to drive it into the ground. Ironically, scrolling through the comments I saw you were going to look at an Impreza which is what I have my eye on for my next car. I really want the Forrester, but the Impreza seems more piratical price-wise. Can’t wait to see what you end up with next!

    1. You know, I had my HEART SET on this Impreza I drove yesterday. I was sure it was THE CAR. It was a 2014 Impreza Hatchback with 6,000 miles on it. The price was right, and it was a manual transmission like I wanted. But I drove it and I was so bummed that I didn’t like it! I think I’m just not used to the AWD. However, I am eyeing up those Crosstreks… LOL. I am all over the place with this search!

  22. Impressive week! I cannot come close to the volume you do, but was wondering about your rest between intervals during Tuesday’s work out. Did you do 400 meters like in previous weeks? And what does that translates to in terms of time? 2 minutes or so? Thanks.

    1. Thank you so much!!! I did do 400 m intervals in the workout. It was tough! I really liked the workout, though. I am really loving the Hansons plan and HIGHLY recommend! You said you don’t do the same type volume, but they have a beginner version of what I’m following that still incorporates all of the speed workouts I’m doing – they just have a longer building phase in the beginning before they begin. You should check it out.

      In terms of time, it was around 2-2:30. I usually walk/jog my recoveries, so I can really hammer out the interval. I worked with a coach last year who taught me that – if the focus of the workout is on the interval, keep it on the interval. Don’t be a hero on the recoveries, lol! I adopted that philosophy and it seems to really help. I did mile repeats this week and I did 400 recoveries, and I did a lot of walking on those recoveries 🙂 🙂 They were probably a little longer time wise 😉

  23. That manicure is to die for!!! TOO cute! 😍
    I’ve always driven a Subaru and find them soooo reliable and low maintenance 🙂 my whole family drives them!
    I’ve never had much access to treadmills so they still feel like a luxury to me! Having said that I do usually prefer running outside, although there is a lot to be said for zoning out with a good tv show while running hah!

  24. I’m so glad you love your Garmin 235! I love mine too.

    I don’t mind the treadmill at all. In fact, my old body does better if I do a run or two a week on it because it’s easier on me. I save certain TV shows to watch when on it (currently binging Shameless) and it helps. I also play with the speed if it’s an easy run. Still, I prefer outside.

    1. You know, I do feel less achy after treadmill runs. I agree with you there! I just wish I could figure out a way to not keep looking at the distance. I cover it up with a towel but STILL keep checking. I’m awful!

  25. Ah, you know me. Treadmill lover! Hope you are having a successful car shopping journey. Too bad it broke down. 😦
    I’m glad you are liking the Hansons plan. I’ve been obsessed with my HR now that I’ve got that Garmin like yours and I’ve come to the conclusion I’m doing my easy runs too fast/hard. That’s my focus now – taking it easy!

Leave a Reply

