Foodie Friday: Pumpkin Breakfast Custard

Another week of healthy eating down, and another recipe to share. I found this delicious creation on Pinterest when I was meal planning a few weeks ago and needed something new for breakfast. I made it last week for the first time, and again for breakfast this week. I’m a little obsessed.

It’s so weird that I like this recipe enough to share it, because I have a serious sweet tooth and this recipe is only mildly sweet. When I think of custard, I think of the delicious creamy stuff that Rita’s mixes in with their Gelatos, or a creamy dessert like a Panna Cotta. This recipe doesn’t promise any of that, but it does promise to be a satisfying breakfast. I needed something new that I could eat on the go, and I liked all of the ingredients so I gave it a shot.

But back to the sweet tooth thing: I often find that anything “paleo” or recipes that subscribe to a particular dietary label are never sweet enough, or flavorful enough. Or the texture sucks. I’ve tried so many recipes that promise to taste EXACTLY like [insert junk food here] that just don’t come close. And anytime I make some weird recipe like that, I most likely had to go on a scavenger hunt for some really strange (read: expensive) ingredients. I end up eating the whole batch of whatever it is just because I feel guilty about the time it took and money I spent.

Enter this recipe. It isn’t super sweet, but you could add maple syrup, honey or coconut sugar if you wanted to. I made it as is, and I’m keeping it as is. But the texture and the taste is really great, and it isn’t expensive to make. It also makes 8 servings, and it didn’t go bad over the week that I was eating it. I looked forward to it everyday. I adapted the version I found online and added a bit of salt and some vanilla extract. If adding sweetener, I would recommend starting with a quarter of a cup of maple syrup or honey. It won’t pile on the calories but it will give you that extra little sweetness if you need it. You may have to extend the baking time slightly if you add in the sweetener.

custard
Photo Credit : Louisiana Bride (mine didn’t look as pretty as hers, but still tasted great!)

Pumpkin Breakfast Custard
Adapted from the Louisiana Bride
Serves 8

Ingredients:
  • 15 oz can pumpkin puree
  • 13.5 oz can of full fat coconut milk
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts (your choice – I like pecans or walnuts)
Method
  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients except the nuts. Use an immersion blender and blend the mixture until well combined. If you don’t have an immersion blender you can put the ingredients a blender or a food processor. Alternately, you can place the ingredients in a large bowl and use a hand mixer or stand mixer and beat well.
  3. Place mixture in a 13×9 baking dish. Sprinkle the top with nuts and place in the oven for 30 minutes or until the custard is firm. Serve warm or chilled (I prefer chilled).

I would portion mine out in Tupperware containers and eat it with my coffee at work.

Enjoy! xoxo

On-the-go breakfast recipes/ideas…GO! What are your favs?

23 Replies to “Foodie Friday: Pumpkin Breakfast Custard”

    1. Super easy – I am making it again this weekend to eat for breakfast for the third week in a row! It’s portable and I can take my vitamins with it, which is big for me. I have to take a lot of vitamins for a calcium deficiency, but they make me sick in the morning.

  1. pumpkin anything gets me. i don’t have a big sweet tooth at all, actually — a little dark chocolate is about all i ever crave — but i love pumpkiny things! yum.

  2. This sounds delish and easy. Win. I love anything pumpkin. My go-to breakfast is either an egg sandwich on a whole wheat English bagel or protein smoothie with greens. Sometimes both depending on how much I run. 😉 and the whole “this tastes just like…” Is always boloney in my humble opinion lol I’ve tried many a thing too…I would say the spaghetti squash tastes better than regular though anyway. I have a HUGE sweet tooth. This recipe I will try soon!! Have a great weekend!

    1. Yes, try it! But coming from another sweet tooth to another, this is not very sweet! I would advise adding about a quarter cup of some sort of sweetener if you are craving sweet. I like the creamy texture of this, and I think that’s from the full fat coconut milk. Even with that, this is still under 300 calories for breakfast. I usually do that and a Venti Misto with whole milk from Starbucks and I’m good until lunch!!

    1. That sounds fabulous! Over the snow days, I made a paleo sweet potato waffle recipe that was so good! I’m going to post it, I just want to tweak it a little. I love sweet potato anything!

  3. Mmm pumpkin. I made pumpkin chocolate chip muffins with my girls and have been mixing the leftover pumpkin in my oatmeal. However I love eggs for breakfast – I alternate between oatmeal and eggs but may have to try this recipe. May be good for a snack as well. Thanks for sharing.

  4. This actually sounds really yummy! I have been doing overnight oats for weekday breakfasts for ages now, so it would be nice to mix things up a bit. I like the idea of just cooking once for the whole week of breakfasts and getting it out of the way. I may have to experiment with putting some protein powder in it though, as I’m usually RAVENOUS in the morning, and if I don’t eat enough first thing, that lasts all day.

    1. It’s so good! I’ve eaten it for three weeks now and I’m still not sick of it. I’m even considering subbing mashed sweet potatoes for the pumpkin just to try another variation. Surprisingly, it keeps me full as is but let me know what you think of adding in some protein powder! I’m interested!

Leave a Reply

