Foodie Fridays: Chicken and Sweet Potato Peanut Soup

So now that it’s really game on for Boston training, it means my diet has to be on point. I don’t like to subscribe to labels but I definitely do fall more on the Paleo side of the spectrum when I’m trying to watch my weight. Higher in the protein and fat, lower in carbs. I like to spend a good portion of my Sunday meal prepping for the week. It makes it easy to stay on track. This week, I’m going to share a soup recipe with you. I made it on Sunday and had it for lunch all week long.

This soup was actually adapted from a recipe out of one of my Cooks Illustrated cookbooks called The Quick Recipe. The original is just Sweet Potato Peanut Soup – no chicken or any other additions. I loved it the way it was written and brought leftovers for lunch the next day when I made it initially, but I still felt like it needed something if it was going to be a meal. I love having something warm for lunch, so I thought about how I could boost the protein. I also swapped out some ingredients to make it Paleo-ish, but if you really want to make it Paleo you should swap out the peanut butter for almond butter. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Chicken and Sweet Potato Peanut Soup

  • 8 slices of bacon, diced
  • 2 large split chicken breasts, bone in and skin on
  • 1 medium onion, diced medium
  • 1 teaspoon of coconut sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of salt
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon of coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 4 cups of low sodium chicken broth
  • 5 medium sweet potatoes, quartered and sliced
  • 3 tablespoons of peanut butter
  • Plain Yogurt (I love the Siggis Skyr 4%, but plain Greek yogurt is great too! Or sour cream!)

Method

  1. In a skillet, cook the bacon. Remove from pan and drain on a paper towel. Reserve the bacon fat.
  2. Heat a large saucepan or dutch oven on medium high heat. Place chicken in, skin side down. Cook without moving until the skin is browned and the fat has rendered. Your chicken will still be mostly raw. Remove the chicken from the pan.
  3. Add the onion, coconut sugar, and salt and cook in the remaining chicken fat until the onions are soft and translucent, about 5 minutes. If you don’t have enough fat in the pan, add some of your reserved bacon fat or some butter.
  4. While the onions are cooking, remove the remaining skin from the chicken and discard.
  5. When the onions are done, add the garlic, coriander and Cayenne and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds.
  6. Add in the broth, sweet potoatoes, chicken (on the bone), peanut butter, and about 2 cups of water to cover everything.
  7. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Cook for 30-45 minutes, until the potatoes are soft and the chicken is cooked through.
  8. Remove chicken and set aside. Using and immersion blender or a regular blender (working in batches if using a regular blender), puree the soup.
  9. Shred the chicken and discard bones.
  10. To serve, place about 1/2 cup of chicken on the bottom of the bowl. Top with soup. Put a dollop of plain yogurt and sprinkle with bacon.
  11. Nom nom.

Are you a Paleo person? If not, what kind of diet works best for you?

 

22 Replies to “Foodie Fridays: Chicken and Sweet Potato Peanut Soup”

    1. Yes!! It’s really easy! I meant to take a picture of it but I’ve been eating it for lunch at work so by the time it makes it from my fridge to my work fridge to my work microwave, it looks ugly. But it tastes so good!

  1. I am a vegetarian, and have been my whole life. These days I actually end up more on the vegan side of things. I do like your recipe though. If I try it out, I’d have to make a few modifications. 😀

    1. Yes – skip the meat of course, and use olive oil to saute the veggies. You could always fry or bake some tofu to throw in for protein! I used to be a vegetarian and used to do a lot with tofu, but my skills are rusty now 🙂 Instead of a dollop of greek yogurt, you could use about a tablespoon of full fat coconut milk to add some creaminess!

  2. I think I would die on a paleo diet. If I don’t get (a lot of) carbs, I get cranky, lose energy, and feel like crap. I’m always fascinated how everyone’s body responds differently to particular diets. Some people feel way better eating low carb, and others people (like me) can’t deal with it.

    1. I like to call myself “Paleo-ish”. I try to make most of my day Paleo, and I’m more strict from Mon-Fri. But on Friday nights, I mow real pizza (with real crust!) and I make a non Paleo meal on Sunday night. I love to cook, so I need to have a day in there when I can make whatever I want! Next week, I am trying Blue Apron (had a Groupon), so several of my dinners will not be “Paleo”. But it does take my body time to adjust to a lower carb diet, and I eat a LOT of sweet potatoes. With the Paleo diet, sweet potatoes should be eaten in moderation, but they are a staple to me. Which is why I’m “paleo-ish”, lol!

  3. This sounds so yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

    I don’t have much success with named diets. I have celiac, so I use all my willpower to avoid gluten; it’s really hard for me to stick to a diet on top of the gluten free diet. But I do try to steer myself to good carbs (brown rice and the like) since I know I won’t cut them out completely.

    1. I know, I have a hard time cutting gluten out completely too. I don’t have celiac (although I often wonder if I should get checked for it!) but when I cut out gluten, my stomach feels SO much better!

  4. I’m an “everything in moderation” kind of girl, but I do try to focus on getting plenty of protein, lots of veggies, and cooking from scratch as much as possible. I love everything in this soup, will have to give it a try for sure. I batch cook on the weekend as well, this week doing lentil and butternut squash stew.

Leave a Reply

