What I’m Working Out to Wednesday – The Holiday Edition, Pt. 2!

Carol of the Bells
The Bird and the Bee

20131107-131103.jpgThe problem with this whole holiday edition thing is that I love so many different versions of Christmas songs. Traditional, alternative, indie, pop…I love it all. I’m naturally more drawn toย the alternative/indie genres because that’s what I prefer when it’s not the holidays.

Carol of the Bells is always a favorite of mine, and I honestly couldn’t decide which version to share with you. There are two completely opposite versions of the song and I love each one so much – especially when adding to a play list for running, racing or working out during the holiday season.

The Bird and the Bee makes a beautiful, almost eerie version of this song. For some reason, it makes me think of a cold, snowy, Christmas night. I love it.

However, if you are racing a local holiday race and need something to really get you pumped up, this sickย version by August Burns Red is a must have on your list. In fact, they have an entire holiday album (Sleddin’ Hill) that rocks hard. Literally. To be honest with you, I really enjoy every single song on their album. Maybe not the album you want playing during your cozy family Christmas party with Grandma, but definitely something to have on hand for a good holiday rager. Did you know this band is actually a Christian rock band?

Are you a fan of metal? Any obscure Christmas Albums out there that you enjoy?

24 thoughts on “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday – The Holiday Edition, Pt. 2!

  1. sarahdudek80 December 9, 2015 / 10:10 am

    I love Carol of the Bells and it is Rock’s favorite. Adding this to both of our lists. I can’t get enough of the holidays!

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:26 am

      I hope you enjoy it!!! Holiday music is the best!

  2. 50in50marathonquest December 9, 2015 / 10:11 am

    Not sure if it is obscure but I admit I love the we wish you a metal xmas…Lemmy singing run Rudolph, Alice Cooper Santa Claus, Dio…lot of the 80’s metal headliners!

  3. Lisa @ TechChick Adventures December 9, 2015 / 10:22 am

    That’s funny you picked that song! I had no idea what the name of it was, but every time I hear it I call it the “crazy Christmas song” because it’s so intense! LOL! I’m still a big fan of old school “A very special Christmas” – Run DMC, and all of that stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Amy Lauren December 9, 2015 / 10:55 am

    I added this to my spotify! I think my husband will really like August Burns Red even though he’s not a big fan of the traditional Christmas music. Thanks for sharing it, I am listening to it right now and you’re right, it would be good for a holiday race.

    I really like Yuletide Beat by Los Straitjackets (album you can find on Spotify). Good stuff.

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:28 am

      I hope he liked it!! I need to check out Los Straitjackets. That sounds like it might be something I would enjoy!

  5. suzysuzyheather December 9, 2015 / 10:56 am

    I never used to like metal until Jake (grade 10) got into it. He plays electric guitar and is obsessed with all genres of music and enjoys blaring metal to piss me off. Although, now it doesn’t piss me off anymore so the joke’s on him, the little turd! Love that kid though. I’ll come back and play these songs once everyone here is awake. I’ll send the link to Jake so he can hear it too.

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:28 am

      I hope he enjoyed it!!! I am not a huge metal fan myself but this album is so fun to run to!!

  6. Shawna December 9, 2015 / 12:13 pm

    not a metal fan. i love the Beach Boys’ Christmas song! and not gonna lie, N*Sync had a pretty good one, too.

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:29 am

      Ohhhhh N*Sync – now you are speaking my language!

  7. wanderwolf December 9, 2015 / 1:00 pm

    I’m so glad you introduced me to August Burns Red! I enjoyed listening to their Christmas album on my commute today.

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:30 am

      I am so glad you liked it!!! I’ve been running to that album all week. It got me through some terrible miles!!

  8. Megan @ Meg Go Run December 9, 2015 / 3:22 pm

    I love almost every version of Carol of the Bells. It’s such a beautiful piece! I have sung it in choirs before. It’s one of my favorite carols to sing!

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:30 am

      It reminds me of my days in high school chorus myself. I used to love to sing that one too!!!

  9. Alanna December 9, 2015 / 3:52 pm

    I love the August Burns Red version! I’ve never heard of them before.

  10. Single-Tracked Mind December 9, 2015 / 5:34 pm

    I’m a serious buzzkill. I kind of despise holiday music. Whoops ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:33 am

      LOL – then check out the August Burns Red version!! You might actually like that!!!

  11. Nora @ 2 Generations Running December 9, 2015 / 6:43 pm

    The Bird and Bee version is so pretty! I’m not really one to include holiday music in my running playlists though, they just don’t get me pumped up the way other music does ๐Ÿ™‚

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:33 am

      Enjoy! I can’t usually get pumped on holiday music for running either – but that August Burns Red album is doing the trick!

  12. Brittany December 10, 2015 / 11:11 am

    I’m not a metal fan, I just can’t. HAHA. I appreciate it for what it is…and then go back to my classic Christmas music. I do think the second version of this song would make me run faster though…as if I were being chased by a chainsaw.

    • allisonfiorini December 14, 2015 / 10:34 am

      I am not much of a metal fan myself. I like a little from all genres, but I have the hardest time with metal and country music!

Leave a Reply

