What I’m Working Out to Wednesday – The Holiday Edition!

Won’t Be Home For Christmas
Blink-182

20131107-131103.jpgI know I’ve been MIA this week and need to get back on track with blogging, but I can’t let a Wednesday pass without a music post AND it’s December! I’ve decided that every week during this month I will share my favorite holiday songs with you. I love Christmas music (shocker) and have many favorites.

I love alternative/indie/rock/punk/etc so it’s only fair that I begin with one of my favorite bands. I promise to try to hit all of the genres over the next few weeks, but I had to start with this catchy tune. I’ve listened to Blink since a high school boyfriend introduced the Dude Ranch album to me. If I had to pick my top five favorite bands, Blink would rank pretty close to number one. They were around for a looonnnngg time before their last spat (still hoping they aren’t done for good) and have evolved over the years. If I had to pick my favorite album, it would be a toss up between Dude Ranch or Take off Your Pants and Jacket. Their lyrics always crack me up, and this Christmas song of theirs is no exception. Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE THE HOLIDAYS but this song really tells it like it is with lyrics like this:

It’s Christmas time again
It’s time to be nice to the people you can’t stand all year
I’m growing tired of all this Christmas cheer
You people scare me
Please stay away from my home
If you don’t wanna get beat down
Just leave the presents and then leave me alone.

Not my personal attitude but it’s really hilarious to listen to. I laugh every single time. I was decorating my tree this weekend with my husband and this one came on. I was absentmindedly singing along and I got to the chorus (above) and he was dying laughing. Gets us every time. I hope you appreciate it as much as I do!

Favorite Christmas song? Favorite genre for Christmas music?? 

13 thoughts on “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday – The Holiday Edition!

  1. Megan @ Meg Go Run December 2, 2015 / 8:28 am

    I love Christmas music!!!! The only kind I don’t really like is anything that sound too “current”, you know what I mean? I like the old school sounding ones.

    • allisonfiorini December 2, 2015 / 8:30 am

      My sister in law loves the traditional ones so I get a good dose of those, too. I love stuff by Ella Fitzgerald and that era!

  2. sarahdudek80 December 2, 2015 / 8:44 am

    I love Christmas music. We just inherited our old family record player/radio. We’ve been listening to old Christmas records and set the radio to the station that plays only Christmas music for the next few weeks. I love the idea of adding some to my running list. Always love your music posts!

    • allisonfiorini December 2, 2015 / 9:37 am

      Thanks! I’ll try to post a good variety 🙂 I would LOVE listening to old Christmas records – how cool is that!

  3. Amy Lauren December 2, 2015 / 9:31 am

    I love Christmas music and that song! I won’t listen to Christmas music until after Thanksgiving or when it’s 75 degrees outside but I have been able to listen a little lately ;). My favorite right now is Los Straitjackets, Yuletide Beat. Their album/playlist is on spotify so you should check it out.

    • allisonfiorini December 2, 2015 / 9:38 am

      Thanks for the recommendation – I will!! I did start occasionally listening to Christmas music after Halloween to torment my husband, but I didn’t start listening to it seriously until Thanksgiving 🙂

  4. Laura December 2, 2015 / 9:58 am

    This is going to sound so strange but one of my favorite Christmas songs to run to is by TransSiberian Orchestra (TSO). Christmas Eve Sarajevo. It’s on my playlists year round too! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHioIlbnS_A

    • allisonfiorini December 2, 2015 / 10:09 am

      I LOVE the TransSiberian Orchestra! So not strange to have it on your play list year round – I love Christmas music always 🙂

  5. Shawna December 2, 2015 / 10:43 am

    haha Blink throws me back to high school and college days, and seeing them at SPAC upstate and watching Travis’ drum set flip around…so fun. i haven’t heard this song (hilarious that they even have a Christmas song) but now i have to!

  6. Fallon @ Slacker Runner December 2, 2015 / 4:41 pm

    That’s one of my favorite Christmas songs, but then I have a lot of those. 🙂 I love listening to Christmas music, I start right after Thanksgiving every year. It sure makes the commute festive. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini December 3, 2015 / 7:55 am

      Yesssss SUCH a good Christmas jam. Ever since I posted it, I put Blink on in my car and I’ve been jamming to all of their music, not just the Christmas songs!!

  7. Brittany December 2, 2015 / 8:40 pm

    I’m not sure there’s a Blink song that I won’t sing to, this included!

    • allisonfiorini December 3, 2015 / 8:04 am

      OMG right?! They are awesome. Mark and Travis teamed up with Matt Skiba from Alkaline Trio and they are coming out with a new album! I’m sad that Tom won’t be part of it, though!

Leave a Reply

