What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

Mountain at my Gates
Foals

20131107-131103.jpg

I can’t remember who first introduced me to Foals, but it was somewhere around 2011. I know this because in 2011, I had a lot going on in my life and went to a lot of shows as a distraction. It was also the same year that I took a six month break from running, and music played a pretty big part in my life that year.

During that time, I saw Foals in concert. They were the headliner, but I was more interested in the opening acts that day.Β The openers were two of my absolute favorites at the time: Freelance Whales (hit song you might know is called Hannah), and The Naked & The Famous (check out Young Blood, I’m sure you’d know it). When Foals came on, I remember thinking that my friend and I were quite possibly the only sober people in the crowd. Pretty sure most people in that audience were on some sort of recreational drug, and it makes sense if you listen to their previous albums.

As far as the band goes, I don’t know too much about them because I haven’t listened to their albums extensively. I have most of theirΒ albums and they are all quite catchy, but until they dropped this single they were off my radar. I can’t get this song out of my head, and I figured it was time to share it! Hope you enjoy it!

What music are you listening to this week?

20 thoughts on “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

  1. Lisa @ Lisa the Vegetarian November 25, 2015 / 1:06 pm

    The music I’m listening to this week is honestly Christmas carols! I know that’s a controversial thing to say at this time of year, but I find the cheeriness of the songs helps with the dark and cold atmosphere of the fall.

    • allisonfiorini November 25, 2015 / 1:17 pm

      Not controversial at all!!! I have also been rocking out to Christmas music. Starting next week, I was thinking of making my music posts holiday related!

  2. Anna @ Piper's Run November 25, 2015 / 1:15 pm

    I recently charged up my old Ipod and found some David Gray, Oasis etc. It was just what I needed πŸ™‚

    • allisonfiorini November 25, 2015 / 1:18 pm

      I LOVE when you come across music you used to jam out to but haven’t listened to in awhile – that’s the BEST!

  3. Rebecca Royy November 25, 2015 / 1:47 pm

    Oh I like it! I’ll have to download it! Always love your taste in music…well except one time….but I don’t even remember which one that was! Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. Mary November 25, 2015 / 2:01 pm

    Ohhhhhh love it!! Will definitely check out the rest of the album…. hopefully it isnt one of those situations where they drop the single and its COMPLETELY different from the other songs hahaha. I like it though!

    • allisonfiorini November 25, 2015 / 2:02 pm

      Enjoy!!! I haven’t listened to the whole thing yet. But I think I’m going to like it!

  5. Hollie November 26, 2015 / 5:44 am

    I’m still on my Ke$ha remix download kick. HA….

  6. suzysuzyheather November 26, 2015 / 9:55 am

    Oh cool! I like it. I remember going to a CCR (Clearance Clearwater Revival) concert and barely being able to see the stage through all the pot smoke.

    • allisonfiorini December 2, 2015 / 8:15 am

      Ha! I think those stoner shows are the best shows!!

  7. cupcakesandmiles November 26, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    I can see how recreational drugs would make that video pretty trippy. Hehe! πŸ˜‰

    It’s a fun jam though!

  8. she's going the distance November 29, 2015 / 11:44 am

    Love Foals! I found them when “math rock” started getting popular. Along with Minus the Bear & Maps and Atlases they were on rotation for a long time.

    • allisonfiorini December 2, 2015 / 8:17 am

      Ahhhh I LOVE Minus the Bear AND Maps and Atlases. I saw Maps and Atlases with RX Bandits a few years ago. Such a great show!

      • she's going the distance December 2, 2015 / 8:30 am

        awesome! See, we can be friends in real life, cause riding in the car would be easy when we have to pick tunes!

      • allisonfiorini December 2, 2015 / 8:35 am

        Hahah! Yes!!! Road trip to our next race!

Leave a Reply

