What I’m Working Out To Wednesday

Thank God For Girls
Weezer

20131107-131103.jpgYes. Just…yes. WEEZER HAS A NEW SINGLE. As we were driving down to Indianapolis last weekend, we were listening to my favorite, Alt Nation. A few hours in, and suddenly…is that Weezer? How do I not know this song? What?

I can remember being in 6th grade when they dropped their debut album, the Blue Album. That was around the time I used to spend every weekend skiing at Jack Frost Mountain with my family. I can remember sitting on the chairlift with my brother and our friends from the mountain belting out “Buddy Holly” at the top of our lungs. The obsession continued, and I even had a hamster when I was in middle school named Weezer.

They have quite the discography, with some albums being better than others but they’ve always been a favorite of mine. Their sound, their lyrics, Rivers Cuomo’s voice (did you know he is a Harvard graduate?)…love. If I had to make a soundtrack that defined me, there would totally be a good dose of Weezer on it. I can go through all of their albums and pick out songs from each that were playing during many significant times in my life, both good and bad.  To me, they are like my preferred “comfort food” of music. Their new single is odd, but I love it. it’s like a perfect mix of old and new Weezer.

What music are you listening to this week? Any bands that you’ve followed throughout your whole life?

22 comments

    1. Ahhhh I love that one! Have you ever heard the version of “I Want You To” with Weezer and Sara Barellis ?? My husband’s band plays that and when they do, they make me come out to their studio and sing her part. Weezer is so fun to harmonize to!! Also, Blink 182 is another fun one to harmonize to!!!

      1. Haha, my husband’s band is called No Repose – he is a drummer! They are really more of a garage band. He built a pretty serious studio off the back of our barn for them to use to practice. It’s an awesome space, but they rarely play out! They mostly play covers but they do have some of their own stuff from when they first started playing. The other night they made me come out and sing Taylor Swift stuff because they were messing around with rock versions of the songs on her 1989 album. It was pretty funny!!

    1. Haha!! Twins!!!! Buddy Holly will always hold a special place in my heart. It made me love them more when I learned about Rivers being a Harvard grad!!! Did you know the lead singer of Offspring has been working on his PhD in Molecular Biology? He took a lot of breaks in the height of his musical career but I think he’s still working on it!!!!

  1. i used to love Weezer and remember listening to them since i was in middle school also! my college boyfriend was suuuuuch a crazy music fan and was obsessed with their “secret” ish album all about falling in love with a Japanese woman. haha so crazy. we saw them in concert with Saves the Day and it was so fun.

Leave a Reply

