Recovery, Week 1: 11/9-11/15

Monday, 11/9: 16 Mile Bike Ride + Core + Pole Fitness

After traveling home from Indianapolis all day on Sunday, I got home early in the evening and decided to take a day off of work on Monday. I wanted to catch up on my rest and kick off my recovery period with some downtime. After spending the better part of the morning in my pajamas, on my couch and drinking coffee, I headed out. It was gorgeous and I really wanted to go for a run. I drove to my favorite area, but hopped on my road bike instead. My legs felt good, and I biked for an hour. I didn’t plan a route or know how long I was going to ride, I just left and came back when I felt like it. I haven’t had an unstructured workout like that in…I can’t remember. I didn’t know if I would feel like riding for even 10 minutes, but an hour later I was back at my car. It was a gorgeous day, and I missed my bike.

imageI came home and did some core work. I’d been slacking on it and I felt like doing it, so I did. That was my theme for the week – I was only going to do what I felt like doing. I headed to pole class since my sister in law was going, and I FINALLY got my leg straight in the Allegra!

imageWe also learned something called a Glamour, which is a variation of a move called a Teddy. I don’t love the actual pose called the Teddy because the grip is somewhere near your armpit and it hurts your skin pretty badly. The variation we learned still kind of hurts, but not quite so bad (again trying to smile so I don’t look like I’m being tortured…or constipated):
image
Tuesday, 11/10: 1500 Meter Swim + Core

My body was sore from the pole class on Monday, and I was just tired in general. I got up and headed to the pool and made it 1500 meters before soaking in the hot tub. It’s 400 more meters than I swam last time! I wasn’t too fatigued from swimming, just bored. I get really bored with swimming, which is a problem because it is such good cross training. I had really good intentions of doing something like 2000 meters, but I didn’t want to. So, in the spirit of enjoying the lack of structure, I sat in the hot tub instead! I did about 20 minutes of core work later that night, including a plank for 5 minutes and 40 seconds.

Wednesday, 11/11: Yoga/Core + Pole Fitness

I came home from work and spent some time on my yoga mat doing core and some very basic Ashtanga stuff. I just did some sun salutations, and the standing sequence and it felt great. I went right to pole class and we learned so many new things again. The last four classes I took we learned a LOT. I have some videos of some combos we learned, but nothing looked super solid. It was a really fun class, though!

Thursday, 11/12: 1400 Meter AM Swim + 2.5 Mile Walk 

I felt MUCH better swimming on Thursday, even though my workout was 100 m shorter. I got up a little later than I should have to get to the pool and I was doing a “sprint” workout, so lots of shorter distances in the workout. I was bummed that I didn’t get my butt there earlier. I only had about a half an hour to swim. Based on the way I felt on Tuesday, I figured that would be plenty of time . I actually felt really good and didn’t finish the whole workout because of the time crunch!

I started with 3 x [100 meters easy, 4×50 meters]. I started super easy for the 50s. I decided for the first set, I would do my 50s on 1:15 since I haven’t been in the pool in forever. That means I have 1:15 to swim 50 meters and if I have anytime leftover, I rest until the next interval. I felt awesome, and I was consistently hitting the wall in 45 seconds so I felt like I didn’t lose much.  On the second set, I did them on 1:10, and then on 1:05 for the third set. The main set was supposed to be 3x [200 meter pull, 3×50 meters] – “pull” means to use a pull buoy that goes in between your legs so you can’t kick, just use your arms. I did the 200 pull, and did the 3×50 meters on 55 seconds. I was able to do them in just under 40 seconds so I had a little rest with each one. At that point, it was 5:55am and I have to be in the shower at 6 so I can walk out the door by 6:25, so I did a 150 meter pull and called it a day. I had just enough time to sit in the hot tub for two minutes before I absolutely had to get ready.

We had parent teacher conferences at night, so my friends from work and I went for out a walk after school. It felt good to be outside and moving, and then we all went out for dinner before we needed to return for conferences.

Friday, 11/13: Pole Fitness

After work, I headed to pole class. The studio owner has open studio time before the 4pm class, and got there by 3:30 so we got to play around before class started. It was perfect because we got to do our warm up early and were able to use the rest of the class time to finally work on the many new thing we learned. Before this one, the past few classes I went to were so hard because we kept learning new moves but didn’t have time to keep working on them. Since this class was more low key, we kind of just made a list of everything we wanted to work on and went for it. I took some really fun videos of some combos I played around with. We learned a pose on Wednesday called “Dragonfly” and I couldn’t get it that night. I realized it was because I needed to position the pole near the back of my armpit, not my back. As soon as I figured that out, I got it:

image

It’s kind of painful because you are being held on the pole by your armpit and the outside of your thigh. Once I figured out the grip, it didn’t hurt as badly as I originally thought.

Saturday, 11/14: Pole Fitness

I woke up early and headed to pole class. It was just me in class and I worked on some new things and a few old poses that I still had yet to master. I was working on one pose that I still haven’t quite gotten, the machine gun. While working on it, I sort of tweaked something in my chest! Pole injures? Oh dear. I was able to finish the class and be somewhat productive, which was good.

Sunday: 11/15: Yoga + Hike

Micheal Lear was in town teaching Mysore at the studio where I used to teach. While I have practiced yoga over the past year, it’s been mostly yin yoga. I’ve not done full primary series in over a year. My yoga friends, who still have very advanced practices, urged me to come to class. I almost didn’t, but at the last minute I hopped in my car and headed to the studio. It was a grueling, tough practice – both physically and emotionally. I have a post coming about that.

In the afternoon, I hiked the game preserve with Emily and Brooke. It’s the extremely hilly trail I was running in the spring, and I hadn’t been out there in a long time. We didn’t run, but we hiked and it didn’t hurt my calf. I know it’s not the same strain as running, but if it were going to hurt, I feel like those climbs and descents would have aggravated it.

image image image image image image image image imageThese two do a great job of showing how steep the trail really is, I’m so glad we took this shot:
imageimage imageIt felt so nice to kind of “go with the flow” and do whatever I felt like doing. My goal for next week is to get back to the gym and back to doing some physical therapy exercises, and to do a few more days of core work. I’d really slacked on it so my goal was to do it more than once this week, and I did it three times. I just kind of let myself go with the flow this week and just do what I felt like doing. I couldn’t tell you the last time I went out for a workout without some sort of goal – whether it be a certain distance, pace, or time spent doing the activity. I gave myself this week to just enjoy being active and remind myself why I began all of this in the first place, and it was wonderful.

Swim:  2900 meters ♥ Bike: 16 miles ♥  Run: 0 miles

Do you like unstructured weeks?

39 thoughts on “Recovery, Week 1: 11/9-11/15

  1. Brittany November 16, 2015 / 9:35 am

    I love unstructured weeks and I suck at them. I’m trying to not be unstructured and get back into some resemblance of training it didn’t happen. Yay for 2 runs totaling less than 3 miles!

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 9:39 am

      Yay is right! I am hoping to try a few miles on my calf this week. I will be thankful for whatever I can get! I feel ready to run, but not ready to start training again!

  2. Brittany November 16, 2015 / 9:38 am

    You have me CRAVVVINNGG a good hike!

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 9:41 am

      LOL – that’s how I always feel when I read your posts!!

  3. Jamie November 16, 2015 / 9:48 am

    I’m all about resting and recovering… good for the body and the mind!

  4. Katie Pridgen November 16, 2015 / 9:54 am

    Your week sounds awesome! I love unstructured weeks. For me, they tend to lead to bike rides interrupted by coffee or brunch, depending on what food places I ride past. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 10:04 am

      Anything interrupted by coffee or brunch sounds fantastic!! It was such a fun week!

  5. Anna @ Piper's Run November 16, 2015 / 10:03 am

    You sure are rocking the pole classes! That last pose makes you look like you are just hanging out in the air! Great hiking photos!

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 10:05 am

      Thank you Anna!! I am really loving that workout. It’s so fun! It was a really gorgeous day to hike yesterday!!

  6. Mary November 16, 2015 / 10:51 am

    yeaaaahhhh every week is an unstructured week for me. there is always SOMETHING that throws off my week, i’m a bit too weak when it comes to sticking with a work out schedule. i’m REALLY big on self care. sleep, bad for me foods, socializing…. i want to get better about it.

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 11:02 am

      I usually need structure or a plan to work out at all but this week, I was into it without a plan. I have a rough plan for the next few weeks, but mostly going to stick with this unstructured schedule for a few weeks! It feels pretty good!

  7. suzysuzyheather November 16, 2015 / 11:17 am

    Great job this week, Allison. That plank is crazy! You inspired me to do one today. I have no idea how long I’ll be able to hold it. My best guess is probably 2:30. K and was Thursday morning’s swim workout done in the morning before work? Cuz that is EARLY.

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 1:40 pm

      LOL Yesssss ideally I should be in the water by 5am because I need to be out by 6! Usually, when I am in good swimming shape I can do about 3000 meters in an hour. Right now, I have been staying in for about 35 minutes and covering 1400-15000! I’ll get it back. Good luck on that plank! I bet you do more than 2:30!

  8. DarlinRae November 16, 2015 / 11:37 am

    You are killing this recovery thing! I’m usually super unstructured in my workouts, because I’m a commitment phobe and I resent having a schedule tell me what to do, haha! Your week sounds perfect to me 🙂

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 1:38 pm

      Thank you!!! I usually like having a schedule and I usually fear not having one, but it felt great this past week!!!

  9. MyRUNexperiment November 16, 2015 / 12:08 pm

    I love the photo from your bike ride. I feel like I’m always fighting for more time to workout so I like them to be more structured. Great recovery week by the way!

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 1:37 pm

      Thank you!!! I usually much prefer the structure too! I needed a little time where I could just do my thing 🙂

  10. 50in50marathonquest November 16, 2015 / 1:17 pm

    Sounds like a great recovery week…and no running!! I really enjoyed the 2 weeks recovery post-Chicago. At the time the weather cooperated for a couple bike rides which made for a really nice change. So important to schedule a mental and physical recovery period.

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 1:36 pm

      Thank you! Yes, I am taking five weeks of recovery. I will run, but the main focus is letting my body have some down time. Too many years of back to back marathons without recovery. I think it finally caught up!

  11. thisrunnersrecipes November 16, 2015 / 1:52 pm

    That hike looks so pretty! I’ve been craving a steep hike because since rainy season started in Seattle we’ve had to stick to shorter hikes. Great job on all of your workouts this week – that bike ride sounds fun!

    • allisonfiorini November 16, 2015 / 2:17 pm

      Thank you! It was such a fun hike, especially catching up with my two friends. Loved it! Hope the rain clears up soon so you can get in a nice steep one!

  12. Hollie November 16, 2015 / 3:33 pm

    I’ve always felt like I needed extra rest time after going on a vacation. I just need a day of downtime to collect myself and really clean up my life. I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    • allisonfiorini November 17, 2015 / 8:50 am

      Exactly! It’s like I need a vacation from vacation!

  13. Megan @ Meg Go Run November 16, 2015 / 5:55 pm

    I LOVE unstructured weeks! I glad you gave yourself that. Even in my unstructured weeks, I still make sure to lift 2xs… it’s just a matter of WHEN I lift. I like being able to decide “oh I feel like running today” or “oh I feel like lifting today”. I only do core work when I lift and usually only 2 exercises because lifting REALLY uses your core, as I am sure pole fitness does!

    My plank PR was 4 minutes. I did it when I was EXTREMELY ANGRY and not able to run. I can’t imagine doing it for 5:40!!! I remember wanting to throw up hahaha! Next time I try to beat it, I will be sure to do it right after someone pisses me off.

    • allisonfiorini November 17, 2015 / 8:51 am

      I need to get better at lifting again. 2x, like you said. Since I began doing pole, I don’t lift for my arms anymore but I need to do legs and abs for sure. And yes, get that plank next time you are mad! It hurts so badly but when you are done, it feels so good!!!

  14. afastpacedlife November 16, 2015 / 7:08 pm

    I really love your pole class photos. So cool! I used to do aerial silks and I loved learning new moves.

    • allisonfiorini November 17, 2015 / 8:52 am

      Thank you! Do you still go to the aerial silk classes? They have those, plus a lyra and a trapeze (I think they call it that?) at the studio where I take the pole classes! I have yet to really try that!

      • afastpacedlife November 17, 2015 / 8:55 am

        No, the schedule of classes doesn’t work with my work schedule. 😦 Since you have so much pole experience I think you’ll pick aerial quickly.

      • allisonfiorini November 17, 2015 / 8:56 am

        I will let you know if I try it!!

  15. Nora @ 2 Generations Running November 16, 2015 / 8:29 pm

    Woohoo for doing whatever the heck you wanted this week! I headed out for my run on Saturday with no real plan in mind, which felt weird at first, but then kind of freeing to just run for as long or short as I wanted! And I think it’s great that you’re able to focus more on some fitness stuff that’s just for fun, like your pole fitness classes. The poses look so cool, I wish I could do that! 😉

    • allisonfiorini November 17, 2015 / 8:53 am

      I love those kinds of runs! I am going to try running tomorrow and I don’t know if I am going to bring a watch for that reason. Just a run, no distance or pace goals at all!

  16. hellyontherun November 16, 2015 / 9:41 pm

    I’m always in awe of how much you get in–and here it was a recovery week for you!
    I’m def a structured/schedule person but it’s nice to have a “free” week every once in a while.
    I did my longest plank this weekend–a whopping 1 minute and 20 seconds!!! 😀

    • allisonfiorini November 17, 2015 / 8:54 am

      Thanks, Helly! I did miss my structure last week towards the end of the week but I felt refreshed after just doing whatever! It was a nice change!

  17. Fallon @ Slacker Runner November 17, 2015 / 12:52 am

    I’m always unstructured- haha. That road in bike picture looks awesome, I want to run on it. I admit, cycling makes me nervous, which is why I’ve never followed through on those Tri thoughts I’ve had. Yay for hiking!!!! I am looking forward to getting out on more, I still have 6 left to hike for the challenge. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini November 17, 2015 / 8:55 am

      The road in the picture goes over that mountain. It’s called Chestnut Hill Road, and it is NASTY! I don’t ride up it and turn left before the actual hill. But, I think running up it might be fun. Maybe one of these days. Good luck with the rest of your hiking challenge!

  18. niki November 17, 2015 / 6:53 am

    Beautiful pics of the trail… glad the calf is okay.

  19. Heather Shoe November 17, 2015 / 9:15 am

    What a gorgeous hike! That trail looks super steep. I’m glad the climb/descent didn’t hurt your calf. That definitely sounds like progress.

Leave a Reply

