What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

Somewhere Only We Know
Keane

“But here’s what I know. If you’re willing to take the chance…the view from the other side is spectacular” – Meredith Grey

20131107-131103.jpg

Well, this isn’t the marathon week I envisioned. It was not supposed to be full of worry and doubt – I trained hard. I put in the work. The blood, sweat, tears, poison sumac, worries and fears of the last 18 weeks were supposed to be for this week. I should be on cruise control and ready to rock my race. That’s not the case, and I’m kind of just going with it.

Before Hartford, I mentioned that there are certain songs that have been on my iPod since I began running…eight years ago. I shared one with you that week, and since this is a marathon week I’m going to share another.

While Keane might be a great band, I don’t know anything else by them. I can only assume that I know this song because of Grey’s Anatomy.  This song is featured at the end of the second episode – alllll the way back in season one. I know this because I have a huge slight obsession with this show. I began watching it way back when it started and I have re-watched (all 11 seasons) every episode over and over. I don’t know why I’m so drawn to it. It’s almost like a comfort thing. You can bet that I’ve been drowning myself in countless episodes of it over the past few weeks as I work through this calf thing. This is not high energy song, but the lyrics are always fitting.

When I trained for my first marathon, this song was playing on nearly every run. When I finished that first marathon and came into the finishing chute, this song was playing. As a matter of fact, I’ve finished many races and marathons to this song. When I painfully made my way through the finish in Arizona, crying from frustration and disappointment, this song was playing. When I suffered all through spring with my Achilles and finally ran 22 pain free miles two weeks before Boston, this song came on during the final mile and finished the run with tears of happiness.

The lyrics just always seem to fit the moments – the good, the bad, the ugly.

I walked across an empty land
I knew the pathway like the back of my hand
I felt the earth beneath my feet
Sat by the river and it made me complete

Oh simple thing where have you gone?
I’m getting old and I need something to rely on
So tell me when you’re gonna let me in
I’m getting tired and I need somewhere to begin

I came across a fallen tree
I felt the branches of it looking at me
Is this the place we used to love?
Is this the place that I’ve been dreaming of?

Oh simple thing where have you gone?
I’m getting old and I need something to rely on
So tell me when you’re gonna let me in
I’m getting tired and I need somewhere to begin

And if you have a minute why don’t we go
Talk about it somewhere only we know?
This could be the end of everything
So why don’t we go
Somewhere only we know?
Somewhere only we know?

Oh simple thing where have you gone?
I’m getting old and I need something to rely on
So tell me when you’re gonna let me in
I’m getting tired and I need somewhere to begin

And if you have a minute why don’t we go
Talk about it somewhere only we know?
This could be the end of everything
So why don’t we go?
So why don’t we go?

Ah-ah-ah
Ah-ah-ah

This could be the end of everything
So why don’t we go
Somewhere only we know?
Somewhere only we know?
Somewhere only we know?

Or, if you happen to be a Grey’s junkie like me:

What music are you listening to this week? 

27 Replies to “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday”

  1. Boy does this song take me back to the winter right after I graduated college. It was actually a sad time for me because I was just not a happy person back then. But I used to run to this song ALL THE TIME.

    1. It’s funny because this song is always my go-to song for dark times! During injuries and tough times in life, it’s always been my jam. So it’s not necessarily my happy person jam but it has helped me get through some rough patches 🙂

  2. Perfect lyrics for sure. I’m rooting for you girli. I’m praying your marathon turns out better than you imagined. I feel like my ‘taper’ and final week have been nothing but a HOLY HOT MESS. It’s amazing what work stress will do to a girl (and her face. Totally broke out everywhere. Ew. I’m 30 isn’t that supposed to stop?! Lol).
    Anyway! The song I’ve been jamming to on my runs lately: Lift Your Head Weary Sinner by the David Crowder Band. I just posted it on my FB page. I suggest you listen to it. It’s amazing and so incredibly motivating. Especially close to the end where the music just sucks you in. 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Jess. I will absolutely download that jam. Speaking of music/faith, I was thinking of you this weekend. I’m Catholic and didn’t get to mass until Sunday night because of pacing the half marathon. The only local Sunday night mass is at the local university – Lehigh – but it works in a pinch. The students were running the music portion of it and after communion, this boy sang more of a contemporary Christian kind of song. It was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever heard and even though the mass was full of a bunch of college undergraduates you could hear a pin drop! You would have loved it!

    1. Ahhhh another Grey’s fan! YES! I know it’s crazy, but every summer I begin all the way from season 1 and watch the whole thing all the way through the current season. Kind of like pre-gaming for the newest season. I don’t know what I’m going to do when they actually decide to take it off the air!

  3. I also have a Keane song on my iPod rotation – “Is it any wonder”, which says “is it any wonder I’m tired?”. Love to hear that when I’m running and I think “Oh yeah, no wonder at all”!!!
    Hope the rest of your week goes well. I’m keeping positive thoughts for your race!

  4. Hah embarrassing, I know the Keane song from Laguna Hills. I looooved Laguna Hills and the Hills…. They do have some good songs other than this one though! We sang one in my a cappella group in college…. Bed shaped! (had to google it hahah) the music video is really weird, but I like the song a lot.

      1. Yes! Yes. It’s been so long hahahah but yes. I knew that looked weird but I couldn’t figure out why…. Hahah

  5. Love Keane and I love Grey’s. Well, I haven’t loved it so much recently and I refuse to watch it now that Derek is dead. Lol. But I was rewatching the first couple of seasons recently and remembered why I loved it so much!!

    1. I had that same attitude and REFUSED to watch season 11. Well, I finally did and even though it was AWFUL at the end, it was a really good season. Season 12 is great, too. You should reconsider. I know it is a tough decision, haha. It took a lot to get me to watch it!

  6. So I caught up on all 10 seasons of Grey’s a few months ago and haven’t seen any of this season yet but it is CRAZY how I got sucked in so quickly. I started watching it to catch all the errors about Seattle but after a few seasons I realized I was in too deep. Trust your training, use the song to pull all the power from the times you’ve run to it before, and know you can most definitely kill this marathon. (I mean, be smart about it and everything, but I have a feeling you are going to do AMAZING. ) You got this.

    1. Ohhhhh yes, you can get sucked into that show SO EASILY! I get sucked in to old episodes and I’ve watched them a million times! Thanks for the kind words. At the very least, I am excited to go on a little getaway this weekend with a few friends!!

  7. I’m bummed you’re struggling after so much hard work!! I’m thinking about you girl and sending you all the positivity I can your way so that you can do well–I know you can!!! (P.S. I hate that you had one of your worst races in Arizona. I want you to come back and kill one here so that you only have good desert memories ❤ )

  8. Oh gosh! I love this song! That’s so cool how many great running memories you have with it!

    I totally get what you’re saying about Grey’s Anatomy; it really does just get become one with you and can be so comforting. Just earlier this week, one of the girls in the office came to me and was upset and really just needed a pick-me-up, so I suggested we dance it out. And we did! Just like Meredith and Cristina.

    And, I’m sorry you’re not feeling marathon week. I know how uneasy that uncertainty can make things. I know it won’t mean much, but I believe in you. I think you’re gonna go out there, give it all you can, and it’s gonna be a great day! 🙂

    1. Thank you SO MUCH for this. I hope you are right! I love how you guys danced it out. That is awesome. I definitely have a few friends that understand that and would get the reference, but not many! It is such a comfort show to me – whenever I’m cranky, I watch it!

Leave a Reply

