Indianapolis Monumental Training, Week 17: 10/19-10/25

Yep. Things are going that well over this way.

This week began the day after the Runner’s World Half Marathon, where I completely tweaked my calf. I put off writing it because each day I keep hoping things get better, but honestly this has become a nightmare. Here was my week:

  • Monday, 10/19 – Pole Fitness
  • Tuesday, 10/20 – 6 Mile Recovery Run + 5 Minute Plank
  • Wednesday, 10/21 – 5 Mile Recovery Run + Pole Fitness 
  • Thursday, 10/22 – 3 Mile Run + Crankiness 
  • Friday, 10/23Pole Fitness
  • Saturday, 10/24 –  Pole Fitness
  • Sunday, 10/25 – Rest

So that happened. 14 miles. I am so screwed for Indianapolis. FML. I ran on Tuesday and took it very easy – honestly, it didn’t feel bad. It felt like the pain in my calf was present but it didn’t worsen as I ran. I went for a massage, and I felt like I was on the mend. On Wednesday, I ended up with a beautiful lunchtime 5 miler. It felt awesome and almost like I was completely back to normal. My leg felt better as I ran and things loosened up.

Then, Thursday. Started my run. Felt great – I didn’t feel like I was altering my stride, basically like things were back to normal. Until about a mile in – I began to feel the same tightness in my calf that I felt at Runner’s World. I stopped, stretched, and ran another mile. At the two mile mark, I turned around and walk/ran it in for a total of 3 miles running, one mile walking. It was miserable. I was crying like a baby and just miserable. Mostly because I felt like I was doing a walk of shame, and since I’ve been married for 10 years I thought those days were behind me.

I rested the rest of the weekend. I went to pole class, but I didn’t bike or swim. I just don’t have it in me. I can’t go through this again – where I get injured and turn my world upside down to try to fix it. I just rested in hopes that it would help. And it helped a little, but not much. I did run yesterday – 4 miles. It wasn’t worse, but it was there. I am at a loss. I’m supposed to pace a half marathon this weekend and I have Indianapolis next weekend. I have no idea what I’m going to do.

I guess what’s really upsetting me is that it doesn’t matter what I do – I get injured. I know why it happened this time and I had no business running that race. But honestly, it doesn’t seem to matter what I do. This has been going on since June 2014 and I just don’t know how much more I can take. I’ve tried less miles, more miles, less intensity, more intensity. Training with a coach. Training by myself. More racing. Less racing. What gives?

I’ve been excited about Indianapolis since June. I was signed up for that race well before Hartford. I don’t know what the outcome of this will be, but all I know is my body just needs to hang in there for two more weeks and then it’s all over. I did the mature thing this year and scheduled 5 weeks of recovery, which is great – just seems like my body isn’t having any of it this year. 2015 truly has not been my year!!! I will try not to disappear from the blog world through all of this…I think I did that over the winter when my Achilles was giving me hell.

In other news, I did learn a pole pose called a Marion Amber that I’m now obsessed with:

image

Figured I should TRY to end on a positive. 🙂

Swim:  0 meters ♥ Bike: 0 miles ♥  Run: 14 miles

How was your week? How do you handle injuries? Me? Obviously not well, lol!

84 comments

  1. I’m sorry that you’re dealing with an injury like this. It really sucks to be sidelined for a while. I hope you recover soon enough to run Monumental. I know this may be too soon, but are you considering not running it? I know it sucks to not run a race you planned to, but it’s better to not risk further injury than to run a race. I really hope it doesn’t come to that. I hope it feels better quick!

    I don’t handle injuries well either. I do a lot of feeling bad for myself.

  2. Aww I’m so sorry, soft tissue injuries are the worst! I swear they just pop up at the most random and inconvenient times, hope you feel better soon!!

  3. so sorry to hear about this injury, love. i get so down at times like this as well. sending you prayers & hugs & good thoughts and hoping you’re able to focus on the positives in your life during this time. on the up side, that pole move is ridiculous!! you look amazing!

  4. Well SHIT! I’m so sorry to hear you are hurting. I don’t want to say the “I” word cause that just sucks. Have you gone to get any treatment for the pain? Physio, massage, osteopath, chiropractor ?
    You know me and injuries 😦 I don’t do well with them either. I’d love to say focus on resting but that’s not an easy task…so focus on your pole fitness – you clearly are loving it. Do what you love and the rest will fall in place.

    1. I’ve gone for two massages and I’m doing some PT exercises on my own from the last time I did this to myself – this is the second time I’ve strained my calf. They actually do seem to help, so I need to keep that up for sure. If it lingers, I will go to the doctor. I know what he will do though – send me for PT, and I’ll be doing the same exercises I’m doing now. But, if it doesn’t help I will go get it looked at for sure!

  5. Oh, I’m really sorry to hear this! I imagine I would not deal with an injury well because I don’t deal well with changes in my plans in the best of circumstances. I hope you heal quickly.

  6. I’m so sorry your calf is still bothering you! I have basically been injury plagued since 2013, so I understand the fatigue of feeling like you can’t get a break. Take a few more days to recover and let your body work it out, maybe it’s just a little tired and needs a rest. You are killing it at pole, that pose is insane, so maybe your body would just rather do that for a hot minute and then you can run Indianapolis. You can do this!

    1. Aw thank you lady! I’m basically going to do just that – pole and REST!!! In 2013, I had two stress fx…then, in 2014 it was plantar fasciitis, a hamstring pull, calf strain, and my achilles decided to flare up right at the end of the year, which leads me to this year of Achilles and calf! Miserable!!!!! I am with you, sister!!! PLAGUED!

  7. Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

    I know how injuries feel (tendinitis queen over here!) but I’ve never had one affect a goal race, typically they happen afterwards for me. Positive thoughts your way! And wine, whiskey, a beer seems to help 😜

  8. So sorry about your injury and wishing you a speedy recovery! Glad you got *some* miles in and you did pole, so that is a workout too. I hope things work out for you to run the marathon.

  9. Is Indianapolis a full marathon? And it’s in two weeks? Maybe this is what your body needs to get the sub-3 for that race. Forced rest. All your muscles are going to heal and store up energy so that come race day, you’ll blow your mind.

  10. Nooooo! I’m so sad to hear this. You were doing so well throughout this cycle – it’s so frustrating when one little thing sets it off again! ughhhhh…I hope it magically heals but if it doesn’t, don’t worry about pacing the half! They usually have alternates right? I know we were gonna run together but don’t feel like you have to do it because of me! I’ll see you soon and you can lay all your frustrations on me 😀

    1. I didn’t forget to text you back! I was crazy busy at work yesterday and I am just getting caught up with life. I am still hoping to pace it! I will text you my game plan. Either way I am excited to hang out on Saturday!!!

  11. First of all, holy crap – that move is amazing!! But secondly, oh man, that sucks beyond belief about your calf 😦 With all of the energy flowing towards Indy, I know that is heartbreaking. Hoping lots of rest will get you there!!

  12. ugh thats so frustrating!! I’m sorry you’re dealing with that. I rolled my ankle a couple days before pacing a half marathon, i was so bummed to have to find someone else to pace AND sit the race out! hopefully with some more rest you’ll start feeling better….

  13. Oh no! I’m so sad to read this!! I truly hope that resting up for the next couple weeks will help. As someone mentioned above, this might be your body’s way of forcing you to rest. You worked incredibly hard this summer and you are now running two marathons 1 month apart with 2 races in between? Eeek, that’s a lot! My suggestion would be to see if they can find a back up pacer for the half so you can focus on resting up for IMM. I know it sucks to back out of a commitment, but, I’d think other runners would be more than likely to understand that injuries happen.

    As to the fact that you keep getting injured…I wish I knew what to say. It’s so unfair and you don’t deserve the kind of luck you’ve had. I know this may seem like a blasphemous suggestion, but…have you considered taking a break from marathons for a while? Not like, a month – I mean an entire season off? Even though you’ve been trying new training strategies, you’ve been jumping from one marathon cycle to the next and your body hasn’t had a true break from that level of training. I know you have Boston after this, but maybe think about taking next fall off from marathons? Take the time to go back to basics and maybe focus on shorter distances or triathlons for a while? It’s something to think about. Trust me, I know it’s hard to step back, but what if it could make the difference between having a longer, happier, healthier career in the long run? Just something to think about 🙂

    LOVE the pose! You look like an elite gymnast!

    1. Nope, not blasphemous at ALL. I’ve done lots of back to back races in the past and I always say “well I got through those just fine, why not?” I seem to forget all of the injuries and drama as I am signing up for races each season. I am considering a rest for next fall. At the very least, I am considering Lakefront for fall (that is the top of my list, btw), and then racing short distances the rest of the year. But, if I choose not to do Lakefront I may not do a fall marathon – and I am dead serious. I would spend a season on short distances. This is absolutely a possibility!!! I am going to rest until then for sure, and I will make a decision on the pacing later this week. I think I will need to back out, and I know they will find someone to replace me. I was really looking forward to it! It is definitely hard to think about a step back but it might be necessary for the future! If not a step back, I will not do more than one fall marathon next year. I think that’s where the problem really is. Besides, I need to fly to most of the states that I have left so it might be time to slow down on the marathons and focus on the short distances, period! Thank you for your support 🙂

      1. Of course! And you know I’d LOVE to have you for Lakefront! And if you don’t do it, well, it will be sad not to see you but then I might be like “phew, now I don’t have to run a fall marathon” LOL! My other suggestion would be…have you heard of those Run Less Run Faster programs? RW just posted an article this morning about how to train for a marathon on 3 days per week, and a ton of people left comments saying that they were able to run big marathon PRs on that program and it helped them stay injury-free. Of course that wouldn’t be the case for everyone, but, doing half running and half XT seems to have great results for people who are too injury-prone to train the more traditional way.

      2. I am not a fan of Run Less Run Faster (not to sound like a negative Nancy, LOL!). I know it’s worked for many people and I do think if I didn’t care so much about my time that it would be effective. I just had a long conversation with Bart about this one. He says he sees the most injuries with people on this plan and the key is that you HAVE to hit the prescribed paces on your runs. You have three key runs each week with very tough paces so if you have an “off” day, it really does impact your training!! I should absolutely be using this mentality though. I need to be more secure about switching out recovery runs with swims and bikes when I feel aches and pains! I get so focused on mileage and numbers and then I lose sight of what is really important – staying HEALTHY!

      3. Don’t worry, you’re preaching to the choir here – I’m not really on board with the philosophy either, and while I could maybe see it for shorter distances, I don’t think I’d ever be comfortable doing a marathon on that plan. But I think for the injury-prone, there is definitely something to be said for cutting out the easy miles in favor of XT. But I totally know what you mean about being focused on numbers. I’m still that person who can’t bring herself to stop seeing XT as “missed mileage”.

  14. I am so sorry you are dealing with your cranky calf. 😦 Please know I SO RELATE to the whole injury thing. I used to run all the time and never have problems. Then, my knee. My IT band. Super long story but the short version is I feel like I am ALWAYS dealing with problems with my body and it SUCKS. No matter what I do, like you said, it happens. I suppose that could be part of being a runner but I do get jealous when I see people running millions of miles and never get injured. Not that I WANT to get injured, I just want to know their secret and I want to be like them. Hang in there, you are NOT alone. If you don’t believe me, just type “Meg Go Run my dumb knee” (or something similar) into Google!!

    1. Hahahahah omg dude. I just Googled that and it came up. Ha! I am laughing at that. But seriously, if you ever figure out what the secret is, can you share it with me? It can be OUR secret. K, thanks. LOL! I am not jealous of speed, races, etc but I am SO JEALOUS of healthy runners. I admit that for sure!!! Thanks for the support, Meg!

  15. It is so incredibly frustrating to put in an amazing training season filled with PRs and then watch the whole thing start crumbling down around you right before your goal race. I’ve been there and it just plain sucks.

    Calf strains can be tricky because if you don’t let the tear fully heal then you will just keep re-injuring it. I had one last year about 3 weeks before a marathon (that I did not end up running). I know that I made mine worse by continuing to try to run on it even though it hurt (and it started how yours is, where at first running seems to make it feel better, but I forced mine through a 20 miler where it hurt for the entire second half). It eventually got to the point that I could not run at all without excruciating pain. In the grand scheme of my running, taking 6 weeks off really wasn’t a huge deal. But at the time it felt like the worst thing ever. It was also my first major injury, which made it a bit easier to deal with as opposed to a years worth of problems.

    I think with 2 weeks of rest/recovery you could probably make the starting line of Indy in 2 weeks. You might have to slightly adjust your goal, but with cross training, it shouldn’t be too bad. That said, I would also be considering how you are going to feel after the marathon. If it is a calf strain and it isn’t fully healed, running could cause it to tear completely which requires surgery to repair it. That was the main reason I ended up choosing to DNS last year.

    Good luck figuring it out! I’ll be sending healing vibes your way.

    1. I had one in 2014 it did get better pretty quickly, so I am hoping for a similar situation here. I don’t mind taking a break after the marathon but I certainly don’t want to tear it, either! I don’t plan on doing any 20 milers before the race. I’m not going to run all week and see what happens. I might try to still pace the half on Sunday – for several reasons. It’s a conservative pace and half the distance I would need to run the following weekend so I can see how it responds. I won’t do it if I have ANY pain, though. It is a frustrating injury and I feel like there is such a fine line you walk with this one!! Thanks for the support and the kind words 🙂

  16. I turn into such a baby when I even *think* I might be injured. Full on tears and whining. Missing out on a goal race would be the literal worst. But like everyone else has said, rest and cross train and hope you can make it to the start line pain-free but know that one race isn’t worth a chronic injury (easier said than done). Sending good vibes your way!

    1. Yep – I straight up started walking last Thursday and I was crying like a huge baby. Anyone who passed me on the trail probably thought I was crazy. I hope it clears up fast. Thanks for the good vibes!

  17. Sending you prayers that your calf heals up soon! I’ve been there with calf/ankle injuries – no fun, so I feel your pain and frustration. My calf injury didn’t go away until I got some ultrasound therapy in PT and those were 6 very cranky weeks of barely running. It’s so unfair that you’re injured, because your training has been going so well and you’ve clearly been taking care of yourself!
    I recently read a story that the 2-week marathon taper started when some Olympic runner was sick and did not run at all for two weeks before the marathon, and then he totally crushed it. The rest could help you score a big PR at Indy – you won’t lose that much fitness and the rest/recovery could really help your calf in the meanwhile.

    1. Thank you so much! They are really the most frustrating injuries. And the last time I had this, ultrasound was what helped me too. I really hope it doesn’t come to that because I really don’t want to be in PT again. It is so time consuming. I have read that story of the Olympic runner being sick before his race. I am hoping for that kind of miracle!!!

  18. I don’t handle them well at ALL!! When I had the shin splints from hell.. I tried to keep running and push through. Made it worse…had to rest it and waited 6-8weeks, only to flair it up again a few months later! So much of my exercise identity is tied into running so when I CAN’T , I don’t know what to do!! Resting was NOT good, but it was necessary! Hang in there!

    1. Thanks! I am terrible at resting. Usually I’m good about cross training in the mean time, but this has been an ongoing saga that I can’t even stomach the thought of having to rehab an injury and cross train right now. UGHHHHH!!

  19. Booo, I’m sorry to hear things aren’t going your way. Just keep doing the recovery stuff you should do and hope for the best. And have some ice cream. Ice cream is good 😉

  20. WHAT THE HELL. I step away from the blog for one second and this happens!?!?! I am so bummed for you. 😦 REST. For reals. I know it sucks. And I know you’re a shitty Rester, but definitely let it simmer down. She’s angry. You have so many miles on those legs you won’t lose a damn thing. So don’t panic. You’re legs know exactly what to do. I’m going to light a candle for your calf tonight. That bitch better get her shit together.

    Ps. I have Pole Envy.

    1. Awww thanks Colby!! I am a such shitty rester, but I’ve been pretty good about it mostly because I’m cranky and partially because I’m just tired of the injury rehab scene! She is angry. Bitch needs to calm her ass down and realize she just needs to deal with two more weeks and then she gets 5 weeks of nothing before the Hansons torture begins (I am going for it btw – I’m writing a post on it and you know you are getting some shout outs). But for now, this fucker needs to cooperate and let me run my race, dammit!!!!

      1. Aren’t we all? After I ran my first 50K last year (which implies YES, there will be a second. I need revenge.), I busted up my Achilles and toe pretty bad. I suck at resting. It was awful. BUT. I also learned how important it was to listen to your body when she screams like a banshee and has a nervous breakdown. HANG IN THERE, GIRL! TWO MORE WEEKS! Rest as much as possible. Think of it like a big old taper. Because when you bust out the Hansons, you ain’t got time for that. Sending healing vibes…..xoxoo

      2. Thank you ❤ ❤ ❤ and DAMN A 50K?! You are a friggin badass. I top out at 26.2, I could never make myself run ONE STEP MORE than the damn finish line at those bitches. You are awesome!

  21. Ugh Allison, I’m so SORRY!
    I used to feel so smug when I’d hear about other runners getting injured because I thought it meant they were doing something wrong, and I was doing it right. It had to be a combination of too much/too soon for them, while I was doing great. I’m ashamed I thought that way though! I heard a podcast this summer when I was fretting over my achy right hamstring about an elite runner who’d battled every injury in the book. He was like “I’d done everything I could. Different training methods, all the cross training, all the stretching, none of the cross training, none of the stretching, drills, no drills, etc. etc. but I’m just prone to injury. That’s the way it is.” Running can be hard on the body, and anyone can get injured. Hang in there! I hope it clears up soon, but know if it doesn’t, there’s not a timeline for running. Runs end, running doesn’t 🙂
    Also, you are a total badass on that pole!

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words!! I always think about Ryan Hall when I get injured. Holds the title for fastest American man based on his 2:04 marathon PR but hasn’t touched it since then. He is constantly plagued by EVERY injury in the book and he has all of the resources available to him. It was my dumb fault for running that race. I know better. That was the cause here…my impatience and my stupidity! Ugh. This too shall pass, right?? I try to make that my mantra when I get injured.

  22. Sending healing vibes your way. It must be so frustrating!

    I know most people recommend icing injuries, but I’ve found whenever my calves feel off or tweaked, a heating pad does wonders. My (unscientific) theory is that it gets blood flow into the muscle for healing. If nothing else, it feels kind of nice.

    1. Thanks, Judith. I am so with you – I use my heating pad, not ice! I also have a TENS unit (what I had in the picture but never referenced in my post lol) and I do that with the heating pad. I think it feels much better!

      1. It is like e-stim – the only reason I have it is because one of my high school student’s is a runner and her dad is a sports chiro (who I need to get in with!), and he sells them. I borrowed hers and still have to return it. I don’t know if it works but I feel like I’m doing something, ha!

  23. I am soo sorry to hear about this Allison, I can hear how much you’ve put into this and so frustrating to be feeling this way! 😦 I am praying it will heal up asap for you after some more rest!
    I’ve sprained my ankles three times in the last few years (they are super weak) and taking time off is so frustrating!! I usually do a lot of yoga in that time which I find empowering.

    1. Yeah, this might be a good time to get back in that yoga practice flow! I need to make it through my marathon. But, over the off season I have planned I am totally getting back to my Ashtanga practice. Needs to happen ASAP. This just might be the catalyst to get me back to yoga!

  24. I’m bummed to read you are still hurting. Rest is probably the best option until race day. Your training has rocked, I don’t think you’ll lose any fitness between now and race day. Better to not aggravate it. Catch up on all the tv you may have missed. 🙂 That pole pose?! Seriously awesome, how is that even possible?

    1. Thanks Fallon! I’m not one that likes rest, but I completely agree with you. I’m actually more stressed about having to pace the half on Saturday than I am for the marathon. I feel like I have enough time to rest and let this heal until then, but I am torn about the half. I want to do it because I committed to it, but also to see how running 13 at a more conservative pace feels to test it out. But, that might be a bad idea because if I just rest it might be better. Such a fine line! I am just taking it one day at a time right now!

  25. I strained my calf last year and it led to tendonitis and then PF. It was a mess. Then, out of advice from my OBGYN (my foot was wrapped during my annual appointment) I went to the chiropractor and he adjusted my hips and started helping me work on hip mobility. I made it this entire running year without being injured. I highly recommend finding a sports chiropractor if you haven’t tried that yet, preferably one that performs ART. Also, while I was recovering I ran in calf sleeves. I usually hate them, but that seemed to help me get back into things without re-tweaking my calf.

    1. OMG you and I are the same person. I had a calf strain once before and it led to PF and then achilles issues. My problem is not stretching my calves enough. I do think I need to get to a chiropractor, too. I have a good one! He does ART. I might try for an appointment this week. Great idea. I also ran in my calf sleeves a lot when I was recovering from this before – looks like I will be breaking them out again! I know I have a break coming after this race, I just need to make it for 2 more weeks and then REST!

      1. Yeah mine had been post-tibial tendinitis so I was at least able to keep running. During marathon training I went to my chiro at least once a month and the Monday after my two longest runs for some ART and adjustments. I think that made a huge difference for me. I have to be diligent about stretching my calves but those issues really stem from my hips!

  26. 😦 I’m so sad to hear things aren’t going so well right now. I remember the anxiety and frustration when I got injured training for my first marathon and wasn’t entirely sure I’d be able to run it. It sucks, there’s no other way to say it. Just rest your body for now. Sending good vibes your way! ❤

Leave a Reply

