Indianapolis Monumental Training, Week 16: 10/12 – 10/17

Well, the name of the the game has changed but the game is still the same: yes, I just ran Hartford but that was not my final goal race for the season. Hartford, while I wanted to bust out a good time, was always meant to be more of a barometer. I learned a lot that day. I learned that I’m not in 3:02 shape. I also learned what pace not to go out when I show up at Indianapolis in a few weeks. I took the first few days post marathon easy and rested a lot. That’s what my body wanted. While running felt good and I only took two rest days from running, my calves felt a little sore once I got back to it. It’s all part of the recovery process.

I still have several weeks and several races before I finish out my season with Indianapolis. My training is now in the hands of Mr. Pete Pfitzinger (really, who I used for most of my training) and I’m following his “4 Week Multi-Marathoning Plan”. Well, sort of following. I kind of signed up for the Runner’s World Half Marathon, and it was a week after the marathon. Pretty sure Pfitzy wouldn’t approve of that…but it’s in my hometown. It wasn’t sold out. My friends were doing it. Hollie was doing it. I had 10-12 miles on the schedule for that day anyway. I needed to do it! It might have been a bad move because I’m now experiencing some pain in my left calf that I’m not happy about, but I’ll get to that.

Monday, 10/5 – Rest 

Zero workouts were planned, zero workouts occurred. I did, however, set a new PR. I think I PR’d in the Netflix Marathon.

Tuesday, 10/65 Mile Recovery Run + 5 Minute Plank

image

I left work just not feeling it, but I’m so glad I did it! My legs had a hint of fatigue at the start of the run, but once I got moving I felt awesome. I went a little too fast for a recovery run – I actually was texting and running in the last mile to slow down. I just felt really great. Overall pace, 8:16. A little faster than my recovery zone, but it was like my legs needed to prove something. It was a bit humid out, but the temperature was pleasant. I was running in Lehigh Parkway, which is a great loop in Allentown. I couldn’t help it: I saw a pole, and I hadn’t been at pole class since before the marathon and had to bust out some moves!

Wednesday, 10/6Pole Fitness

Headed to pole class, even though I felt like sleeping but it ended up being really fun! It’s always really fun, I just didn’t think I’d have the energy to do much. Maybe taking a break from pole for a few days was a good thing, because I learned a few new tricks and played around with a few things that had been giving me trouble previously. I don’t know the name of the pose and it isn’t the most flattering, but I learned a new back-bendy one:

image

Thursday, 10/7Recovery 6 Mile

Another gorgeous day at Lehigh Parkway, and I felt great! I went way fast in my first half of this run because I was chasing the boys cross country team from a local catholic school. Thankfully, they turned off the trail a little before the third mile and I continued on alone. I slowed down, and ended up averaging 8:11 overall. Not really recovery paced, but I felt good and it was really nice out.

Friday, 10/84 Mile Recovery Run + PM Pole Fitness

I’ve been having this problem where I can’t drag my ass out of bed in the morning lately. Since I only wanted to do 3-4 miles, I was able to sneak it in over my lunch! I never get to do that, but it was a really nice afternoon. I felt like crap running, but it was so nice out that I didn’t care:

imageAfter work, I headed to the pole studio and had a great class. I went with my sister in law. We worked on some combinations and new moves we learned on Wednesday night. I finally got this move called a Marley. It’s not hard and I even did it on spin pole (we learn the moves on static pole, and then once we master them we do them on spin pole because it looks prettier), but the last two times I’ve attempted it I had trouble. It always seemed really painful and hard to hold, but somehow it felt fine today. It’s really like a basic leg hang, but you bring your body off to the side of the pole and just hang from the back of your knee. It looks so pretty in combinations and there are lots of great moves you can do from this pose.

image

Saturday, 10/9 –  4.6  Mile Shakeout Run

I hate not running an even 4 or 5 miles – it drives me insane. But, Cassie and I went to the expo to pick up our bibs and cheer on the runners at the 5 and 10K, so we parked on the north side of Bethlehem and ran there. We ran to different locations on the course and cheered, visited the expo and ran to points on the 10K course to cheer again. We’d been on our feet for awhile so when we ended at our cars at 4.6, I stopped. Overall pace for the shakeout was 7:33, and that was too fast for a shakeout but were trying to get to different points on the course and see our friends so we got a little excited. We had a blast that morning cheering everyone on and hanging out at the expo.

imageI finally got to meet Hollie, who had an INCREDIBLE weekend of races – you should definitely head on over to her site and read all about how she crushed it this weekend!

image That night, I picked up Hollie and we headed out for a pre-race dinner and coffee, which was so fun! I love when blog friends get to meet in real life.

Sunday, 10/10 – Runner’s World Half Marathon

Check back tomorrow for a race recap!

Swim:  0 meters ♥ Bike: 0 miles ♥  Run: 32.8 miles

So I mentioned my calf, and I’ll really get into it when I write my race recap. In the days after Hartford when I was running, my legs felt fine. My only complaint was my calves got sore and felt really tight, but nothing I haven’t experience before. Not something I’d even think twice about normally – when you run lots of miles, something is always sore and tired. I put in much higher mileage weeks in the past, so I didn’t think it was an issue. They calmed down a bit by Saturday, and I didn’t think it was a big deal.

On race morning, everything felt okay – just a little soreness in the left one but nothing to be concerned with (or so I thought). Now, the left one is really mad at me. Now, I’m concerned. With Indy just a few short weeks away, I need to keep a close eye on this and focus on staying positive, rehabbing it, and getting in easy mileage. I have 20 days until race day, so there isn’t too much more I can do to prepare but there is a lot that I can do to screw this up. While I’d like to get to the track once and possibly run a 5K before the race, my focus is now on making sure I am completely recovered.

How was your week? Ever run two races in one week?

53 thoughts on “Indianapolis Monumental Training, Week 16: 10/12 – 10/17

  1. Laura October 19, 2015 / 8:32 am

    Thanks for coming to cheer! (Especially since it was so cold out) It was nice to finally meet you! I really hope the calf feels better soon. Also, that is a gorgeous shot from your Friday run- Northampton? So pretty!
    I’ve done the hat trick as well as 2 5k’s in a week, but not two long races. Actually last October I ran a 5k in the morning (fast, placed in my AG) and then a slower fun 5k in costume that evening. Can’t wait to get back into racing again!

    • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 10:37 am

      So glad we got to met – AWESOME JOB ON YOUR RACE!!! Ugh, would you believe I strained my calf at the half on Sunday? Seems like it’s getting better already but still so frustrating!!!!!! It was still such a fun weekend!

  2. Heather Shoe October 19, 2015 / 9:05 am

    I really hope your calf is feeling better soon. Two races in one week would almost certainly leave me injured, so I really hope that isn’t the case for you. I have like no resiliency though, races always leave me feeling completely drained and beat up. You seem to bounce right back from races without any issues, so hopefully a little extra rest/foam rolling/icing and you’ll be as good as new.

    • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 10:39 am

      Thank you! I actually felt a lot of relief when I read this comment just to hear someone say about recovering quickly. Put more of a positive spin on it! Hope you are RIGHT! Eeeek. I have actually run 2 marathons in one week before so that’s why the no hesitation for signing up for another race! Think it came back to bite me in the butt this time!

  3. Katie Pridgen October 19, 2015 / 10:37 am

    I don’t think I could emotionally handle two races in one week. I get absurdly (and embarrassingly) nervous for races. I think it’s a hold-over from running track in high school. So my races are few and far between, especially during the summer because I can either choose a race or a long, early bike ride up gorgeous canyons… it’s never really a tough choice!

    • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 10:43 am

      I would totally pick the ride up gorgeous canyons HANDS DOWN!

  4. suzysuzyheather October 19, 2015 / 10:46 am

    Ice that calf! OUCH. Nice “recovery” week, you crazy lady! Can’t wait to read about the half. You blow me away!

    • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 10:47 am

      Thanks! I am icing…ugh I am SO BUMMED. What is up with your hamstring??? I HATE TWEAKS

  5. sarahdudek80 October 19, 2015 / 11:20 am

    I hope you are feeling better soon! I love your pole pics. They always amaze me. And I always feel unmotivated to get out of bed these days 🙂

    • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 11:21 am

      Thanks! I seem to be a little better today. Hoping it continues to feel better!

  6. Mary October 19, 2015 / 11:32 am

    awesome job!! I hope your calf feels better soon. I always hate those persistent little pains. im having them on my shins this morning, i think my shoes are donezo and i ran 14 in them on saturday, probably not my best move hahah.

  7. thisrunnersrecipes October 19, 2015 / 12:19 pm

    I hope your calf feels better soon! I get calf problems all the time and I find that Vicks (like, that goopy menthol stuff for colds) really helps with calf pain. So weird, kind of gross, but it works (at least for me). Something in it loosens up the muscles I guess?
    I can’t wait to read about your half! The RW Half always looks so fun!

  8. liz October 19, 2015 / 1:43 pm

    Your pole workouts are beautiful! They look like so much fun, too. I like to roll my calves out with my Foot Rubz ball, which is a spiked golf ball. It does a much better job of breaking things up than The Stick or a foam roller!

    • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 2:02 pm

      Between you and Hollie, I have some new recovery items to buy. She recommended something called an R8 (sounds fancy!) and now the Foot Rubz ball…I need it. I forsee what my Christmas list is going to look like this year… 🙂

      • liz October 19, 2015 / 2:34 pm

        Foot Rubz is the best and cheapest investment I made in my running! It’s about 5 bucks and you can find them anywhere!

      • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:00 pm

        I am totally looking into this!!!!

      • Brittany October 19, 2015 / 8:36 pm

        Yes! The R8 makes a fab Christmas gift for the runner who doesn’t want to plank to foam roll.

      • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:05 pm

        Okay, now I need this thing. Everyone has this secret weapon that I know nothing about!

  9. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor October 19, 2015 / 1:54 pm

    Ooo! ooo! *raises hand*

    I had crazy calf tightness right after my first marathon – I had to take a week off running so it wouldn’t morph into a full-blown injury. I’m 100% sure it was caused by trying to do my first recovery runs too fast (I mean WAY too fast). My advice, in the next couple weeks: slow down. Take an extra rest day or two. For me, that was the only thing that helped (stretching/foam rolling seemed to make it worse).

    I love runchtime! It hasn’t quite cooled down enough here for me to do any lunch running – I don’t have a shower at work so I can only do it when it’s cold and I don’t sweat much. Last November-December I loved being able to knock out my run for the day at lunch, and I came back feeling so refreshed!

    • Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor October 19, 2015 / 1:55 pm

      Oh and another thing that really helps me with tightness – do you have a heating pad? I got a cheap-o one at Walgreens and it helped a lot with my calf tightness!

      • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 2:07 pm

        YES YES YES! Thank you for these awesome tips. I do have a heating pad!!! I went to the store before work today and spent like $70 on shit that probably doesn’t work but in my head it does. Of course some ibuprofen, but also tart cherry juice, turmeric, arnica cream, arnica tablets (homeopathic crap that I sometimes buy into)! I have been icing it but I think I should use my heating pad before I stretch/foam roll. I have a deep tissue massage scheduled for tomorrow night and my PT guy said he would evaluate it for me if I happen to be in his area! It already feels a lot better today. I’m also going to make a batch of my trusty bone broth, haha. It helped me a lot with my Achilles!!!

        I LOVED running at lunch last week! I hope to do it again. It was such a great day for it, too! My lunch and my prep are back to back so its like I have 86 minutes, but I really try to limit it to just my lunch period. Technically I should be in the building on my prep…technically…!!!

  10. Amy Lauren October 19, 2015 / 2:10 pm

    You are super good at pole and I love seeing the pics and how you do it to cross train. You’re the only runner I know to do that to cross train but I’ve decided the best cross training for any runner is the one we will actually do so yeah. It looks like a great workout for the core and break from running.

    Looks like you had a great week and really active for a recovery week. I hope your calf will be okay for Monumental!

    • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 2:14 pm

      Thank you Amy! I have a feeling I will need to add in some swimming, biking and aqua jogging over the next few weeks to get myself to the starting line healthy, but that’s okay by me 🙂 I am a bit worried about it, but it’s feeling a lot better today. I am going to test it out with a run tomorrow! I really love pole fitness! If you ever have the chance to try it, I highly recommend it!

  11. she's going the distance October 19, 2015 / 3:12 pm

    we’re gonna be in indy together! woo! I ran a half marathon (‘A’ race) and in the evening ran a fun 5k. It actually helped my legs loosen up!

    • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 3:15 pm

      Ahhh no way!!! We totally should meet up! Have you run it before?!

      • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 3:59 pm

        Yesssss!! Ahhh so excited!

      • allisonfiorini October 19, 2015 / 4:00 pm

        Actually, I’m going to the pasta dinner I just haven’t bought my tickets yet. Are you?

      • she's going the distance October 19, 2015 / 5:04 pm

        No idea yet! I have to see what my friend Marie wants to do. I’m staying with her that weekend. But I know Friday I’ll be free all day, she’s working. Maybe we can coordinate at the expo or something?

      • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:03 pm

        Yes!!! We are a bit insane and are driving in on Friday. But, we are leaving crazy early in the morning so we should be there at a reasonable time! We will figure it out as it gets closer!

  12. Hollie October 19, 2015 / 3:37 pm

    I had such a good weekend with you! I can’t wait to see how the deep tissue massage works for your calf. Like I said, I don’t think it’s anything too crazy and I know you are going to rock Indianapolis!

    • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:03 pm

      Thanks, sister! I hope you are right! Eeeeek!

  13. Fallon @ Slacker Runner October 19, 2015 / 5:54 pm

    That Runners World pic is awesome. It sounds like a fun weekend excluding the sore calf. I hope it is something that heals quickly, you’re training has been steadily awesome so far and I hope everything works out for your next marathon. That picture from your lunch run is gorgeous.

    • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:04 pm

      Thank you! It was nice to get out for a few miles over lunch and I hope to do it again soon..and I hope my calf heals up, too! Eeek.

  14. Brittany October 19, 2015 / 8:35 pm

    Ha! I saw Hollie was tagged in a picture this weekend and the name of the person she was with looked familiar. DUH. So funny!!!

    • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:05 pm

      Hahah! Next year, you should come run it too!!! It is such a fun weekend!

  15. Alanna October 20, 2015 / 3:10 am

    Nice “recovery” week! I hope that your calf feels better though. I love the Runner’s World cover pic!

  16. kiwiyogirunner October 20, 2015 / 6:10 am

    You are such a running machine! Such an inspiration! Pole looks like an awesome class, I would love to try it sometime. I hope that calf feels better soon – it is actually weird but my left calf has been sore all day and I don’t know why!! Sympathy pain?! I prob just did something at the gym (everything hurts after F45 training) but I have no idea what!

    • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:07 pm

      Thank you! I am loving the pole fitness. It has taken over my yoga practice at the moment! You have got to try it!!

  17. Shauna @ Happily TwentySomething October 20, 2015 / 9:55 am

    Look at all those fun moves from pole class!! I will have to try that out one day! Also, I saw tons of pictures from Runners World weekend and it looked like so much fun!!

    • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:08 pm

      It was such a fun weekend! You should come out for it next year – you are close enough that you could probably even get away with driving in the morning of the races!!

      • Shauna @ Happily TwentySomething October 20, 2015 / 12:17 pm

        I was thinking that as I was seeing all the pictures! And yeah it’s about an hour so it’s not a bad drive at all.

  18. Shawna October 20, 2015 / 10:08 am

    you.are.a.dynamo. first of all, take care of that calf, girl — sending positive vibes your way. i hope that heals quickly. secondly, THOSE POLE MOVES! i love the “oh, was out running and saw a pole, naturally had to climb on it” moment. haha you’re amazing.

    • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 12:09 pm

      Thanks, Shawna – I hope it heals quickly. It is still nagging and not fun but I have a deep tissue massage today and hope it will help!

  19. Lisa @ TechChick Adventures October 20, 2015 / 1:27 pm

    That’s cool that you got to use Hartford to test things out. That’s the part I find frustrating about running marathons – you don’t often get a chance to redo it! Not like running a 5K every weekend where you can just see what works. So much time involved for the whole thing!
    I totally thought you were falling off that pole in your Marley! Whew!! Incredible that you can hang on like that!!

    • allisonfiorini October 20, 2015 / 2:28 pm

      That pose is really fun when the pole is spinning!! I am hopefully getting a redo on the marathon – my dumb calf is hating on me!

  20. charissarunning October 21, 2015 / 9:15 am

    Your Friday lunch run view is amazing! Hard not to enjoy a run on beautiful fall days like that 🙂
    On another note – you are a total beast for running a half marathon the week after your marathon. I’m glad I decided not to do it though – I don’t think I’m ready for that. In the meantime – ice that calf and stretch a lot!! I hope it’s just a little recovery twinge and it will work itself out. Be careful with it! I don’t think you will lose any of your fitness level if you keep taking it easy another week 🙂

    • allisonfiorini October 21, 2015 / 9:35 am

      I am definitely taking it easy this week! I felt so good running the race but I had sore calves at the start. I had a nagging feeling it was a bad idea to run but I went anyway. I should have listened to my gut! But, I ran yesterday (6 easy miles) and went for a deep tissue massage. It was there when I ran and I had to go slow, but I could not have run on Monday even if I wanted to so that was already a huge improvement. What we (both my massage therapist and I) think happened was that I was not recovered and not properly hydrated (I was terrible with that last week!) and I got a cramp in my calf early in the race that lasted for the last 10 miles. The muscle was contracted and working for about 65 minutes at a high level so it’s just sore and overworked. I buy into it because I have strained my calf before and it happened in an instant – a tightness followed by a lot of pain – and I just had the tightness in the race. I wrote a race recap with more about it but I am waiting for the pictures to come out to post it!

  21. Nora @ 2 Generations Running October 21, 2015 / 7:14 pm

    I love your Runners World cover photo! 😉 And I don’t blame you for signing up for the half, I don’t think I could have resisted that either! Good luck in Indianapolis in a few weeks! I’m actually traveling there for work next week coincidentally. Can’t wait to hear how you do! Good luck with the calf – just take it easy and I’m sure you’ll be ok.

    • allisonfiorini October 24, 2015 / 7:28 am

      Thank you!! Calf is still cranky – we’ll see! Should be a fun trip either way!

  22. Judith / soveryslightlymad October 25, 2015 / 9:06 pm

    All I could think when I saw the picture of you doing your pole fitness moves in the wild was how I’d be eating dirt if I tried it.

    I was going to scan back through your blog to see if you mentioned a particular training plan. I keep hearing good things about Advanced Marathoning, mostly from people who are way faster than I am. I haven’t looked too closely at it, but I’m thinking I really should.

    I ran the Runner’s World Heartbreak Hill Hat Trick last year and ended up with a hip injury that took me over 2 months to feel 100% again. I think it was all the downhill that I wasn’t ready for, plus I ran the first two races way harder than I had planned, was hurt by the time I finished the 10k, and still chose to run the half the next morning even though I was limping a little. Dumb. Doing those three races felt harder on me than running a marathon. I thought the event was fantastic, even if I did end up hurt.

    • allisonfiorini October 27, 2015 / 9:00 am

      I do love Pfitzinger! I am considering trying Hansons for spring. Post on that coming soon. Hip injuries are tough! I am so sorry that happened to you. Doing multiple races is definitely rough on the body. I’m learning that the hard way!

Leave a Reply

