10 Tips for Being an Awesome Pacer

imageI swear after this post I will get off of it. But, I did a little investigating about the pacers at Hartford because I still couldn’t believe they would really be that off. They had one job, right?

Mr. 3:10, revealed:
Mr. 3 Hour:

Okay. Now I feel like I’m not crazy. Honestly, I think I have about a 3:05-3:08 in me right now. I don’t think I have a 3:02 in me just yet. To look at the bright side of things, I’m happy that I hung on to 3:02 pace as long as I did! I’ll call that a win.

So while letting good old Jeff get in my head on Saturday could have potentially hurt my race, I’m taking it with a grain of salt and I’m going to use his pacing error as a lesson. I’m pacing a half marathon in a few weeks. It’s a local one, called the D&L Half Marathon and I’m the 1:45 pacer. I’ve paced before – twice, 1:45 at the Garden Spot Half Marathon and once at the St. Luke’s Half Marathon as the 1:50 pacer. For me, 1:45 is a comfortable time to pace and I really enjoy it.

Being a pacer myself, I know there are two sides to Jeff’s story. I know that as a pacer, you have to go by your own watch. Anytime I run with friends, our watches never say EXACTLY the same thing. So there’s that. There’s also the whole ordeal with the beginning of the race, trying to keep the group together and stay on pace. That can be a little tricky, too. There’s so much adrenaline at the start of a race that it’s easy for someone racing to go out too quickly, and it’s just as easy (if not easier) for the pacer. The only problem is, the pacer is running a pace that is “comfortable” for them. So a few seconds fast isn’t a big deal – for them.

Let’s use my 1:45 time as an example. I should probably be running about a 7:57 pace throughout the race. 1:45 is an 8 minute mile, so there is no reason my first mile should be a 7:30. Or any mile, for that matter. But for someone pacing a 1:45, a 7:30 probably feels pretty comfortable. No big deal, we can slow it down in the next mile. Wrong. Going out even seconds too fast can make or break someone’s race. Someone with a 1:45 half marathon goal is now likely running around their 10K pace in the first mile of the half marathon. By the last mile, there’s a good chance their legs will be cooked.

I’m certainly not an expert on pacing. As a matter of fact, I suck at pacing myself in my own races because I’m impatient. But when I’m in charge of someone else’s day, I make it my mission to be patient and reliable because I’m there to do a job. Here are my tips on being a good pacer to help motivate runners and get them to the finish within their goal range:

1 – Be Prepared: Prior to lining up at the start, you should know what your pace per mile will be. That’s obvious. But you should also be aware of what what time you should be hitting cumulatively. So for a 1:45, I should hit mile one in 8 minutes, mile two in 16:01, etc. This way, if your watch is off you can adjust using the clocks on the course.

2 – Print out a pacing band: Did #1 make you panic because it involved runner math? Don’t worry, I suck at math. Websites like Runner’s World and MarathonGuide make it very easy to generate a pre-made pacing band that you can wear the day of the race. It doesn’t have to be pretty or fancy – just needs to give you a backup plan if your watch decides not to cooperate. Never underestimate the power of a simple piece of paper with some splits listed on it.

3 – Don’t go out too quickly: It’s easy to get caught up in the adrenaline of a race and start too fast – everyone knows that and mostly likely has experienced this. As a pacer, be mindful of your pace in the first mile, because you are setting the tone for these runners for the rest of the race. If the first mile is too fast, it could discourage runners in your group or those running around you. For example, if you are pacing a 3:10 marathon and are running 3:02 pace at the start, you are likely going to burn out those following you. There’s a good chance that your pacing error will also probably mentally burn out anyone trying to run faster than your goal time (ahem, me vs. Jeff!).

4 – Clock Watch: Watch your watch, but don’t rely only on your watch. Keep a close eye on the time clocks set out on the course like a hawk and adjust accordingly. If your watch is beeping before the mile marker, you might have to speed up a little bit to stay on pace and make your goal.

5 – Even Splits: Something else that Jeff had listed in his bio really bothered me. He actually planned to run a positive split for the race. On some courses, a positive split is normal and sometimes unavoidable. Like Boston: the first 16 miles have a net descent, and then you have more hills in the later miles of the race. While I would still prefer to negative split that course, it’s common to positive split that course. Usually by about 2-3 minutes if you are running it like a normal human (read: not like Meb or Shalane). As a pacer, I highly recommend running even splits regardless of the course. Not everyone trains for negative splits, positive splits, etc. If you are going to do something other than run even splits, make sure to tell your crew at the beginning of the race so they can make an informed decision about what they are getting themselves into. Not everyone reads the pacer bios (I wish I had looked that up before Hartford!) and won’t know your strategy unless you tell them.

6 – Let them go: You might find yourself running with some really awesome people in the beginning of the race, and you might really be enjoying their company. Suddenly, you look down and see you’re running too fast. Slow down, let them go. And encourage them: “You’re looking great! I’m going to slow down to keep the [insert goal time here] pace.” This way, if they feel good they can take off and not feel obligated to keep hanging with you. Or, they might not realize that they are speeding up and be relieved to see that you are taking your job seriously.

Even if it’s mile 10 of 13.1 and you’ve been with “Miss I really want to go sub-1:45 today”, you can’t take off with them and push them to a faster finish. You can encourage them to lay down the hammer and go on without you, but you can’t go with them. This happened to me this past spring while pacing the Garden Spot Half Marathon. I ran with a woman who wanted a 1:45. She ran 1:20s in her hay day, but had been seriously battling Lyme’s disease for several years. She finally found some relief with homeopathic treatments, and she was running her first race in years. We ran together through mile 10, and I could tell she was having a great day. She kept pushing the pace, and I had to keep backing off. At mile 10, I said to her: “I’m really enjoying running with you, so don’t take this the wrong way. You are kicking ass right now and can breeze through this last 5K. I can’t take off with you, but if you have it in you, you should GO!!” I wanted so badly to see her finish. She finished in something like 1:42, and waited for me to tell me about it. She was ecstatic.

My point? Even if you are only running with one person, you have no idea who in the general area is keeping you in their sights. Many times I’ve crossed a finish line and had someone come up to me and say, “Thank you, I kept my eye on you the whole time!” I never saw them the whole race – but they saw me.

7 – Be Encouraging: I’ve run with pacers before who don’t say a word. Maybe they bit off more than they could chew and were pacing something a little too aggressive, but say something to your crew! Even if you aren’t making conversation, you could always say something like “Great job on that hill, guys!” every so often. Making conversation is tough because most people are racing, not talking. Give them things to think about in the later miles of the race, such as telling them to focus on the reason they are running the race to take their mind off of the pain.

8 – Be their personal race assistant: Bring a few band-aids, some gels, maybe some little squeeze packs of Vaseline, maybe some extra safety pins. Grab extra water/Gatorade/Gels at the aid stations and offer it to the runners around you. Anything to make their day easier and to keep the focus on their race!

9 – Run the Tangents: Most people finish a marathon and their watch says they ran 26.5 miles. You can reduce the extra running for your crew by knowing the course ahead of time and running the tangents. Encourage your crew to run the tangents with you!

10 – This is NOT your race and it’s not about you: No matter if you finish alone or with a big group, remember: this is not your day. It’s wonderful that you are giving back to the running community, but this is not your race! Your goal is not to run a PR and to tell the group you’re pacing all about your PR for that distance. Sure, they will ask and you should answer honestly, but you don’t need to spend the duration of the race talking about yourself and your accomplishments. You’re pacing them – they already know you are faster than whatever time you are pacing. This day is about them! Enjoy a different kind of runner’s high: you helped people achieve their goals.

On the Flip: Use a Pacer, or Run Solo?

If you are considering running with a pacer, proceed with caution. Pacers can make or break your day. If you are trying to qualify for Boston and you know that it’s a lofty goal, really consider what you have to lose. For example: if you are one of my Boston ladies under the age of 34 that needs a 3:35 and you know that’s going to require all of the stars to be aligned for you, be prepared to be your own pacer. If the pacer for your time ends up being awesome, it will be an added bonus.

Use your own sense of pace (whether you are running with a watch or on effort) and execute your own race strategy. It will allow you to implement the strategy you’ve trained for, and the strategy that is optimal for you. In a marathon, start the first five miles running your own pace and your own race. Look around at that point – if you see a pace group near, you can likely use them as an indicator to help you in case you start to lose focus. If you notice the pacer pulling away, take notice of your time and your internal sense of pace to determine if they are speeding up or you are slowing down.

If you encounter a situation like I did last weekend where the pacer is way off, try not to panic. I know, easier said than done. I let it get in my head. Take a breath, look at your watch and focus on your own race. Ultimately, trust yourself. Now, if I could only take my own advice… 🙂

Have you ever been a pacer? Any good tips to add to the list? Any stories about running with a pacer – the good, the bad, the ugly?

65 Replies to “10 Tips for Being an Awesome Pacer”

    1. Totally agree!!! I had a feeling he finished ahead of time but I only heard it from other runners – I didn’t know for sure. Maybe I’m a little bit of a creeper, but I had to see if I was really that off or if he was just not running the race he was supposed to run!

  1. Perfect timing on this post! I’ve been waffling between starting with a pace group for my first marathon or pacing myself. I keep thinking back to my first half marathon where I started way too fast and slowed way down in the last three miles. I know if I would have paced myself better early in the race I would have had a faster time overall. But I also keep thinking about Charlevoix where I ran through an aid station right after a huge pace group had come through and none of the volunteers had water ready and I ended up having to wait until the next aid station to grab a drink. I don’t necessarily want to get caught up in that sort of mess either.

    Are you sure you don’t want to drive to Michigan and be my personal pacer on Sunday?

    1. Girlfriend, I would drive to Michigan ANY DAY to pace or run a race with you – that would be so awesome!! I wonder if I could make it to work on time on Monday. Hmmm. Kidding, I am running the RW Half on Sunday, haha! I think you should start the race at your own pace and if you see a pace group in your general area 4-5 miles in, you can safely assume they are pacing correctly and it might be beneficial to join in. I would not suggest attaching yourself to the pacer at the start, though! You have trained SO HARD and I really believe you have a PR in you. Trust your instincts and DON’T let bad pacers ruin your day! You are ready!

      1. I am holding you to this, btw. In a couple years when I am ready to go for a BQ you are going to come be my personal pace team/cheerleader :). As a bonus I can try to pick a race in a state you haven’t run yet, I mean if you haven’t finished all 50 yet.

  2. So basically….a good pacer needs to have the mindset of a good running coach. Funny story, the 4:40 pace group came by as and Rock and I were walking on the side and I was on my phone. A MDA Team Momentum member was with him and they were taking turns holding the pace sign. He saw that we were coaches and asked why we were walking. We said, because we are coaches and there is a group right there behind us that needs help. I couldn’t figure out who the MDA guy was and later realized it was the CEO….he was so spunky and just carrying that sign along. BTW, they were basically at a 4:20 pace and I kept doing the math to figure it out.

    1. I’ve never been a true running coach before (I’ve helped others here and there) but I think what it all boils down to is that as a pacer (or a coach), you are doing something for someone else. So it’s about being mindful of others and respectful of their goals and understanding that everyone has different abilities. LOL – I think that summary would have made my post a lot shorter and more bearable to read!

  3. This is such a big topic that definitely needs to be brought to light. I am so thankful that there are people like you out there who understand what it means to pace. You are awesome!! I’ve only ever been a personal pacer – not an official pacer – and I think that’s a much easier job because you just have to be aware of how that one other person is feeling and you can slow down or speed up according to their ability.

    By the way, I keep going back and forth in my mind about whether or not to follow your pace lead in our race coming up and I’m so torn. Right now, 7:57 pace does not seem realistically doable for me to hold onto and I really think that unless some kind of magic happens, I won’t be hitting on 1:45 in two weeks time. HOWEVER, I have another half in early December (Rehoboth Beach!!) that I’m hoping to make my big end-of-year PR push for. So for D&L, I’d love to just have more fun with it…I’m thinking that what will make it more fun is running with you as long as I can and then backing off when I need to. It might make for struggle bus city in those final miles, but it would be good practice for running that sub-8 pace and seeing where it takes me 🙂 Plus I tend to be able to hold on to harder paces longer when I run with other people!

    1. I’m just saying that at the DL Half, you should attach yourself to my hip and run a new PR. You might still have post marathon legs now but you have plenty of time to recover and that course is AWESOME. The wind will be to our backs (its always in your face when you run it in the other direction) and we will have a downhill grade working in our favor. Plus, I seem to remember you coming to run on the Saucon Trail with me before Grandmas and we ran something like an 8:20 pace while talking the whole time and it was NBD – the DAY AFTER your long run!!!!! On another note, I feel like runners just need to be aware when using a pacer. That person is volunteering their time which is nice for them to do, but they don’t always realize how big of a job they have! The runner is ultimately responsible for their pacing. I do think a good rule of thumb is not to start with a pacer, but to look around for pacers once you get settled and are a few miles into the race!!!

      1. Haha we’ll see. Sub-8 is still a pretty hard pace for me. I know I can do 6-7 miles, but 13?? We’ll see. But I do think if I go with you I’ll be able to see what I’m capable of. And if I hold on for 8 miles and then have to slow down? I could likely still end up with a new PR anyway so it’ll be fun 🙂

    1. Regardless of whether you decide to use one or not, just keep an eye on your watch and slow down if they are going to fast at the start! And if they take off and you stay true to your pace, I bet you will find yourself passing most of the people that started with that pacer later in the race (unfortunate for them, always makes me sad to see that).

  4. I have never officially used a pacer but I do like to keep them in my sights at different places on the course, so I definitely like #6. You never know who is watching you! This was really interesting to read since I always imagined there was like some super secret pacer training club or certification you had to get to be qualified, and that it was regulated in some way. Like how were they allowed to finish so close together and so off their goals?! I wonder if the read your blog, you could have a post-race interview, lol. If I ever have a super specific goal I am going to print out one of those pace wristbands for myself because I am bad at on-the-run math sometimes, especially race day.

    1. That’s the thing – I don’t know what the requirements are to be part of the larger pacing teams (like the Clif or Garmin pace teams), but for most races you just have to know someone on the committee that’s looking for pacers to get a spot. No qualifications required! It’s a little scary!

  5. i’m so glad you wrote this — this is the most comprehensive post on pacing that i’ve read, and since it’s something i don’t know a whole lot about and honestly haven’t put much thought into (hi, i just follow the guy with the sign i like for as long as i can and try not to beat myself up about it if i lose him), and this helped break things down for me a lot. best of luck in your pacing this weekend — i feel like you’re an amazing pacer. 🙂

    1. Thank you! This is just my two cents and what I’ve learned from my friends who have WAY more experience than myself. But I do have experience with bad pacers and know how it can really make or break your day. I just think it is important for runners to be aware that the pacers are human – they will make mistakes and go out too fast!! If you have a big goal, you don’t want to always place all your eggs in the pacer basket. I still keep learning that lesson the hard way!!!!

  6. I was a pacer once and not a very good one because I fell for #6. With that said, the directions and “training” as a pacer weren’t very good. It was a smallish race without many pacers. People were supposed to sign up for our pace group at the expo, and they did. The other 2:30 pacer and I met those who signed up that morning at a designated spot to run with them. Well, all of them were capable of better than 2:30 so we ended up running with them the whole time. My chip time was several minutes too fast, although we picked up a few runners along the way who were shooting for 2:30 and started after us (we started way at the back). All the runners who signed up for the group exceeded their goal and a few others did too, the ones we picked up. But then, it stinks for those who maybe were watching us for pace and hadn’t signed up, bc we were a little fast. I haven’t paced a race since. It’s not for me, but I’m glad I gave it a shot.

    I think running a 3:02 marathon when it was supposed to be a 3:10 is pretty rough. Everyone has off days running so I guess a pacer can have an off day pacing too. I will give the race I paced credit- there were 2 pacers for each time which is a good idea, especially in a marathon, in case something happens to one pacer. My friend paced a marathon and had to DNF bc he ran an ultra the week before and his body just couldn’t take it.

    1. But see, I don’t necessarily think you did a bad job at all – you were not given any instruction, so of course you would stick with the people you were running with! I think you did a great job especially based on the lack of instruction you were given. I might be a bit spoiled there: we have this fabulous group of local runners who really does an amazing job pacing. They take their job VERY seriously. They were the ones who recruited me, and they were the ones that told me how to get it done. It’s really interesting to hear from people who have been pacers in the past and to hear what kind of training they were given. Maybe the problem is not always with the actual pacer, but with the people who choose the pacers! There should be some sort of training – even if just an informal meeting before the race to go over the expectations of a pacer.

      1. The race I paced needed to give us more instruction, especially for first-timers who’d never paced before. We did stick with the people who signed up. Most races around here are small and don’t offer pacers. I did see where a half here was going to have some faster pacers like 1:35 and 1:40, which would be great. The fastest pacer at Charleston is 1:45, and I’m shooting for 1:40. I could start with the 3:15 full group for part of the race, but even then, that would start me off too fast (on track for 1:37 half and I’m not there).

      2. No, Charleston has 15 minute increments… 1:45, 2, 2:15, 2:30. We also had a lot of requests for 2:45 last year. Hopefully they will add some more pacers as the race is growing each year (it really isn’t a huge race by half marathon standards)

      3. I am surprised by that! Charleston was actually the race I wanted to do in South Carolina. But the timing of Columbia was better and I ended up doing that one. I think the Charleston course is probably a lot nicer but I had a very good experience in Columbia!

  7. I’m so glad you took the time to do the research on where these pacers ended up. Keeping them honest!

    I did my reading before the race (why was there no 3:05 pacer when that’s the BQ time?) and knew that Jeff wanted to run faster the first half but I never expected him to keep it up for the whole race.

    You had Ali written on the back of your shirt didn’t you? I think we played leapfrog for a while, I’m the guy with the long braid.

    1. But yes – it just bothered me soooo much that they were so off. I remember you running with that guy. I do wish I would have read his bio before. Is it creepy that I looked him up on FB and sent him a message? It wasn’t mean – just saying I was disappointed in my time and I wish I knew he was going to be that fast and should have talked to him at the start of the race! He never responded.

      1. I tried to find out more about the guy a few weeks before the race and I couldn’t find any other marathon results for him so already from the get-go I knew that he might not be the most reliable. Since he had written that he wanted to go out a little faster I figured I’d keep that pace to start with which would put me right on cusp of 3:05 and then either speed up or slow down depending on how I felt about it at the half.

        I’m interested to hear if you get a response from him.

      2. One of my friends who is a great pacer did a little bit of research when I told him about this guy and found out that he’s only run one other marathon and it was in 2:28! Still nothing back. I bet I don’t get a reply. My message was not mean, I think him for volunteering his time and just explained how mentally defeating it was to see him pass me. I didn’t tell him how to do his job I just basically told him how it made me feel in the later miles of the race from going out too fast!

  8. I really enjoyed reading this, Allison! We would all be lucky to have you as a pacer because you definitely take it seriously and clearly know what to do to get your group to the finish line at their goal pace. I would love to pace at some point. Any idea how one gets involved with that, especially since I have never been a pacer before? I mean I am sure they would want to choose someone who has done it before. How would I get them (whoever “them” is) to take a chance on a newbie?

    That 3:10 pacer… boy did he blow it. 3:02 is WAY TOO FAST! It would be interesting to hear his side of the story. I don’t think his Garmin could be THAT off.

    1. Call me creepy, but I actually found him on FB and sent him a message. It wasn’t mean, I just told him how I felt seeing him take off. I just felt like if he decided to pace again, he should know. I thanked him for volunteering his time, etc. To get into pacing, email the race directors for races that you might be interested in pacing. Start with smaller, local races and go from there. Once you get in with one race, the director will normally share your information with other race directors in need of pacers! I got shot down the first time I asked, but then they knew I was interested. When a spot opened up and I was emailed, I took it – best thing I ever did!! I love pacing.

  9. This was such a good post! I’m gonna be pacing a friend through his first ever 10k soon, and I’m really looking forward to it- doing all the race maths for him (cos I know I’ll be far more disciplined with someone else than with myself) and just cheering him along! Plus… you know, running a 10k without doing it at flat-out pace!

  10. Ahhh the subject of pacers gets the people in this house all in a tizzy because for Andrew’s first marathon, the pacer wanted to “bank time” at the beginning of the race. I met Andrew at about mile 6 and the guy already banked at least 5 minutes. He was a 4:30 pacer. So needless to say, Andrew crashed and burned. Poor guy.

  11. I couldn’t agree more with all your tips! I’m thinking about using one this weekend for my half or at least knowing who they are and try to stay with them/ahead of them but at my own pace.
    Wow, that 3:10 pacer was completely off!!!!

    1. Yes, trust in your training and in your own intuition! If it feels to fast at the start, back off and let them go – chances are you will be passing them at the end of your race. GOOD LUCK!!

  12. As we were talking about earlier, if you are pacing that is your only goal. The race isn’t for you but for the people you are pacing. The problem is that most people who choose to stick with a pacer, generally chose the time as a reach goal. It’s not easy and they cannot afford for the race to be taken out too fast!

    1. Exactly! For me, a 3:05 is a reach goal. I could not afford to go out too fast – and I did because I couldn’t just trust in my own ability. They are doing that job to help others – not for themselves!!

  13. Hey, 1:45 is my dream goal right now, so anytime you are near Ohio, look me up! 😉 I think you nailed in with these suggestions and tips. I’ve never run with a pacer group, but usually they look like they are having a good time and the pacer is their tour guide for the race! My husband paces me a lot and he’s the best because he refills my water bottle for me. If you’d include that service I’m sure you’d get an A+++++ in the pacer rating! He knows my “fade level” so we usually plan for positive splits, or maybe more of a bell shaped curve. I’m too scared to put my trust into a negative splits plan for a race and find out I can’t manage it after I did the “slower” miles!

    1. I agree with the negative splits – if you can put your faith in them, they work but it is so hard to trust that you will have energy left for the end of the race! I’m going to try my hardest at my next marathon to do that. We’ll see!!!

  14. You’ll have to update us if you hear back from him! I’m curious how he’ll take the constructive criticism. Running a 3:02 when you are the 3:10 pacer is so far off pace it’s kind of mind-boggling. Maybe he’s brand new to pacing? :/

    1. One of my friends who is a very good pacer was very offended by this situation and was the one who found his contact information. I guess he also found some of his race results and found that he has paced a lot of half marathons perfectly but he has only run one other marathon! I will absolutely do a post if I hear back! He did run a a 2:28 in his only marathon. Speedy guy!!

  15. Smart! You’re a good pacer. I pace weekly for our run clubs short runs, and have paced for half marathons before and I agree. It’s best to stick to what people have been told you’ll do, not haul ass and fry someone elses legs.

  16. Hey, maybe I should hire you as my personal pacer when I go for a 1:45 half sometime next year. 😉

    Love love LOVE this post. And holy crap, did the 3:10 pacer blow it. Even if he ran faster to finish because he’d already burnt out all his group, he should’ve stayed on pace in the event that a straggler decided to join his group late in the race to hang on to the rest of his/her race.

  17. Great post! I don’t think I could be a pacer, I don’t have that much control over my pace. At least not yet. I wish I could look up the 2:15 pacer’s time from my race last weekend. He went out way to fast – like a 9:30. The group was in front of me for a while before I passed them. I usually try to find someone who looks like they are maintaining the pace I want. This last race it was a woman in rainbow colored skirt. It worked for 8 miles. 🙂

    1. I think you could totally be a pacer! You have to keep a close eye on your watch and pace a time that you know you are capable of doing. I love that you focus on someone else on the course…how could you not focus on a rainbow colored skirt?! That sounds so fun!!!!!

  18. AMEN SISTER ! This is such a relevant post – it should be required reading material for all those taking on pacing duties!! I’m actually shocked at the finishing times of the pacer examples you used… It’s almost as if they forgot the responsibility part and just started racing. I’ve been lucky in only having positive experiences with pacers… they have all been very encouraging and helpful in taking your mind of the stress. I would definitely love to try out being a pacer one day!

  19. Great tips! I definitely think pacers should set aside any goals they have and focus on their runners, and you clearly do an amazing job of that when you pace. There is a HUGE difference between 3:02 and 3:10 – I can’t believe he finished that much faster! I had a positive experience with pacers at Portland for as long as I stuck with them (they started out at 8:20s and slowly worked to 8:05s, and they had two pacers for each half) but I’ve also run races where the pacers were a disaster.

  20. Even before you said anything, when I read that he wanted to do the first half faster, I was like, “Wha??” I”m no expert, but even *I* know that that’s not right. And for a pacer?? You’re gonna mess people up big time!

Leave a Reply

