What I’m Working Out To Wednesday

Cecilia and the Satellite
Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness

20131107-131103.jpgI know this song was pretty much all over the place for the past year, so I’m late to the party on this one. The album came out last year. I was trying to avoid it because honestly, I am kind of over Andrew McMahon. He was the lead singer in Something Corporate, and also tried again with a band called Jack’s Mannequin. I liked both of those, but they usually just had a few hits and then disappeared. Like, stick it out with one band already, Andrew. Geez. So when I first heard this song, I didn’t even have to look up the artist to know it was him – and I figured it wasn’t something that could be credited to either Something Corporate or Jack’s Mannequin and was likely something new. I was right – now he’s a solo act. Maybe that will work out better for him. I was still not sold on this tune. Then somehow it got stuck in my head, which lead to me downloading the album, and liking this song. I don’t actually like the rest of the album (at least, not yet) – I gave it a listen on my way up to Hartford this weekend. I love the lyrics in this song, but I think the rest of the album is kind of cheesy (couldn’t think of a better way to describe it).

“I’ve been knocked down, I got up again…”

What music are you listening to this week? 

13 thoughts on “What I’m Working Out To Wednesday

  1. Lisa @ TechChick Adventures October 14, 2015 / 9:20 am

    OMG, I LOVE that song! I heard an interview with the singer and he spoke about the lyrics and the meaning of the song (it’s about his baby). Chokes me up every time I hear it thinking about it. (and hey, super excited that I actually know the song you are talking about today!!) Have a good one! 🙂

    • allisonfiorini October 14, 2015 / 9:27 am

      See, now you tell me he writes music about his baby and now I feel like I need to listen to this album again! I wasn’t sold on the album, but love this song. Enjoy! xo

  2. Heather Shoe October 14, 2015 / 11:07 am

    Awww. I love Andrew McMahon’s music.

    • allisonfiorini October 14, 2015 / 11:11 am

      I love this song! I think I need to give his album another listen.

  3. Hollie October 14, 2015 / 11:22 am

    I just redownloaded the SIA cd. She is such a great artist.

  4. Alanna October 14, 2015 / 2:55 pm

    I didn’t think that I would like this song either, but somehow it really grew on me and now I love it.

  5. everythingswaiting October 14, 2015 / 3:26 pm

    Ah yes, I have been running to this one for a while. I have an old Jack’s Mannequin song on my playlist so I was happy to add this one. I guess I think him because he’s pretty much been under a different name for each phase of my life so it’s worked out nicely.

    • allisonfiorini October 15, 2015 / 7:52 am

      Is the Jack’s Mannequin song called “My Racing Thoughts”? I LOVE that song – it’s another one that’s been on my iPod since I first heard it!

Leave a Reply

