What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

Jimmy Eat World
Sweetness

20131107-131103.jpgI have a whole bunch of new music on my list for you, but it’s a marathon week for me and I’m going to share with you a song that’s been on my playlist since I began running eight years ago. You see, before I loved running, I hated running. I tried to like it. In high school, a friend of mine would try to get me to run with her regularly and I’d find any excuse to walk because it felt so awful. In college, I had a roommate that was an incredible cross country runner (I had no idea what that meant at the time) and she would try to get me to go out and run with her every so often. I’d go, and I survived but not without a bit of a struggle and a lot of whining. There was one summer during college where I did run almost everyday – two miles – in an attempt to lose weight. But once I went back to school, the running stopped. It wasn’t until after college that I received my first iPod nano that I thought, “Hmm, if I could run with music I might actually stick with it.” And I did. One of the first songs on my iPod was this one – Sweetness – even though it was already about seven years old. It comes from the album, Bleed American, which was released in 2001. I used to call it my “power song” because I used the old school version of Nike Training + at the time – when it came with a piece to attach to your shoe and was more of a pedometer – and you could set it up with a “power song”. Ha! Two iPod Nanos and one shuffle later and it’s still on my playlist. Enjoy!

Is there a song (or multiple songs) you run to that never leaves your playlist?

22 Replies to “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday”

  1. It’s been a few years since I ran with music. I used to always run with it and then got out of it when I had my kids, ha ha! I think I just needed quiet time / clear head while I ran and I’ve never turned back. Well, recently I thought about adding music to my running but I’m not going to do that in the next few weeks before my half šŸ˜‰

  2. Oh that’s so great! Love the song and the story, and the sentiment. I always have the song “Stage” by the band Live on my playlist. There’s something comforting and also energizing about having a familiar song on there. Oh and 50 Cent’s In Da Club is the song that I had on repeat during the marathon when I qualified for Boston so I keep that one on too.

  3. When I hear the first few seconds of Baby Boy by Beyonce, it takes me straight back to my first running playlists. Something about the intro I guess, just a tiny bit embarrassing.

    1. OMG I FORGOT ABOUT THAT SONG. I need it on my playlist for my marathon this weekend. You are the second person today to mention an old school song (how is Baby Boy and old school being used in the same sentence omg) that needs to be on my list!

  4. My go to songs include Don’t Stop Me Now (Queen), I Want to Be Sedated (Ramones), La Grange (ZZ Top) and Harlem Shake. I love your picks and have been adding them to my list.

  5. ahh i used to listen to so much Jimmy Eat World in college and my 20s. i remember when Bleed American came out as well. songs that always stay on my running list: something by Taking Back Sunday, and now “Girls” by the 1975.

Leave a Reply

