What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

Lana Del Rey
High by the Beach

20131107-131103.jpg

LANA!!!! Her new album dropped on September 18th. I love her. Love love love love. Love!!! Her voice is so pretty, but her lyrics can just be so dark or crude…which I adore. The combination of the dark lyrics and her voice is just fabulous. She is an all around stunning person – I admit that I have a total girl crush on her. I remember when I first heard her song, “Video Games” (which wasn’t her first hit or her first album, but it was what I heard first). It was summer, and I stopped whatever I was doing and downloaded the whole album – Born to Die. I honestly don’t know one song that she sings that I don’t like. Recently, one of the students at the pole studio actually did a routine to “Young and Beautiful”. It was incredible – the song combined with her moves was so gorgeous! Anyway, I’ve been anticipating this album all summer long, and her hit single, “High by the Beach”, definitely exceeds my expectations. I listened to it in my car on repeat a few times, and it is going to make an excellent addition to my running playlist. I’m currently making my way through the rest of the album. Check it out and let me know what you think!

Any good new music on your radar this week?

20 thoughts on “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

  1. Maddie @ Dixie Runs September 23, 2015 / 9:18 am

    I had no idea she had a new album out! I LOOOOVE her. Going to listen now!!

    • allisonfiorini September 23, 2015 / 9:36 am

      Enjoy! The whole album seems a bit slower but I think the songs are catchy in their own way!!

  2. Mary September 23, 2015 / 9:35 am

    FINALLY i disagree with your music!! 😉 I can’t stand Lana Del Ray. I’ve, for some reason, been listening to the “Romantic Dinner” playlist on spotify, specifically John Legend’s Ordinary People. Oh man. I sing it oooover and over.

    • allisonfiorini September 23, 2015 / 9:37 am

      Haha! It’s okay, I know a lot of people who don’t love her – we can still be friends 🙂 I will check out that song for sure!!!

  3. suzysuzyheather September 23, 2015 / 10:27 am

    WTH ALLISON. You’re killing my bank account. You’re my music guru. I may have a girl crush on YOU. ❤

    • allisonfiorini September 23, 2015 / 10:30 am

      HAHAHA. It’s LANA…I just couldn’t resist! I love her! And I totally have a girl crush on you. No shame here.

  4. Brittany September 23, 2015 / 11:05 am

    This girl is too cool for school. I love her stuff.

  5. Jamie September 23, 2015 / 11:24 am

    I love me some Lana

  6. Mom, Miles, and Mishaps September 23, 2015 / 2:57 pm

    I’ve heard of her as an artist, but I haven’t heard any of her music. That’s twice you’ve mentioned…NOW I have to listen to her!!!

    I’m feeling “Not Letting Go” by Tinie Tempah featuring Jess Glynne (who by the way is my new girl crush!!!!)

    • allisonfiorini September 25, 2015 / 11:45 am

      Yesss you need to check her out – and I need to check out the music you’re loving! Thanks for the suggestion!

  7. liz September 23, 2015 / 10:50 pm

    I love this album! I’ve been listening to it all night. I would have listened to it on my run today, if it hadn’t been a group run. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini September 25, 2015 / 11:51 am

      Ahhhhh it’s so good!!! A little slower than some of her other stuff but I love the lyrics…and her!

    • Brittany September 24, 2015 / 5:54 pm

      Oh and something I’m stuck on is Nathaniel Ratecliff and the Night Sweats, specifically “SOB”. It makes a good Pandora playlist for an easier or recovery run!

      • allisonfiorini September 25, 2015 / 12:02 pm

        Yes, I just downloaded that album last week! Need to listen to more it it 🙂 Thanks for the reminder!

  8. Run Colby Run September 25, 2015 / 1:09 pm

    Love me some Lana. Such a great quality to her voice. Good stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

