What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

Cold War Kids
First

20131107-131103.jpgMy running playlists are full of great music by the Cold War Kids! They have five albums out, and they are all superb. Their first album, Robbers and Cowards, featured their hit, “Hang Me Up To Dry”, which was what initially caught my attention. I loved “Louder Than Ever” off of Mine is Yours, so that prompted me to keep listening to them. When they released Miss Lonelyhearts in 2013, I was (and still am) OBSESSED with the song “Miracle Mile“. I put it on my shuffle when the album was released and that song not only hasn’t left my mix, but it never gets skipped. It’s the best. Even when I was writing this post and I looked up the YouTube video for the link above, I had to sit here and listen to it. While their new jam, “First”, from their latest album, Hold my Home, is no “Miracle Mile”, it’s awesome and is a welcomed addition to my iPod. If you never heard of these guys, you are in for a treat. Great band with great energy. The guy has a fun voice. Love!!! Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

21 thoughts on “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

  1. Rebecca Royy August 12, 2015 / 8:54 am

    Oh I like them too!

  2. Alanna August 12, 2015 / 9:06 am

    I’ve never heard of this group before, but I love this song. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Lisa @ TechChick Adventures August 12, 2015 / 9:45 am

    I was thinking I had never heard of this group too, but when I played the video I did recognize that voice! I’ve gotta say I don’t quite get into it, but I’ll stay tuned for next week and another selection πŸ™‚ I’m always looking for some new music for my runs.

    • allisonfiorini August 12, 2015 / 4:07 pm

      Yes!! Stay tuned! I think I already know what song I am going to post πŸ™‚

  4. suzysuzyheather August 12, 2015 / 10:47 am

    “Hold me again, don’t count mistakes…” Great song! Downloaded it!

  5. sarahdudek80 August 12, 2015 / 11:51 am

    Never heard of them before. If I can’t run its at least fun to build a playlist for my return to marathon training!

  6. nona August 12, 2015 / 12:28 pm

    I love Cold War Kids! They were here in Flag a few summers ago and I missed seeing them and I’m still so bummed about it! Great pick!

    • allisonfiorini August 12, 2015 / 4:14 pm

      Ahhhh I haven’t caught them in concert yet either!!

  7. skinnyrunning August 12, 2015 / 12:47 pm

    I have never heard of them. Will have to check them out.

  8. Fallon @ Slacker Runner August 12, 2015 / 5:38 pm

    I’ve heard of them but couldn’t tell you a single thing they sing. Maybe i should check them out!

  9. niki August 12, 2015 / 6:10 pm

    Enjoyed the songs you posted here, thanks. Good to hear something I haven’t head before, as I’ve not really listened to anything new in ages. The songs I run to are mainly ones that are at about the same speed as my cadence. But I also love the memories they invoke. I associate most of them with someone/something. That also keeps me going.

    • allisonfiorini August 13, 2015 / 7:17 am

      I love music for that reason – the memories! Sometimes even songs with a slower tempo get me moving since it makes me think back on a good time in my life!

      • niki August 14, 2015 / 6:49 am

        exactly! πŸ™‚

  10. cupcakesandmiles August 12, 2015 / 10:27 pm

    I’m so glad you only post your playlist pics once a week… my iTunes bill would get pretty out of hand otherwise. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

