Hartford Marathon Training: Week 5, 7/27-8/2

Back to the grind! Last week’s recovery week with reduced mileage and intensity was much needed and really left me feeling fresh and ready for a new week. My poison oak finally stopped itching, and my feet were able to get into sneakers without band-aids on my gnarly blister from the trail race. That alone was a success! I’d been feeling mediocre for the past few weeks so this week was a big confidence booster.

Monday, 7/27 – 11 Mile Run w/10×10 Second Hill Sprints (.5 miles) + Strength/Core

I headed out a little too late in the day but did 11 miles plus some hills. Nothing too crazy, just a nice aerobic run that felt good. Kept the pace comfortable, and my iPod died in the first mile. I was pleasantly surprised that I didn’t miss it too much! Overall pace, 7:48. Competed some nice hill sprints on a hill I never thought to tackle right at the end of the run and felt pretty strong. Did some drills and MYRTLS, then headed to the gym but just lifted arms and abs. I knew what I had on tap for Tuesday and needed to save some energy.

Tuesday, 7/28 –  9 Mile Tempo Run w/4 Miles @ Half Marathon Pace + Pole Fitness + 25 Mile Ride + Core It was hot and humid, and I headed out way too late AGAIN. I have no reason not to be out running before the sun and humidity get stupid, but I keep sleeping too late and enjoying my coffee from my couch for a little too long. Summer will be over soon and school will begin, leaving little opportunity for sleeping in and just lounging around, so I can’t get too mad at myself. I started running by 9am and was a little concerned that things wouldn’t go so well…but I had a great run! It was another situation where I needed to use a race pace, but I haven’t raced a half in years. My half marathon PR is from 2010 – I haven’t raced one since and I’m gearing up for two of them right now. In 2010, I ran a 1:35, which was something like a 7:17 pace. The McMillan calculator basically gives me a range of 6:45-7:02 as my likely half marathon pace, so my goal was to see how many tempo miles I could hit under a 7 minute pace since that’s what I want to try to do for the second half marathon that I’m racing this fall. If I were a sub-3 hour marathoner, my half marathon pace would be predicted to be around 6:32, which is too aggressive right now. Going into the run, I decided if I felt decent for the first three tempo miles then I’d I’d try just one mile at the more aggressive pace. I’m really, really trying to run the paces that I’m capable of to ensure that I don’t injure myself or burn out, but every so often I like to up the ante. The run was a success! Everything was a negative split – even my warm up and cool down, which I didn’t realize until the run was over! I was thrilled: Screen Shot 2015-07-28 at 10.18.05 PMOverall pace, 7:11! Where was THAT over the past few weeks?! I headed to pole class to meet my friends right after that, and it was ROUGH since I was beat but I still had fun, and I was able to walk away with one new trick – Butterfly Pose (yes, that’s all dried up poison oak from last week and bruises from pole class all over my legs – EW!): i I promised my friend, Amy, who is a super speedy runner suffering from a calcaneous stress fracture right now, that I would bike with her. It was so hot and I was so ready to just sit by my pool and relax, but I know what being injured is like alllll too well. I know when people cross train with me during those times, it means a lot because one of the things I love about running is the community of friends I’ve made and their support. So, I grabbed a smoothie and we had a great ride – I’m talking my best ride this year. We covered 25 miles and averaged 17.4 mph! I don’t know if I’ve ever averaged over 17 mph on a training ride. I can usually ride somewhere around 18 mph (depending on the distance) in a triathlon, but I never see 17 on training rides. No idea where that came from. Since I was already worn out, I went home and did some drills, MYRTLs, and abs before finally floating in the pool. It was an awesome day and exactly what I needed after the past few weeks of rocky running. 

Wednesday, 7/2923 Mile Bike, 5 Mile Transition Run  +  Strength/Core + Pole Fitness Got out a little earlier and ended up getting in a solid transition workout. I headed out on my bike, did a decently hilly loop and was able to hang with a 16 mph average for the ride. I’ve been feeling a lot better on my bike – though wish I had some time for some longer rides. It tires out my legs for my runs, and that’s what I really want to focus on this summer. Headed out for my five mile transition/recovery run immediately after. Since it was scheduled to be a recovery run, I kept it in my recovery range and managed a fast finish mile. Overall pace, 8:20. Did some MYRTLs and drills, then headed to the gym so I could just lift legs and abs. After a nice relaxing afternoon by the pool with friends, we headed to pole class for the evening. It was a rough class – I was pretty tired and just added more bruises to my legs and arms instead of actually accomplishing anything! It was fun to hang with my friends anyway. 

Thursday, 7/305 Mile Hill Run + 2000 Meter Swim + Pole Fitness + Core/Yin Yoga Another early morning because I wanted to be done running and swimming before headed to pole class at 10:15. I ran the Honeysuckle Hill run that I did last week: image

It’s 925 feet of climbing over 5 miles, and the half I just signed up for is 900 feet over 13 miles. I feel like this is a good workout, though I never push the pace on this hill run. I try to focus on running steady on the uphill, and then letting myself go on the downhill. Not sprinting the downhill, just working on not putting on the breaks and letting gravity do it’s thing. I felt more comfortable this week, but I was definitely fatigued when I began the run. Overall pace, 9:12. Headed right to the pool but only had time for 2000 meters. I felt kind of crappy swimming, but I wasn’t too worried. I’ll be on vacation at our lake house next weekend and will open water swim almost everyday. It felt good to loosen things up in the water. Even though I’ve only really been swimming once per week over the past few weeks, it’s better than past summers. I hate swimming inside when it’s so nice outside that I usually stop swimming during the summer altogether. Just the fact that I’ve been making it to the pool is a step in the right direction.

I was so stiff and sore and had no idea how I would handle pole class, but those are the days when you surprise yourself! Got two new tricks that I’ve been working on for a little while now, though the one on the right is definitely still a work in progress:

Came home and forced myself to do a little core. I know with being on vacation next week I’ll slack in that department! 

Friday, 7/3115 Mile Run w/8@Marathon Pace + Strength/PT/Core I was really nervous about my run because 8 miles at marathon pace means about a 7:05 pace- faster if I’m trying to break 3 hours. But, let’s not get ahead of ourselves here. I haven’t done much speed in this block yet so it scared me to have to hold 8 miles at that pace. I figured I could do 4-5 at that pace but I had no idea if I could hold it for longer at this point. I ended up going somewhere a little flatter to run to have a better chance at being successful. I have plenty of long runs with no pace goals that I can do on the hills and wanted a good confidence booster. I didn’t mind going a little faster if I felt good because I knew the following week of running will be a slower one since I’m on vacation. I felt awesome and my run was a success!!   Overall pace, 7:22! What!!! I was thrilled, and began to wrap up a productive week. Did some drills and some MYRTLs, then headed to the gym to do strength, core and PT since I won’t be able to lift on vacation. I was on cloud nine!

Saturday, 8/1 – 11.1 Mile General Aerobic Run + Swim + Yoga/Core

First day on vacation at Babcock Lake! My husbands family has a house right on the lake: 

My goal was to get out for a run with no pace goals. It’s super hilly here and every run averages some sick elevation gains. I had the 15 miler the day prior so I expected a struggle. I felt surprisingly decent but was pretty fatigued by the end of the run – I spent the whole afternoon napping on a raft on the lake! Managed a pretty fast finish mile anyway, and my overall pace was a 7:46. Followed it up with some drills, MYRTLS, and Summer Shandy!

Sunday, 8/2 – 1.1 Mile Open Water Swim + Core + Yoga

Ahhhh, slept in on vacation and did zero running!!! That felt awesome. I was actually really sore and needed it.  Once I had some coffee and breakfast, I unrolled my yoga mat and and did about 20 minutes of abs, and  this awesome yin yoga video to stretch my achy legs:

Yin Yoga

Once the weather warmed up, I zipped up my wetsuit and swam the entire length of the lake, 1.1 miles in 31 minutes:

  

Swim:  3700 meters β™₯ Bike: 47 miles β™₯  Run: 56.6 miles

Felt great to hit that kind of mileage this week and feel strong. I’ve felt pretty rough in the three weeks before this one and really needed a week where running felt good! I know I have a week of running at the lake house ahead of me so I expect to slow down a bit, but it will be productive regardless since it’s going to be all about the hill training.

How was your week? Have any really good runs or workouts that boosted your confidence?

48 Replies to “Hartford Marathon Training: Week 5, 7/27-8/2”

  1. Wow you killed it this week!! Great pace on your long run (and all of your other runs). I can’t believe you are only in week 5! I had a good long run which always helps to boost my confidence and just lets me know I’m on track with my training… always a good feeling!

    1. Thank you!! I will probably suffer hard for the next two weeks or so after pushing last week but I needed that!! So glad to hear you had a good long run. I need to get caught up on how everyone’s weeks went!

    1. Thank you! Yes this week will be more about hills and scenery than pace! I am absolutely in vacation mode! Hope you had a great week too – going to do my best to get caught up tonight!

    1. Thanks!!! I survived two last week but plan to do zero this week and I’m sure I’ll still be paying for it!! It was a good week!!! I have some catching up do to here to see what you’ve been up to!

  2. Oh this was lovely to read! Well done you. You sound like your buzzing. I also love the pole fitness thing. My friend does this, and I’ve seen her grow into an amazing gymnast. It’s beautiful. Enjoy the hills πŸ™‚

  3. Great job last week! That tempo & MGP run would scare the heck out of me- but you killed them!
    I’ve definitely pulled the flat course for a hard workout thing before. Sometimes I think a confidence boosting run matters more than challenging yourself on a tough course – because confidence is partially what it comes down to on race day anyway, right? πŸ™‚
    I hope you’re enjoying your vacation!

    1. Thank you! Omg they scared the crap out of me. I feel like the confidence boost is way more valuable than the course itself for sure!! I’m in tot vacation mode. Hope you’re having a good week!

  4. Wow you had another amazing week! Great pace on your long run & all of your other runs too for that matter. The humidity last week was pretty brutal here so I’m hoping for a break this week so that my runs are more enjoyable. I hope you are having a great vacation!

  5. Congrats on your 15 miler!!! Great paces. It’s nice to see hard work pay off. My best run this week was a 7 miler in which I actually managed to get up early to do in order to beat the heat. I was just on vacation these past 3 days and haven’t lifted so that it what I know I need to do tomorrow!

  6. I’m so far behind!!! Holy hell though you are killing it with these runs! I especially love your tempo and long run progression!! Girl, how are you pulling this off in the heat?! What’s your secret go-juice?! (Maybe those pole classes are seriously helping! lol) Anyways, can’t wait to see what you can pull off next!

    1. Thank you!!! Ahhhh I just get up early and refuse to use the dreadmill because I HATE IT. I really think your body adapts after awhile. But, even when I feel good the heat and humidity is ROUGH. Can’t WAIT FOR FALL!

Leave a Reply

