Survey Says!

Good afternoon and happy Sunday! Amanda at Cupcakes and Miles tagged me in this fun little survey about my favorite topic…what else…running!!! Thanks for the tag, this was fun!

1. Would you rather run along a beach path or mountain trail?

Mountain trail for sure! Love the beach, but mountain trails and their terrain are always so unique and challenging:  

2. If you could choose the flavor of Gatorade at your next race’s aid stations, what would it be?
I am not a fan of orange flavored beverages but one time, I ran a marathon with orange Gatorade. The weird flavor choice was actually so refreshing and fun and I would absolutely pick that!

3. If I gave you a $100 gift card to a running store, what would you purchase with it?

Sneakers. I go through them so fast! Most likely a pair of the Brooks Pure Connect since they seem to wear out after about 300-350 miles! 

 4. Do you prefer to follow a training plan or wake up and then decide how far and how fast you want to run?If I’m training for a race (which is often), I need a training plan to keep me focused. But I’m planning to wake up and decide how far I want to run for the month of November and I’m looking forward to that!  

5. Would you rather start your run with the uphill and end on the downhill or start your run with the downhill and end with the uphill?
I’d rather the uphill first but if I’m feeling super motivated I do it at the end for the challenge!

6. When you can’t run, what type of cross-training do you choose to do?

Swimming, cycling, yoga, recently loving pole fitness and in the winter, skiing!
  
7. What is your preference—>out and back, point to point, or loop runs?

Loops for sure – keeps it interesting and you don’t really see the same thing twice!

8. If you could recommend ANY running related item to a new runner it would be…?

Good sneakers that are only used for running. People who just start don’t always take that seriously and it’s so important!  

9. Do you see any wild animals while out on your runs?

Mostly just the usual squirrels, bunnies, groundhogs, etc. But at the game preserve, I see bison! One time I saw a fox! And most recently, this big cat was spotted on my favorite trail (I didn’t take the picture and k definitely would prefer not to encounter it):  

10. Ever gotten lost while out on a run?

Yes, several years ago when vacationing at Babcock Lake (where I am right now) I went out for 13 mile run that turned into a 17 mile run. It was so scary. I was exploring some back roads and got very turned around. It was unpaved and more like trail running, but finally thought I got back on track. Until I passed the same house twice and realized that I just repeated the big loop and was still about 5 miles from our lake house. Luckily, the family from the house I ran past twice was outside and realized what I did. They were very kind, even though I was a little nervous to trust random strangers in the middle of the woods! They gave me a glass of water and drove me back to our house. All I had before that run with a cup of coffee so I was pretty dehydrated and hungry! Needless to say, I don’t venture off the more main roads when I run up here!

11. If you could have one meal waiting and ready for you each time you got home from a run for the next 30 days…what would it be?

For now much I love food, this question is the hardest! One meal?! 30 days? Hmmmmm. Probably sushi. Or a smoothie with some serious goodies in it. Or french fries, ha!  I’ve been really loving my sushi this summer, and we have Wegmans by us so it’s convenient to grab at the grocery store in my lazy post run state!! But smoothies. How about just all of the food?

 
12. Capris or shorts? What do you run in most?

Shorts! I wear capris a lot in the fall and spring, though!

13. At what mile (or how many minutes) into your run does your body start to feel like it is warming up and ready to go?

Usually takes me about 3-4 miles but if I’m feeling super cranky and I’m on a long run, it could taken up to 10 miles! 

14. What do you do with your key when you run?

Either the back pocket of my shorts, tied to my shoe or just tossed behind my tire of my car. I get lazy!

15. If you could relive any race that you have done in the past, which one?

Either the 2014 Boston Marathon or the 2014 Charlevoix Marathon. That year in Boston was so special to be part of, but Charlevoix was my marathon PR and I never felt so incredible for a whole marathon as I did that day, from start to finish. I’m still chasing that feeling and hope to feel that good during a marathon again soon!  

16. What type of run is your least favorite?

I love all types of runs but there are some that make me intimidated and a little cranky before the run. Any hard speed work gets me a little anxious before, but if I nail the workout I will tell you it’s my favorite type of run right after!

17. When you go for a run, do you leave from your front door or drive somewhere to start?

Mostly I drive somewhere because I live on a main road and at the base of a mountain. But if I need to do a short run before work or a hill run, I leave from my house!

18. When running in daylight, are sunglasses a must or an annoyance?

Annoyance! But I want to wear sunglasses. I think I just need to find a good pair!

19. When you get tired, what keeps you from quitting?

FOOD! Also because I feel like pushing through fatigue will make you stronger. But mostly, the promise of food 🙂

Sorry for all of the typos- had to do this post from my phone!  

Tag, you’re it:

24 thoughts on “Survey Says!

  1. liz August 2, 2015 / 7:17 pm

    I love this survey! I also get only about 300-350 miles tops out of shoes. I run with a pair of Ironman brand sunglasses I found for super cheap at Walmart. They are really durable and comfortable if you’re looking for a pair!

    • allisonfiorini August 2, 2015 / 7:20 pm

      I am and I will totally check them out! I use my biking glasses sometimes but they aren’t so great for running. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. Amy Lauren August 2, 2015 / 9:40 pm

    I will probably steal this survey, just sayin. It was fun to read!

    I tried on the Pure Connects and didn’t like them, I liked the Flows a lot better. The connects felt weird on my arch. I ended up buying New Balance, though I’d try Brooks again in the future (had the original flows). I’m totally with you on the running store gift card though, would have to buy shoes with it!

    • allisonfiorini August 3, 2015 / 5:42 am

      Yes!!! Steal away, I love reading these!! I have yet to try the flow. A Brooks rep told me to go with the Connect and my running store actually has to order them because they hardy the flow and the cadence but not the connect. Maybe after this marathon training block is over I’ll get on board with the flow so I can get my hands on them easier! You’re the second person who told me they like the flow better but I’m too scared to change anything right now!

  3. Alanna August 3, 2015 / 5:18 am

    Cute survey! Good shoes are so very important.

    • allisonfiorini August 3, 2015 / 5:44 am

      Agreed! They eliminate lots of problems early on and help make running feel good!

  4. Ginny Yingst August 3, 2015 / 5:45 am

    I Liked this. I’m going to use it to help me define my own run profile

    • allisonfiorini August 3, 2015 / 5:53 am

      Yay!! It was so fun to answer. Can’t wait to read yours!!

  5. Laura August 3, 2015 / 7:42 am

    Fun…I love reading these surveys 🙂 I also love my pure flows, and only wish they lasted longer, but those connects in your picture are pretty rad looking. I’ve never tried those. I am also glad I have never run into that big kitty at Trexler. I know there was a mama/baby bear (my friend and I saw the baby) at one point last year, that was scary enough!!

    • allisonfiorini August 3, 2015 / 1:47 pm

      That’s my biggest problem with the pure project line. They wear out soooo fast! I need to get a pair of the flows. I can’t believe you saw a baby bear there ahhhh! I’m up in NY and saw bear scat on my run today but thankfully no bear!

  6. Melanie @ Runnergirlinarockingworld August 3, 2015 / 8:34 am

    What a fun survey!! I’ll work on mine for this week. I’m with you on the sunglasses. I know I should wear them but they annoy me too. Mine fog up! It’s awful. I spend more time cleaning them than I should. lol

    • allisonfiorini August 3, 2015 / 1:54 pm

      Ahhhh my sunglasses fog up too. Drives me insane!!!

  7. Jamie August 3, 2015 / 10:03 am

    Love love love surveys! I’m all about beach running although to be honest I haven’t given trails their fair shot… Hope you have a fabulous day!

    • allisonfiorini August 3, 2015 / 1:56 pm

      And I probably haven’t given beach running a proper shot myself! I need to do more of that!

  8. Megan @ Meg Go Run August 3, 2015 / 10:51 pm

    I totally agree with you about speed work. I get very anxious beforehand but feel so accomplished after!

  9. kiwiyogirunner August 7, 2015 / 11:26 am

    Loved this survey! Hmm that food question is super hard… I guess I’d have to say cereal every day after my run! I can’t get past that! 🙂

  10. charissarunning August 14, 2015 / 1:34 pm

    How behind am I that I didn’t even notice this?! Love this! Yay now you gave me something to do on a Friday afternoon 🙂 Um and OMG french fries! YES! ❤

    • allisonfiorini August 14, 2015 / 5:50 pm

      YESSS can’t wait to hear what your answers are!!

  11. runsaltrun August 20, 2015 / 11:12 am

    I so wish I could wear shorts all year round. We are getting dangerously close to running tights weather and I hate them.

    • allisonfiorini August 20, 2015 / 4:27 pm

      Ugh, I know!! I love my shorts so much! I can’t believe how fast the cooler weather is approaching.

Leave a Reply

