Goodbye July and Off the Grid!

I won’t be posting so much over the next week because we are at our family lake house in upstate NY/southern VT! So any posting I do over the next week will be from this view:


I don’t get much service up here so that’s the only place I can sit and catch up. I’ll do my best to keep up with everyone! It will be a nice relaxing week with lots of running and swimming. I brought my wetsuit to swim the lake and make sure I still know how to get into it for my tri on 8/9!

As for July, it was overall a good month:

  1. Total run miles: 213
  2. Longest run: 15 miles
  3. Number of races: 3

I went back and tried to compare where I was last summer versus this summer. It’s hard because I did suffer from a temperamental calf strain last year but when it felt good, I ran well. In terms of pace, it seems I was a bit faster but I was also training for a September marathon, whereas this year I’m training for an October race and my focus hasn’t really been on speed yet, just trying to build miles safely.

Today kicks off August, and I’ll be spending the whole first week of the month training at a bit of elevation and in the mountains. Last year, most of my mid distance runs averaged about 1000 feet of elevation gain and my long runs closer to 2000 feet of climbing. Needless to say, this isn’t a week where I am going to stress pace but increasing my aerobic capacity on hills and more base building.

I hope everyone has a great weekend!

32 comments

  1. Is the steering wheel on the opposite side or does it just come out like that in a photo? Man, I’m such a dork. Hope you have a great time on your vacation. That’s cool that you brought your wet suit for swimming. I can’t even imagine swimming like that in open water. You’re amazing.

    1. Thanks! We will see how motivated I am to actually use the wet suit. It just came out that way in the picture! I was trying to contort myself in all kinds of weird positions to try to get comfortable enough to take a nap. Didn’t work so I resorted to selfies!

  2. Have a great time on your trip! have fun with friends and family and don’t worry about posting and blogging- the internet will be here when ya return. Sounds like a great month of training as well!

      1. I am in Burlington, which is definitely at least three hours. But hooray for VT anyway! Bennington and southern VT are great; my father’s family is from the southern part of the state and we lived in that area for a while when I was a kid.

      2. I need to get to Burlington one of these days to check out the Magic Hat Brewery. Have you been to it? Every year my husband and I say we are going to take a trip up your way for that!

      3. I’m not a big fan of Magic Hat beers, but there are PLENTY of other breweries here in town that I frequent. Switchback is our favorite, and conveniently just a 10 minute walk from our apartment šŸ˜‰

      4. Good to know! My husband is a big fan of Magic Hat, but he just loves beer in general. I’ll have to mention the abundance of breweries up there. Sounds so awesome!

Leave a Reply

