What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

Florence + The Machine
Ship to Wreck

20131107-131103.jpg

There’s a lot of great new music out there right now, but I’d be remiss if I didn’t pay some homage to my girl Florence, of the incredible Florence + The Machine. They released their new album at the end of May, but I’ve been digging “What Kind of Man” since they dropped that single in February.

I had the opportunity to see them in concert back in 2012 – we drove to Atlantic City, and it was one of the best concerts I’ve ever attended (I think say that about every concert I go to…but I mean it!). If you ever have a chance to check them out in concert, it’s not an act to miss.

I’m still making my way through their album, but I’m noticing a religious theme here – lots of mention of saints and bible references. But “Ship to Wreck” is a song speaks to me personally because it’s all about how you can be your own worst enemy. In fact, when Florence Welch wrote the song and was asked about it, she was quoted:

“I was thinking about my own self-destructive side, and how you can make something only to tear it down,” Welch said in a statement on the new song. “When you’re in that whirlwind, you often end up breaking the thing you love the most.”

I think we all have a tendency to do that. I know I do. If anything, it makes a great upbeat addition to a summer playlist!

Enjoy! xo

14 thoughts on “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

  1. Maddie @ Dixie Runs July 15, 2015 / 7:34 am

    Love it! I have several Florence + The Machine songs on my running playlist.. Dog Days are Over always gets me moving!

  2. klregan July 15, 2015 / 9:19 am

    I like this song! I’m adding it to my running playlist.

    • allisonfiorini July 15, 2015 / 10:30 am

      So glad!! I had it on repeat on the track today!

  3. suzysuzyheather July 15, 2015 / 12:45 pm

    I love her. Her quote reminds me of the scene from Tommy Boy where Chris Farley destroys his dinner bun at the diner. He’s all, “oh I love my little pet, I poke it, I love it, I kiss it, and then I DESTROY IT!” and bun goes flying everywhere. Sometimes we just overdo stuff. Well, I do anyway. I totally relate to self-destruction.

    • allisonfiorini July 17, 2015 / 6:47 am

      Ha!!!!! LOVE your Tommy Boy reference 🙂 YES

  4. Jessica @ VEGGIE RUNNING MOMMA July 17, 2015 / 3:27 pm

    I love that song too.!! and definitely a band I have on my “go to concert” list. I used to love going to concerts, but I haven’t gone in yearsss.

    • allisonfiorini July 17, 2015 / 7:46 pm

      They are so worth seeing! Her voice is incredible!

  5. Brittany July 17, 2015 / 4:55 pm

    Thanks for sharing this one!

Leave a Reply

