Balsamic Glazed Flank Steak Roll-Ups

imageI made these for dinner last week and I’m finally getting around to posting about it!! They were excellent, and other than trying to cut the flank steak into thin slices (next time, the butcher is going to do that for me), super easy! You can really use any combination of veggies here – the recipe I adapted this from used some different ones. I chose some of my favorites that I thought would hold up well on the grill…and what happened to be in my fridge at the moment.

Balsamic Glazed Flank Steak Roll-Ups
Serves 4
Adapted from Tablespoon

Ingredients

Steak/Veggies:

  • 1 lb flank steak, sliced lengthwise into four thin slices (I used a chef knife and there was a lot of cursing, but eventually I had four slices)
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Fresh Rosemary (could also use thyme, oregano, sage, Italian parsley – your preference!)
  • 1 large bell peppers (I had a yellow one on hand)
  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 1 large red onion, sliced
  • 1 cup of mushrooms, sliced

Balsamic Glaze:

  • 1 teaspoon extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 large clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup dark balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons dry red wine
  • 2 teaspoons coconut sugar
  • 2 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 1/4 cup beef broth (I used my homemade bone broth!)

Method

For the steak/veggies:

  • Rub each side of the steak slices with a little extra virgin olive oil. Sprinkle with salt, freshly ground black pepper and some chopped fresh rosemary.
  • Heat one tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat and cook the vegetables until crisp-tender, seasoning with salt and pepper.
  • Place a few of the vegetable strips vertically on one end of each steak cutlet so that once rolled up the end of the vegetables are sticking out of each end of the steak roll. Roll it up, and secure it with a toothpick. Repeat for each steak roll.

For the rosemary balsamic glaze:

  • Heat the olive oil in a small saucepan over medium-high heat. Add the garlic and cook for one minute, until fragrant. Add the balsamic vinegar, red wine, coconut sugar and the rosemary sprigs and bring to a rapid boil. Reduce the heat and simmer uncovered for 5 minutes. Add the broth, return to a boil, reduce the heat to low and simmer for another 15 minutes. Discard the rosemary sprigs.
  • Prepare the grill and grill on each side for about 2 minutes or according to desired doneness. Do the same if cooking them in a skillet, frying over medium-high heat until done. Serve immediately drizzled with the rosemary balsamic glaze. Baked potatoes make a great accompaniment.
Coconut sugar is a paleo substitute that I sometimes use when a recipe calls for sugar, which this recipe did. On the side, I served with baked sweet potatoes because I was too lazy to do anything fancier.
Enjoy! xo
20 comments

  1. Yum!!! I’m not much of a grill master so I’d probably try this using the skillet instead but I think it’s a must-try! I need to cook more…I probably would if I were in my own house/space :/

  2. I tried to make balsamic glaze for my husband once. (one of the hadful of times I’ve ever cooked) and noope. It didn’t work out. haha yours looks WAY better though, πŸ™‚

  3. This looks like something that my hubby would really enjoy. I love asparagus! I never had it growing up, so now I have a better appreciation for it. Rosemary is one of my favorite herbs. Everything is better on the grill!

      1. I tried moving my blog to blogger but the grass was NOT greener on the other side. Other than that vacation and trying to still rehab and work through these leg issues. It has prevented me from doing race paced runs. 😦 Needless to say racing is on pause until I figure this thing out

Leave a Reply

