Recipe: Chocolate “Peanut Butter” Banana Smoothie

In the summer, my Vitamix gets a real workout. I make smoothies all year long, but with the abundance of produce available in the summer months, I really go to town. I was whipping up one of my creations the other day and came up with a pretty delicious one – although it doesn’t use an excessive amount of produce. I was craving a chocolate milkshake, and this hit the spot. Bonus: it’s a way healthier option. It’s paleo/gluten free and delish!

Chocolate “Peanut Butter” Banana Smoothie

Serves 1

  • 1 cup of unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or “milk” product of your choice)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 tablespoons of almond butter (almond butter to keep it paleo – you could use any nut butter here!)
  • 1 tablespoon of raw honey (or sweetener of your choice)
  • 1 tablespoon cacao powder
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 tablespoon flax meal
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • A small handful of ice

Put all ingredients in a blender, whip it up, and enjoy! I bet it would probably taste fabulousΒ with some coconut milk whipped cream, too πŸ™‚

image

31 thoughts on “Recipe: Chocolate “Peanut Butter” Banana Smoothie

  1. Heather June 26, 2015 / 9:10 am

    I was about to head into the kitchen to whip up a smoothie…now I’m pretty sure it will need to have peanut butter added to it. Yum!

  2. KatieRuns June 26, 2015 / 10:22 am

    This looks unbelievable! Totally making it this weekend. Thanks for sharing!!

  3. suzysuzyheather June 26, 2015 / 10:31 am

    I’ve always wanted a Vitamix! I have a pretty good blender, but the Vitamix is the limo of blenders. Maybe one day. This smoothie looks great!

    • allisonfiorini June 26, 2015 / 8:00 pm

      OMG you would love a Vitamix! The only reason I could justify it was because I kept breaking blenders. I had a nice KitchenAid one and a Cuisinart one – both were upwards of $100, both lasted under a year. LAME. I was sick of shelling out and I need a good blender, once and for all!

  4. Jamie June 26, 2015 / 10:41 am

    Love this. I make a similar smoothie every morning with either cold brew coffee or espresso… kills two birds with one stone : ) Have a great weekend!

    • allisonfiorini June 26, 2015 / 8:01 pm

      You know, I should refrigerate my leftover coffee in the morning and use it in my smoothie. Wait. Leftover coffee? What’s that? Haha. But really, great idea. I might brew some and leave it in the fridge for smoothie purposes!!!

  5. hellyontherun June 26, 2015 / 12:15 pm

    Smoothies are delish; unfortunately, I don’t like peanut butter 😦 I hope we can still be friends ❀

    • allisonfiorini June 26, 2015 / 8:04 pm

      We can still be friends. I still think you’re a badass, even if you don’t like PB! πŸ™‚

  6. charissarunning June 26, 2015 / 12:29 pm

    This looks so delicious!! And I’m pretty sure I have all these ingredients (minus almond butter – but I’ve got peanut butter!) so I see a yummy smoothie in my near future πŸ˜€

    • allisonfiorini June 26, 2015 / 8:05 pm

      Yes!!! Enjoy!! Next time you come visit, I will whip some of these up to sip on poolside…maybe with a Baileys addition!

      • charissarunning June 27, 2015 / 10:50 pm

        Yes please!! Yummy!!!

  7. mostlyhealthyliving June 26, 2015 / 2:25 pm

    I want this in my belly! Ran out of peanut butter this week or I’d be making it right now. Definitely making this after my next grocery run.

    • allisonfiorini June 26, 2015 / 8:08 pm

      Seriously today I realized I was out of almond butter and I was looking forward to making another one and I almost cried! I hate when I run out of one of those staples!!!

  8. Sweaty Mess June 26, 2015 / 5:13 pm

    Im totally making this tonight. I have a chocolate craving and was upset that we didnt have candy in the house.

    • allisonfiorini June 26, 2015 / 8:11 pm

      Maybe I’m crazy but I think it straight up tastes like a chocolate milk shake!! Or as close as you can get and still consider it “healthy” πŸ™‚

  9. sarahdudek80 June 26, 2015 / 9:24 pm

    I make something very similar to this after weekend long runs. I crave it by the end. Yum!

    • allisonfiorini June 26, 2015 / 9:24 pm

      It’s addicting. It’s *almost* better than a real milkshake!

  10. Alanna June 27, 2015 / 5:19 am

    This sounds yummy! I can’t wait to try it! I actually have all of those ingredients on hand too, which is extra exciting. Thanks for sharing.

    • allisonfiorini June 29, 2015 / 4:51 am

      Yessssss get on that wagon!!! You won’t regret it!

  11. runsaltrun June 27, 2015 / 9:28 pm

    I am not a peanut butter fan, but I LOVE almond butter! I would just have to leave the banana out of this due to my allergy, but otherwise it sounds awesome to me! πŸ˜€

    • allisonfiorini June 29, 2015 / 4:59 am

      Thank you! Allergic to bananas?!? I bet you could add another frozen fruit in it’s place if you needed that extra sweet in there! I actually am not a banana fan and just eat them out of obligation (I feel like it’s what runners “do”, ha), and usually only in smoothies !

  12. Nora @ 2 Generations Running June 28, 2015 / 9:14 pm

    YUM! I make a very similar version of this and I’m obsessed with it. I can’t make any different type of smoothie anymore because I never like it as much as this one!

    • allisonfiorini June 29, 2015 / 5:01 am

      Right?! I get stuck on something and then it’s my go to foreverrrrr, ha!

Leave a Reply

