Grandma’s Marathon: Made it to Duluth!

I’m posting from my phone, so I’m not sure how this is going to come out! My husband and I left on Tuesday night and road tripped from Pennsylvania to Duluth, Minnesota. It was close to 20 hours of driving but we broke it up over three days. I drove the entire way, so I haven’t been able to post or comment much but I’ve kept up with you guys when I could set then cruise control and skim your posts!!

Part of the reason I wanted to drive us to save a few bucks – airfare was super expensive to Duluth, and I do travel often for marathons and try to drive one possible.  Another benefit of driving is that I have all of the comforts of home. I was able to pack a cooler with all of my prerace foods and snacks, and could overpack as much clothing as I want. We stayed in a hotel the first night, camped on Lake Superior the second night and are currently shacked up at the University of Wisconsin on Superior. What a cool arrangement the race has with the local colleges. Anyway, here’s are some highlights from the trip so far!

We chose driving up through Michigan finger out here. Driving over the Mackinac Bridge was awesome. It connects Michigan’s lower peninsula and upper penninsula:  

Once we were on the upper penninsula, we drove about another two hours and camped on the shore of Lake Superior! It was a chilly night but what a great place to stay: 

 And finally, getting to Duluth on Thursday night and going to the expo!


      That’s all for now. Lots of fun (and rest!) planned for today. Hope everyone is having a great week!

36 thoughts on “Grandma’s Marathon: Made it to Duluth!

  1. Amy Lauren June 19, 2015 / 9:57 am

    Good luck! It looks really beautiful there too. Hope you have a great race.

  2. mostlyhealthyliving June 19, 2015 / 9:57 am

    What a gorgeous campsite! Hope you enjoy your time in Duluth. It’s always fun when you can turn a race into a little bit of a vacation. πŸ™‚

    • allisonfiorini June 19, 2015 / 10:30 am

      Thank you!! It was definitely a cool spot to camp!

  3. Anna @ Piper's Run June 19, 2015 / 10:13 am

    Looks like a great drive, love the camping pic! Enjoy, have fun and good luck at Grandmas!

  4. Jamie June 19, 2015 / 10:48 am

    Such a fun way to make a mini vacation out of a marathon! I hope you have a fantastic day and get lots of rest, good food, and have a relaxing weekend to prepare for race day! Good luck and enjoy!!! You’re going to do amazing!

    • allisonfiorini June 19, 2015 / 10:49 am

      Thank you!! I’m fueling and hydrating as we speak!

  5. suzysuzyheather June 19, 2015 / 11:15 am

    Eeeeeeeep! So excited for you and you’re so badass for driving and camping your way there. Most people would have to get all pampered in fluffy sheets and pillows and gourmet meals. I like you more and more every time I read your blog. Is the race tomorrow or on Sunday? I’ll google it. I’ll be thinking of you!

    • allisonfiorini June 19, 2015 / 11:21 am

      Haha! Badass is the way to go and I’m pretty sure you’re just as badass! The race is tomorrow – ahhhhh! I’m pretty stoked for it!

  6. Maddie @ Dixie Runs June 19, 2015 / 11:21 am

    GOOD LUCK!!! You got this πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  7. Jessica @ VEGGIE RUNNING MOMMA June 19, 2015 / 11:23 am

    Woo.! your marathon is so close now.!!
    Looks like you guys had a beautiful road trip πŸ™‚
    Best of wishes girl. Enjoy today and get lots of rest, because you are sooo ready for that marathon.!

  8. Lily June 19, 2015 / 11:24 am

    Driving is so much better than flying! Looks like fun, good luck at the race!!

    • allisonfiorini June 19, 2015 / 11:25 am

      Thank you! It’s been a super fun trip so far πŸ™‚

  9. Shawna June 19, 2015 / 12:26 pm

    beautiful pix! have so much fun and good luck! i know you’ll crush it!

  10. liz June 19, 2015 / 11:18 pm

    That sunset! Gorgeous. Good luck to you!

  11. Alanna June 20, 2015 / 4:34 am

    It looks so beautiful there! Good luck and have an awesome race! πŸ™‚

  12. Sweaty Mess June 20, 2015 / 6:08 am

    So beautiful! Good luck!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  13. Nora @ 2 Generations Running June 22, 2015 / 8:58 am

    Wow, beautiful pics! I’m so excited to hear how it went once you recover enough to write a race recap πŸ™‚

  14. Movin' it with Michelle June 22, 2015 / 3:09 pm

    Great job hon! So sad I didn’t get to meet you but there will be more races I am sure!!!! Hope you had safe travels home!

    • allisonfiorini June 23, 2015 / 6:31 am

      GREAT job! I am getting caught up on the blog world now so I can’t wait to read your post! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

