Recipe of the Week: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

Okay, I should mention before I go any further that these little gems are Paleo and egg-free. So I hope that doesn’t scare anyone away, because they are AH-MAZING. Sometimes, I make a whole batch and they are gone in one night (#imweak). I hate when healthy-ish recipes promise to taste like something and don’t deliver. Like if you tell me it’s going to taste like cookie dough, then I better feel like I am eating a freaking tub of Nestle’s Toll House cookie dough, dammit! I love no bake recipes for the convenience, and I love cookie dough even more. I’ve made lots of these no-bake ball “concoctions” and I’m usually disappointed every damn time. You’d think I’d give up.

But one day, I was happily pinning a million recipes that I’ll probably never make and came across yet another recipe that promised to deliver that cookie dough like flavor in a ball using all Paleo friendly ingredients. I had all of the ingredients on hand and was craving some sort of dessert…so why not. They were pretty perfect as is, but of course I had to change things up and add my own personal flair to it. I added in some of those delicious Enjoy Life Mini-Chocolate chips (the most paleo friendly chocolate chip I’ve come across). These definitely qualify as more of a dessert/treat than an energy ball like other’s I’ve made, and they are delish. It might even be a stretch to call them an energy ball but I think I feel better about myself eating a whole batch if I call them those. So here it is…try them out!

Paleo Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

imageIngredients

  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/4 cup coconut butter (or coconut oil, I’ve used both depending on what I have at the time)
  • 3 tbsp ground flax seeds, soaked in 3 tbsp warm water
  • 2 tbsp arrowroot powder or tapioca flour (I’ve used both depending on what I have at the time)
  • 1 generous tablespoon honey
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup Enjoy Life Mini Chocolate Chips (optional)

Instructions

  1. In a small separate bowl, mix the ground flax seeds and warm water. Allow to sit while you prepare the other ingredients.
  2. Mix dry ingredients together in a food processor or mixing bowl. Add wet ingredients, including flax mixture and mix well. The result will be a thick crumbly dough-like consistency. If the dough is too crumbly to form into balls (I’ve never had this problem) add another tablespoon of honey. If you are using the chocolate chips, fold them in now. The dough is pretty thick, so you might need to use some muscles to really incorporate the chocolate chips…but it’s worth it!
  3. Roll portions of the dough into balls and they’re ready to eat! I use a tablespoon as measurement and get 15-18 (depending if I use the chocolate chips or not)
  4. Store extras in the refrigerator (Extras? What are those?).

(Recipe adapted from Healy Eats Real.)

My next conquest with these is to make a variation with a nut butter and/or add some organic dutch processed cocoa powder for a chocolate “peanut butter” option! Stay tuned!

12 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls

    • allisonfiorini June 2, 2015 / 9:29 am

      I LOVEEE it! I also like to use it in place of bread crumbs or flour when breading chicken. Yum!!!

  1. kiwiyogirunner June 2, 2015 / 11:00 am

    I had cookie dough for the first time when I went to Canada last year! Needless to say I fell in love!!!!! It is seriously the best thing ever. I don’t know why we aren’t very big on it in nz/Australia but I’m hoping to single-handedly change that 😉 these look so amazing, I am full on drooling right now, sorry for the tmi! 😉

    • allisonfiorini June 2, 2015 / 11:07 am

      LOL!! They are so good, I drool when I think about them!!

  2. Jamie June 2, 2015 / 11:06 am

    Since I’m clearly obsessed with my Vitamix, consider these being made this weekend! Love it!! Going to be a very delicious snack : ) Thanks for sharing!!

  3. Nora @ 2 Generations Running June 2, 2015 / 8:28 pm

    Haha, I think we have the same sweet tooth – I LOVE cookie dough, and I love playing around with healthy no-bake recipes (although you’re totally right, they don’t always come out great.) These sound and look fantastic!

    • allisonfiorini June 2, 2015 / 10:25 pm

      They are!!! I’m a little obsessed 🙂 I definitely have a sweet tooth – and I embrace it!!

  4. cupcakesandmiles June 3, 2015 / 12:07 am

    Ooh! Yum! 😋 I don’t think I’ll be trying this one though for awhile; I recently took my first stab at “ball” making and it was not pretty.

    Do you think you could just mail me some instead? Hah!

  5. runsaltrun June 3, 2015 / 9:21 am

    You are slaying me with these recipes lately! These sound awesome and easy enough to make. I bet my daughter would be into them too! (She loves chocolate chip ANYTHING.)

    • allisonfiorini June 3, 2015 / 9:45 am

      I’m just warning you – it’s easy to eat the entire batch in one sitting!

Leave a Reply

