Recipe of the Week: Coconut Milk Baked Chicken

Over the past year, I’ve gotten on board with the whole Paleo lifestyle. I have weird stomach issues. Just by looking at some of the recipes I’ve shared in the past, you can tell I’ve tried an assortment of “lifestyles”: vegetarian, vegan, macrobiotic, etc. I’ve been “Paleo-ish” for about a year now and it’s changed my life.

I say that loosely because I’m not 100% devoted. I still put back a good four slices of pizza every Friday, and a decent amount of sushi on Saturdays. All joking aside, I didn’t know you could eat a meal without having horrible stomach pains and bloating until I started removing gluten from my diet. You better believe that if I’m having a cheat day, there are most likely gluten laden items on the menu (and my stomach will be in for a world of hurt, but sometimes I just don’t care). The week before a marathon, I’ve found that I still need to have pasta on the menu. I could eat sweet potatoes until I turn orange (and I would, because I love them!), but I still do better with refined carbohydrates as an energy source. It’s the reason I still do a plain bagel before long runs – as long as I give myself enough time to digest, I’m okay. I also buy into the school of thought that everything is good in moderation. If I didn’t have my pizza on Fridays, I’d probably go on a carb rampage and binge on everything in sight after awhile. But that’s just my philosophy. Whatever works for you, is good with me. I pass no judgments on dietary choices. I make some really weird ones myself (uhhh, my bone broth, perhaps?)

I want to blog more about the recipes I try because I cook. A LOT. I love it. Most times, I don’t come up with original recipes, but I never follow recipes the way they’re written. I like to think of recipes as inspiration, and a starting point. My newest favorite that I made is a Coconut Milk Baked Chicken. I made a few tweaks to the original, so here’s my version. You can find the original recipe here.

Coconut Milk Baked Chicken

Ingredients
  • 4 pounds whole bone-in chicken (skin on), cut up (or any combination of bone in chicken parts!)
  • 1/3 cup full fat, canned coconut milk (make sure you whisk it well before measuring, it will separate in the can!)
  • Juice of 1-2 limes
  • Zest from one lime
  • 1 tablespoon fresh Thai basil (or whatever basil you can find, or 1 teaspoon dried basil)
  • 2 tablespoons coconut sugar
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • ¾ teaspoon ground ginger
  • ¾ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
Method
  1. If time permits, whisk together all ingredients through the black pepper until well combined. Pour over the chicken and marinate up to a whole day ahead. Keep it in the refrigerator!
  2. Preheat oven to 450 degrees F.
  3. Arrange the chicken in an oven proof skillet or dutch oven. I like to break out my cast iron skillet for this.
  4. Bake uncovered 30 minutes, or until chicken is done.
Notes
I bet with summer here you could toss this recipe on the grill! I haven’t tried that yet. However, you can see that it makes a lot of juice/sauce, so if you grill it I’d recommend reserving a little bit of the marinade to brush over the finished product. I serve it with roasted veggies. I would actually recommend cauliflower rice because you could dump some of the drippings on top of it…mmmm. If you aren’t concerned about the gluten thing, you could do some real rice on the side!
IMG_9281
Enjoy! xoxo
17 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Coconut Milk Baked Chicken

  1. Hanna @ TheMillennialNextDoor May 28, 2015 / 10:06 am

    Looks yummy! I wish I could hire you to come cook for me. I’m so bad about it. Just hard to find the time.

    • allisonfiorini May 28, 2015 / 10:09 am

      It’s SOOO hard to find the time! I usually figure out what I want to make for the week and grocery shop on the weekend and prep as much as possible…but if I’m away for a weekend or get too busy, cooking is the first place I start slacking. Take out works just as well 🙂

  2. runsaltrun May 28, 2015 / 10:17 am

    I WILL enjoy. This sounds easy enough that even I won’t be able to ruin it. I love coconut milk. 🙂

    • allisonfiorini May 28, 2015 / 10:20 am

      LOL! It is a pretty foolproof one…coconut milk is theee best! Let me know how it turns out!

  3. charissarunning May 28, 2015 / 11:00 am

    This looks divine!! I will have to try it but for me it’s a matter of when…I am such a lazy cook.

    I’ve been “gluten free” for about a year and a half now too because my stomach was TERRIBLE before. I say “gluten free” because I stick to it about 95-98% of the time and I don’t pay any attention to cross-contamination. I can eat a few bites of something with gluten in it and be fine, but if I cheat even with something small a few days in a row, my stomach hates me. The only time I will really cheat and throw caution to the wind is after a really good race!! Then I will indulge all I want 🙂 But seriously, it really has made a world of difference in how I feel!

    • allisonfiorini May 28, 2015 / 11:13 am

      It’s SO good and easy, let me know when you try it! Sounds like you and I are very similar with our diets! I sort of cheated from Friday-Monday and my stomach was JACKED pretty much all weekend through Tuesday! I have found some really awesome Paleo recipes that I actually prefer to “regular” food. I’ll be sharing them on here every so often!!

  4. KatieRuns May 28, 2015 / 1:30 pm

    definitely will be trying this this weekend! I LOVE anything with coconut milk in – it’s just divine

    • allisonfiorini May 28, 2015 / 1:31 pm

      Yessssss it’s the BEST! Let me know what you think if you try it!

  5. suzysuzyheather May 28, 2015 / 2:01 pm

    See, I totally hate cooking so we’re pretty different in that aspect. Even as I started typing out the word “cooking” my fingers automatically typed “cookies.” But this chicken looks killer. You wouldn’t have to twist my arm to eat it, that’s fo sho (TWSS).

  6. piratebobcat May 28, 2015 / 4:34 pm

    Looks really good! I might like to add some curry flavor to it!

  7. Shawna May 29, 2015 / 4:02 pm

    mmmm looks good. once i start cooking, i’ll give it a whirl. 🙂

Leave a Reply

