What I’m Working Out to Wednesday

20131107-131103.jpgI started running in 2007, and one of the reasons I initially began to enjoy it was because I LOVE music. I started running on the treadmill, and the only way I could suffer through it was with a great playlist. Once I started running outside, I still loved having my iPod but it was easier to still get the workout done if I didn’t have it for some reason. I have a pretty eclectic taste in music – really, there’s nothing I won’t listen to. My favorite genre is indie rock, but my workout playlists feature songs from a pretty broad spectrum.

Of my 35 marathons, I’ve only run three without music – my first three Boston Marathons.Ā I’ve also gone through a whole bunch of iPod Nanos – I would destroy them during hot marathons when I would dump water over my head. I smartened up and purchased a shuffle last time, and I’ve never looked back. It’s much cheaper, fits plenty of music, and is super tiny and clips on your clothes – no weird arm tan lines from having something strapped to you arm!

I watched “The Fault in Our Stars” last week (cute, but requires a box of tissues for sure – and I’m not usually a crier) and this jam has been in my head ever since…funny since it’s not a new song and I couldn’t STAND it when I first heard it. But somehow, it made the cut for my workout playlist and I’ve listened to it more than a few times ever since!

What are you working out to this week?

26 Replies to “What I’m Working Out to Wednesday”

  1. I’m terrible at keeping my shuffle up to date with music – or any for that matter these last few years. I find myself wanting to listen to music when I run outside but can’t find the time to upload it šŸ˜‰

    1. I try to update it weekly – the shuffle is easy for me, but I also have a waterproof mp3 player that I use in the pool and it works more like a flash drive. It’s not complicated but it’s just way more time consuming to get music on it so those songs are starting to get old!!!

  2. Before I was a runner I literally would not go anywhere without headphones, and now I rarely listen to music! Crazy!

    I like old stuff: 80s is my guilty pleasure and I love classic rock and nostalgia stuff from the 90s. I’m terrible at keeping up with new music, I probably wouldn’t even recognize half the stuff in today’s Top 40 (partly due to the fact that Milwaukee has AWESOME radio stations that feature local and indie music).

    I listen to music on long runs and some easy runs so that I feel a little bit less like dying of boredom. This weekend I cycled through Hall and Oates’ greatest hits twice on my 18 miler! LOL. I also love U2’s Achtung Baby, that will never get old (I love U2). And, this is totally random, but the soundtrack to the movie Elizabethtown is one of my long run go-tos. NO IDEA how that came about, as its the only movie soundtrack I own. But it works!

    1. Soooo funny that you listen to less music now, ha!! I LOVE 80s-90s music, too! I’d much prefer the local/indie stuff to the Top 40 stuff. I love soundtracks so I’m totally going to download the Elizabethtown soundtrack!

  3. We Make it Bounce by Dillon Francis… I’ve had it on repeat for the last week. I find it great for tempo runs, but when I am trying to do a recovery run I listen to a lot of Zac Brown Band and Eric Church. Hope you have a great day! : )

    1. Ohhh I don’t know that one! Definitely adding it to my list of things to download! And I totally agree – recovery runs need chill music or things end up getting out of hand! LOL!

      1. Like driving… can’t listen to club music when driving or else the next thing I know I’m speeding! Haha. Happy Wednesday!!

  4. I live and breeeeeathe music. I too love all kinds but it’s the emotional ones that really help me push hard through a run/race. If I’ve attached a certain song to a life event or something, I can feel myself speed up and catch a second wind.

    1. OMG yes! That’s totally how I am. The song “Somewhere Only We Know” by Keane, or “Get Higher” by Paper Tongues does that for me! When I started coming back from my Achilles injury and did my last long run before Boston, “Somewhere Only We Know” came on in the last mile and I actually had tears in my eyes…I’m such a loser. LOL

  5. First of all, I love the new colors on your blog!!! Holy bright and awesome!! šŸ™‚
    I used to run with music all the time but it bothered me that earphones never stayed put. I have the tiniest of ears (no joke!) and earphones just pop out. I just got so annoyed with them that I’ve learned to run without music now. But the treadmill is an entirely different story! I cannot run without it. On my playlist, you’ll find some country, some rock, and some good old school rock like Queen!! I can’t help but grin stupidly every time Bohemian Rhapsody comes blasting through my treadmill speakers!!

    1. HA!!! And I am pretty sure for the six months that it was all over the place, I made a point to avoid it because I thought it was so ridiculous…and then it came on in that darn movie and I was all like, “Oh this song is so cute!” I feel like I always do that…initially really dislike a song and then after everyone is over it, I start liking it!

  6. I guess I go through stages about listening to music. I used to be soo into music, but I didn’t run with music. It was weird.. but now I’m not into music at all, but I do listen to music on my runs. I prefer listening to music while I run now. I haven’t this week because of waiting for my new arm band to arrive.and augh can hardly stand it.
    lol šŸ™‚

  7. Totally understand your thing with music, i’m like that with audiobooks! I definitely need to invest in a shuffle!

  8. Lately I’ve been listening to a nineties mix. Nirvana, Foo Fighters, Beastie Boys, with some other random 90s one hit wonders mixed in. One song that I put on all my playlists though is Country Roads by John Denver. It was my Dad’s favorite song so whenever it pops up on a run I get a little boost.

  9. also a music junkie!! the only race i’ve ever done without music was my first half, i think…oh and maybe the Disney Princess half also? gah 35 marathons! GIRL. you kill itttttt. lately i’ve been into the playlists that this guy i’m friends with in my apt building makes on Spotify. he just rocks with the music choices!

  10. I usual listen to Pandora while running but I hate having my oooh on strapped to me! That and I’m pretty sure I’m going to end up sweating it to it’s death this summer. I use the ironman arm band yet, it’s not sweat proof! How in the world are you going to market a running/fitness product that says ‘not swear proof’ on it?! Dumb. Anyway so I think I’ll check into investing in the little piece you mentioned. Sounds much smarter.

    1. How is an Ironman arm band not sweatproof!! It has the Ironman name on it! That is total BS!!! I highly recommend the shuffle – it’s not waterproof but you can get a waterproof version of it for a bit more $, or you can get a case. But honestly I just used mine (not in a case or waterproof) in a total downpour and it’s totally fine!! Let me know if you get one!

Leave a Reply

