Recipe: Avocado Salsa!

Summer grilling is in full effect, and on Tuesday I made a super simple chicken dish with some grilled pineapple and avocado salsa. I’ve been all over avocado salsa lately – I personally feel like it’s a glorified guacamole but whatever. It’s been showing up frequently in some of my recent Pinterest conquests, but I made up my own recipe because I never really follow recipes (unless I’m baking. I’m not as confident with baking). I’ve used my “salsa” on salmon, chicken, and last night topped my lettuce wrapped burger with it. I do the Paleo thing, so I love these fun toppings/sides to make my food more flavorful.

I had an absolutely horrendous run last night (it was a total shit show from start to finish) and the last thing I felt like doing was cooking – so I fired up the grill for burgers, and the avocado salsa leftover from Tuesday in my fridge was clutch. Here’s my personal take on it:

Avocado Salsa

  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • 1/2 of a red onion, finely diced
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • Juice 1 lime
  • 1-2 tablespoons of chopped fresh cilantro
  • Salt, pepper, cumin, and cayenne pepper to taste
  • Optional: 1 tomato, diced

It’s easy: prepare the ingredients from the avocado all the way through the cilantro (and the tomato, if using), toss them in a bowl and give it a quick mix. Grab your seasonings and season to taste. You could omit the cumin and/or the cayenne if you aren’t into that. I love those flavors so I do a generous sprinkle of cumin, and a pinch of cayenne for a kick. Mix together gently. I haven’t actually made it with the tomato but I’ve done a guacamole variation with some diced fresh tomatoes and it’s pretty fantastic, so if I had more tomatoes on hand I would have totally thrown one in.

image54

That was from my easy dinner on Tuesday…wish I took a picture of it on my burger last night but I was inhaling it before I could even think to do that!

23 Replies to “Recipe: Avocado Salsa!”

      1. Yep! Same here if you take my sweets away then no worries I’ll live off of avocado. You had me some kinda way with this post haha! You had my attention at avvvvvv lol 🙂

  1. Avacado salsa has been showing up in my Pinterest feed too! I need to try it, I’m a huge guacamole fan, so I’m guessing this would be right up my alley. I don’t really follow recipes either, I just throw together ingredients and it usually comes out pretty good 🙂

  2. I LOVE avocado!!! What a great recipe! I’m also drooling from looking at that grilled pineapple right now – looks delicious!!

Leave a Reply

