Bring on the Cranky Pants

Okkkkay. I’m back. I’ve been semi-avoiding the blog world out of crankiness. My own crankiness, of course.

So way back before Christmas, I posted about a freaking awesome long run I had with my friends. I was on such a high. And then I got sick…on Christmas Eve (I had 20 people at my house for dinner and a fever. That was fun). Whatever I had lingered and caused me to miss about five days of training, and it was awful. But no problem, my coach and I communicated and agreed that I would rest and not panic. I missed a long run. I was bummed.

The next week, I jumped back into my training and felt decent – but had a nag in my left Achilles. I remembered feeling it after that last long run, but then after being sick it just went away. So I kept running. Got in a decently paced 16 miler, around a 7:25 in some slippery conditions but had some pain in the area that worried me. Still, I kept going. I hoped it was just one of those aches that would go away after a few days and work itself out. I even got in a nice track workout of 800s later that week and hit/exceeded my paces. The pain kind of just stayed the same, so I headed out for my 18 miler that Sunday. We had another epic day where we felt incredible – my friend Kathy and I pushed the pace and averaged a 7:08 for the entire run, hills and all. My ankle didn’t hurt while I ran – even so much as to think to myself, “Maybe this was all in my head and I’m past whatever it was!” Ha.

After the run, I made sure to take an ice bath (which was freaking torture, it is FREEZING in PA these days!) and popped some ibuprofen just because I wanted to get ahead of any potential inflammation. I’m not much of a fan of NSAIDs, but I thought it would be a good idea. Well, over the next few days I had some definite soreness so my coach backed off the intensity of some of my runs. By Thursday, I decided it was time to get in to my doctor. By some miracle of God, he had an open appointment right at the end of my work day. He had me get my left foot x-rayed before I even saw him and after a thorough clinical exam, determined it was a little tenosynovitis of my Achillies. So the sheath around the tendon was unhappy. Made sense, because I really wasn’t displaying any of the classic Achilles tendinitis symptoms.

He got me in for some PT – of course I have the therapist’s number in my phone so the three week wait to get in with him didn’t happen – I was there the next day for some Graston, ultrasound and massage. They also gave me the Flector Patch to put on the area – basically an NSAID patch that is directly applied to the source of pain. Which is kind of hard to find – there really is no pain to the touch, no swelling, etc. It’s so odd.

It seemed to work because I was able to log some miles at some decent paces over the weekend, but then we got hit with a bunch of ice, something I don’t mess with regularly. Started my long run (supposed to go 22 miles) on Sunday and the freezing rain began about 8 miles in. By mile 10, I started walking because I could barely take a step without sliding. I had to walk about two miles from my car, and I was frozen to the bone. Tried again the next day but had to wear my Yak Trax because it was still so slippery out. I made it 14 miles, but the outer edge of my left foot began hurting. My Yak Trax were kind of old and falling apart, so I think it threw off my stride. I threw in the towel, but my coach was still happy with the mileage I managed in such poor conditions. It was a rough run.

IMG_8039
Ski Area – Blue Mountain; Trail – Razor’s Edge

So on Tuesday, I went out for some easy-peasy recovery miles, and by the time I got about 2-3 miles into my run, the outside of that foot started aching again. What. The. Hell. It didn’t hurt all day and pretty much felt fine, so why now? I finished up six miles and sulked. Yesterday was a scheduled cross training/strength training day so I went tot he gym before work and lifted, and skiing after work. We got out of school early for some impending snow and I got on the slopes early and got in some extra runs. Felt good, no pain, but my next run is today.

I’m frustrated because since Christmas, it’s been just one thing after the other. Sick, injury, poor conditions. On one hand, life happened and caused me to miss some training. On the other, I’ve logged some quality miles. My next race is in a few weeks – a 10K – and then my first marathon of the “spring” season is on February 15th. With some of the long run paces I’ve hit recently, I wanted to shoot for 6:50-7 minute miles in the marathon, 6:20-30 in the 10k. Even with missing a long run and having to cut off some distance due to weather last weekend, I am confident that I can do this. I know I can. Except now I’m just hoping I don’t have a fracture in my foot or something. Honestly, I think I aggravated a tendon in there from running in the poor conditions in my Yak Trax, but it’s enough to have me concerned. I’ve had stress fractures before to know what they feel like, and what I felt was enough to worry me. The good news is, my “tell tale” stress fracture sign is the hop test. Anytime I had a stress fracture, I couldn’t hop on it without feeling something – and when I hop on this I feel nothing. So that’s good.

I guess when I take it for a spin today (after yesterday’s day of cross training), I’ll see what the deal is. Here’s to keeping my fingers crossed and hoping for the best!

How do you deal with injury interrupting your training? When something hurts, what “process” do you follow to try to heal it as quickly as possible?

14 thoughts on “Bring on the Cranky Pants

  1. FLRunnerBoy January 22, 2015 / 2:32 pm

    So glad to hear from you Allison!! I’ve missed ya’ let me first say that you are not alone in your injury frustrations. There are a few of going through the ringer right now. It went from PR’ing and a strong close to 2014 to a right foot/ankle injury that has now turned into a tight right glute/hammy deal that is preventing from getting my legs to fully turnover like a want …. UGH!!! 😦 I’ve been doing tons of ice, heat, rest, and rolling. Next week I plan on getting my chiropractic and massage team involved. The one positive for us is that it’s only January so we still have time to crush the year. Get better Allison!

    • allisonfiorini January 22, 2015 / 2:43 pm

      Thanks Lee! Its so annoying and I haven’t posted or commented lately because I know how I sound! But I’m trying to be positive and have some positive thoughts for my recovery!

      • FLRunnerBoy January 22, 2015 / 3:16 pm

        You’re welcome Allison!! Just know you are not alone … I’m hurting a bit now too but we’ll get back on track 🙂

  2. charissarunning January 22, 2015 / 2:51 pm

    I LOVE the title of your post…not so much the fact that you’re dealing with injury :/ I’ll be cranky with you now…I feel like I’ve learned so much this past year that I was so eager to put to use to become an even better runner this season and I keep getting delayed…ugh. I’m sure that’s exactly how you’re feeling too. I’m crossing my fingers for you that it’s not something too serious! Since I’m going through my first real injury experience, I don’t really have a process yet. Rest seemed to help last month when I got my foot pain for the first time, but since it started back up again A MONTH LATER I’m kinda wondering what went wrong!! I have some ideas related to shoes and stride, but I’ll wait and see what the PT says about that… FEEL BETTER!!!

    • allisonfiorini January 22, 2015 / 2:53 pm

      Thanks girl! I think that’s why I was really confused about my Achilles. Because I had to rest since I was sick, but it came back as soon as I started running again. I’m hoping the whole going to PT has me over that hump but I’m definitely concerned about my foot and don’t like the feeling I felt the last time I ran! I really think a lot of it is attributed to cold weather. Everything seems to ache so much more when the temperatures drop! Fingers crossed for you too!

      • charissarunning January 22, 2015 / 3:02 pm

        Thanks!! I agree, this cold weather has been ridiculous. I’ve noticed aches in my good foot and knees because of it, but thankfully no other major issues. When is winter gonna be over?! LOL

      • allisonfiorini January 22, 2015 / 3:05 pm

        Amen sister, you live essentially in the same area as me so probably just as fed up with the cold weather and lack of snow! If it’s going to snow or ice, enough of this nuisance crap! Bring on the feet of snow or June!

  3. irishrunnerchick January 22, 2015 / 2:54 pm

    I totally get this! I’ve been avoiding blogging/commenting because my head is not in the right place. Stress response followed by calf strain followed by another calf strain (basically a summary of October until now). It’s a huge bummer. I’m trying to keep my cardio up but my next half is in two months and I’m still not sure how to prepare for my marathon in May. I’m sure that didn’t help you any but you have a great group of people working with you – plus the experience of knowing what your body can handle – so I hope you feel better soon!

    • allisonfiorini January 22, 2015 / 2:59 pm

      UGHHH I had a calf strain this summer – soooo sorry to hear yiu are battling that! I will definitely be keeping you in my thoughts as well. The best way that I found to cross train, keep up your cardio and prepare for upcoming races is through swimming and aqua jogging. The first year that I did the Boston Marathon I had a stress fracture in my tibia and it happened right at the beginning of my training cycle. I essentially trained for the entire race in the pool! Didn’t make the hills easy on race day, but I still got through the race and enjoyed the experience.I hope you get everything sorted out and feel better!

  4. ambertherunner January 22, 2015 / 9:53 pm

    Ah how frustrating! When life hits, it hits hard. I’m glad your hop test isn’t showing the worst. Hopefully whatever it is that’s bothering your foot just fades away so you can rock that 10k & enjoy your first marathon of 2015!

    • allisonfiorini January 23, 2015 / 7:15 am

      Thanks girl! Got in a decent run yesterday with no pain so fingers crossed that I am over whatever the heck that was!

  5. Jess@Flying Feet In Faith January 23, 2015 / 7:09 am

    Oy. Hope the pain disappears soon for good! I usually stop running immediately if I feel any pain. Try again and reasses the situation in a day or two. Knock on wood, I have yet to become injured. I have been cranky and blogging mia this week lol it happens. Heres to a great weekend!!! 🙂

    • allisonfiorini January 23, 2015 / 7:14 am

      I sort of do the same thing that you do, if the pain doesn’t increase I usually finish the run or cut it short. I’ll give it a day to rest and then I try again! Here’s to hoping it’s gone for good! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

