Paleo Pumpkin Pancakes with Maple Pecan Glaze

IMG_7176I’ve been dabbling in the Paleo world quite a bit lately, and I’ve tried more than a few recipes that I’ve really enjoyed.

My sister-in-law also leans towards the paleo side of things, and she recently sent me a recipe for pancakes that caught my attention. The most interesting part is that the pancakes were baked, not cooked on a griddle or in a skillet. I have a tendency to burn pancakes. Always. I made this recipe and liked them a lot – enough to make them again. But when I made them a second time, I realized I was short a few ingredients and found that my creation was even better than the original recipe (in my opinion)! On my third batch, I changed up the maple pecan glaze and I think I’ve got a winner.

Pumpkin Pancakes
Adapted from the Detoxinista (Grain Free Pumpkin Pancakes)
Makes 6 pancakes 

  • 1/3 heaping cup of almond butter
  • 2/3 cup pumpkin
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon grade B maple syrup or raw honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl until well combined. On a parchment lined baking sheet, use a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop the batter onto the sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes and serve, either with pure maple syrup or Maple Pecan Glaze (recipe follows).

For the pancakes, the original recipe called for equal parts almond butter and pumpkin, but I thought it made the end result quite heavy. It didn’t dawn on me to switch up the recipe until I was short almond butter the last time I made it and added extra pumpkin. The final product was delicious. What amazes me about these is that there is no flour at all in them – but they really have the texture of a real pancake! Serve with Maple Pecan Glaze (below) or a high quality maple maple syrup.

Maple Pecan Glaze
Makes about 1 cup of glaze

  • 3/4 cup of pecans
  • 1/4 cup of pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons Kerrygold Pure Irish Grass Fed Butter (or ghee, or coconut oil – whatever you like)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt

Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender. Puree and enjoy! Eat whatever you don’t use with a spoon Refrigerate whatever you have leftover and save it for next time. The original recipe used coconut oil as the fat and water as the liquid, but I switched it up the first time by subbing the almond milk and Kerrygold butter as my fat – but the coconut oil worked really well the first time, too!

Enjoy! It’s the perfect fall breakfast.

Leave a Reply

