Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia!

I love chia seeds. I put them in smoothies, sprinkle them in hot cereal, toss them in coconut water, and put them in my yogurt. Chia seeds are another healthy way to get your omega-3s, and are also packed full of protein, fiber, antioxidants, and minerals like calcium, magnesium and iron. Unlike other seeds (like flax seeds, for example), they can be absorbed by the body for maximum health benefits. The coolest part? Their texture! They can absorb up to 12 times their own weight, so when added to a liquid they have gelling properties. Adding them to foods make meals more filling and satisfying without weighing you down.

I enjoy combining chia seeds with a liquid and letting it “set up” to make a “pudding”. It’s been especially helpful this winter/spring since I’ve had some early morning gym sessions as I prepare for Eagleman 70.3. By the time I get to work, I’m ready for breakfast but don’t have time to make anything – so I bring chia seed pudding. I made it last week and posted a picture and was asked for the recipe, but I didn’t really have one since I just kind of make it up!

20140325-042229.jpgChia Seed Pudding
Makes one large serving, or two small servings.

  • 1 cup of milk (I use So Delicious Vanilla Almond Plus 5x almond milk for extra protein, but any milk/dairy substitute would be fine)
  • 3 tablespoons of chia seeds (adjust for your own preferences)
  • 1 tablespoon of organic maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • Toppings, such as berries, unsweetened coconut, raisins, walnuts…be creative!

Optional:

  • 1/2 cup of plain Greek yogurt for a creamier texture (Reduce the milk to 1/2 cup and add in 1/2 cup of Greek yogurt)

Directions:

For a tapioca-like consistency:

  1. Put all ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Mix well, and chill overnight.
  3. Add in your toppings, mix, and enjoy!

For a smoother consistency:

  1. Place all of the ingredients in a blender or food processor and process until smooth.
  2. Chill overnight.
  3. Add in your toppings, mix, and enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia!

  1. turtlegirlpa March 25, 2014 / 8:37 am

    I’m looking forward to trying this. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

