As Easy as Pie…for Breakfast?

Last week, I shared a recipe using wheat berries as a base for a hot cereal. While I’m still really digging that, I’m still kind of stuck in Thanksgiving mode. I love the flavors, warmth and comfort that Thanksgiving foods represent. I opened a huge can of organic pumpkin to make a Pumpkin Roll for Thanksgiving, and didn’t want the leftovers to go to waste. Thanks to my sister-in-law, I learned that Wegmans was stocking the holiday flavors that the non-dairy milk brand, So Delicious, puts out each year. Coincidentally, one of the flavors is Pumpkin Spiced Milk. Hmmmm. Sounds like I need to come up with a recipe for a pumpkin inspired baked oatmeal while I’m on a breakfast kick.

Oatmeal? Baked? What? A few summers ago, my yoga friends and I discovered the baked oatmeal phenomenon. There’s a great little cafe in Emmaus called “Baked“, and it serves baked oatmeal as one of their specialties breakfast items. Of course, after eating there a few times, I had to recreate my own version of this fun twist on classic oatmeal. It’s super easy: rolled oats combined with a liquid (milk, almond milk, soy milk…pick your poison), a sweetener, and whatever “fixings” you like. Mix it all together, dole out individual servings, and bake it. The result? A cross between oatmeal “cake” and a bowl of hot cereal. It’s filling and versatile, since you can really add whatever ingredients you want. So, Pumpkin Pie Baked Oatmeal. Enjoy. Or, come up with your own variation and share the love!


20131205-133835.jpg
Pumpkin Pie Baked Oatmeal

Serves 4

  • 2 cups of rolled oats (I love the Bob’s Red Mill brand!)
  • 2 cups milk of choice, divided (needless to say, I chose to incorporate the Pumpkin Spice milk)
  • 1 cup of canned pumpkin
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 6 tablespoons of 100% maple syrup, divided (or sweetener of your choice)
  • 3 tablespoons of chopped walnuts, divided (or pecans…or your nut of choice)
  • 2 teaspoons of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon of kosher salt
  • 4 oven safe bowls
  • Butter, oil..something to grease the bowls with!

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

In a large bowl, combine the oats, 1 cup of the milk (I used 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk and 1/2 cup Pumpkin Spice milk), the canned pumpkin, vanilla extract, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, 4 tablespoons of the maple syrup, and 2 tablespoons of the chopped walnuts. Mix well to combine ingredients.

Grease your bowls (I used 8oz glass pyrex dishes greased with a teensy bit of butter) and distribute mixture evenly between bowls. Bake at 375 degrees for about 20 minutes. Using a knife, carefully loosen your oatmeal from the pyrex, and flip into a cereal bowl. Top each serving with 1/4 cup more of milk, 1/2 tablespoon of maple syrup, and a sprinkle of chopped walnuts.

You can add anything you want to the oatmeal mixture or as a topping to jazz it up. Raisins, brown sugar, nut butters, shredded coconut, chia seeds, etc. The possibilities and variations are endless. I was just aiming to use up my leftover pumpkin puree, so I stuck with the traditional pumpkin pie flavors.

Too much work to prepare in one morning? I made all four servings, covered them, and put them in the fridge. In the morning, I used my toaster oven and baked them on 375 for 20 minutes in there. Voila. Easy, healthy, filling breakfast.

Leave a Reply

