The 2014 Boston Marathon

“Without parents to defy, we break the rules we make for ourselves. We throw tantrums when things don’t go our way. We whisper secrets with our best friends in the dark. We look for comfort where we can find it. And we hope. Against all logic. Against all experience. Like children, we never give up hope.”

My last post was well over a month ago, after my victory at the Steelman Triathlon.  Things went a little downhill from there. I started drafting a blog post last week and the title was “Unlucky 2013”. I’m not a negative person by any means, but I was starting to feel that way. I truly believe that a negative attitude and outlook will only continue to yield more negativity and distress. You know, the whole “you reap what you sow” mentality. I deleted my post and started fresh, sans the whining.

I thought I paid my injury dues for the year since I went head to head with a femoral stress fracture in the spring (and won). I had a decent comeback in late spring and early summer, winning a 5K and running a PR at the Vancouver USA Marathon. I had the amazing opportunity to run a marathon Alaska and knock one of the more difficult states to get to off of my list. On top of it all it was summer break, which is better than Christmas for us teachers. Life was great.

Enter September. Holy mother of destruction.

I went back to work, and the school year had quite the rocky start in my classroom. I’m teaching Photoshop, which I am super excited about. Only, the program would crash my entire computer lab whenever I would attempt to teach anything. I went for an 18 mile run on the Bethlehem tow path and twisted my ankle twice and ended up with a nasty sprain. Even my yoga practice, the one activity I happily focus on when I’m injured would completely irritate it and cause it to blow up like a balloon. For the coupe de grace, something was off with my right calf ever since competing at Steelman. Lucky me: an MRI revealed a stress “reaction”. My diagnosis resulted in extensive physical therapy sessions and my doctor sending me for a slew of tests to check my calcium and vitamin d levels, and a bone scan to rule out osteopenia and osteoporosis. To add insult to injury (pun intended), I came down with one of the worst cold/sinus infections I’ve had maybe ever.  I’m 30 years old. I eat healthy. I rest (sometimes). Clearly, I exercise. So all I had left to say was, “WTF?”

To sort the whole mess out, I needed to kick the cold and fix my leg. I started physical therapy, skipped a 10K and a half marathon. Sadly, I’ll be skipping my double marathon weekend as I’m not quite ready to run that distance just yet. Boston registration opened and I began to get nervous. I ran a solid qualifying time back in June, but would it be enough? I qualified by 3 minutes and 8 seconds, putting me on the faster side of the “squeaker” group, but my luck was kind of sucking lately. I sat on pins and needles for a week and a half.  And then yesterday, by some miracle of God, this popped up in my inbox (the inbox that I’ve been staring at intently for the past three days):

Untitled-1

A turning point. I’m running Boston again! After being present for last year’s horrific events, I needed to go back. It’s my favorite race, and I can’t have the tragedy that occurred be my parting memory. After finding out that I was on the entry list, I left work and started to feel better. I got my bone density scan back and found out that I don’t have osteopenia or osteoporosis, which was a relief. My bone is healed, and I am almost ready to run again. Unlike my last injury, I listened to my doctor on this one. I’m seeing the bigger picture. I can still run in Marshall and try for a PR in Alabama. And now I have Boston in the spring, among everything else that I’m already plotting.

I still have have to go for some blood work to figure out if I have some nutrient deficits, but I’m anxiously awaiting next week so I can get back to training again. It’s been a rocky year, particularly when it comes to running but it happens. It shouldn’t surprise me. I ran five marathons in a two month time span in the spring, even with rehabbing my stress fracture. I went on to run 60+ miles per week all summer long. I like to run (obviously), and I do a lot of it (maybe even too much) but I’m still no expert and have a lot to learn. Instead throwing a tantrum, I’m going to look at this as yet another lesson and grow from it. Such is life.  At any rate, I’m all in for Boston 2014!

2 comments

  1. Sounds like you need to do some more cross training and cross racing (triathlon) now tht you crossed that age threshold (30). I can think of a race or three you might want to give a shot.

    1. Yes! I like that idea…and I agree. More cross training 🙂 I just have to figure out how I could still train for marathons and get enough miles in to hit the goals I set while training for the other events…oh yeah, and I would need to seriously consider that new road bike!

Leave a Reply

