Heat Advisory + Triathlon Training = Tropical Fruit Smoothies!

Here in PA, it’s really hot. Temperatures are soaring in the upper 90s these days, and the humidity is off the charts. Accuweather keeps sending me frequent push notifications to warn me that we are in the midst of a heat advisory. I don’t need the little messages on my phone to tell me that. I am well aware that it is really effing hot outside.

All week long, I’ve pretty much done the same thing. Wake up early and head out the door a little before 6:00 am to begin whatever I planned to accomplish each day. When I get back from my run or ride (or both), I set up shop in my “yoga room” (the sunroom off of my living room) and aim to spend some time on my mat. It was an addition the former owners put onto our house, and it eventually will be gutted and renovated along with the rest of the house. In the meantime, it’s a great space to practice yoga if you can get past it’s appearance. Not all of the windows actually open but on super hot days like these, I open the door and the functional windows to let some air in. By the time I’m done with yoga, I pretty much look like I was swimming, rather than practicing.

Yesterday, however, I took the day off from running and headed out on my bike for a nice easy ride, followed by a long yoga practice. When I was finished, I was pretty dehydrated. So I jumped in my pool and headed directly to my kitchen to whip up a smoothie. I’d gone to the farmers market the day before and bought lots of goodies, some of which I cut up and froze for the purpose of smoothie making. I started tossing ingredients in my Vitamix. What I came up with was pretty freaking tasty.

Tropical Fruit Smoothie

  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango
  • 1 cup frozen papaya
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, coconut milk, soy milk, real milk…whatever you want
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (fresh coconut would be glorious, too)
  • 1 medjool date
  • 1/2 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/2 tablespoon hemp seeds
  • 1 teaspoon coconut extract

I had a few slices of watermelon in my hand but I stopped myself for fear of sending my body into hyperglycemic shock or something along those lines. I suspect I should add some greens next time to balance it all out, like a cucumber or something. However, the resulting smoothie was refreshing, hydrating, filling, and super delicious. It makes enough for about two 12 ounce servings, and comes in around 215 calories per serving. I drank both servings. Oops.

Leave a Reply

