Rice Salad with Curried Tofu

This is my most recent favorite food to eat for lunch. I’ve been making this often because it’s super easy, delicious, and filling! I wish I could say I was the mastermind behind this concoction, but the original recipe actually came from an issue of Runner’s World. I don’t eat the same way most runners do, so I don’t always find recipes that I can use straight from their magazine but this one is a keeper. I only changed the type of oil the recipe called for- which was olive oil, but I used toasted sesame oil. You can use whatever you prefer.

The recipe also doesn’t tell you to press the tofu, which I often do before cooking with it. To press tofu, open the package, drain the contents and wrap it in paper towels. I wrap the block of tofu and the paper towels in a clean, dry kitchen towel and then apply weight to get rid of excess moisture. I usually press it anywhere from 15-45 minutes – basically until I’m ready to use it.

Rice Salad with Curried Tofu

  • 14-ounce block of extra firm tofu, pressed and cut into 1/2-inch cubes.
  • 1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon curry
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 cup cooked edamame, shelled
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup halved cherry tomatoes
  • Black pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350°F and line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper. Cut a 14-ounce block of extra firm tofu into 1/2-inch cubes. Toss with 1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil, 1/2 teaspoon each curry and salt, and 1/3 cup shredded coconut. Bake at  for 15 minutes. Whisk 1/2 teaspoon each salt and curry into 1 tablespoon olive oil in a bowl. Add 2 cups cooked brown rice, 1 cup edamame, 1/4 cup each sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds, 1/2 cup halved cherry tomatoes, and a bit of black pepper. Stir in the cooked tofu, and enjoy! Unless I’m eating it right away, I store the tofu and the rice mixture separately in the fridge. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

